? Tonight's dose - falling numbers after stalling. Advice please!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes, sorry, lots of numbers tonight that are hard to record in the spreadsheet. Tonight we've had:

AMPS. - 18.1
AMPS + 20min stall. - 17.3
AMPS + 2nd 20 min stall. - 16.9

1.5U shot

+ 3.5 - 3.5 and 3.7 (Immediately fed both HC & normal LC food)
+ 4 - 5.8
+ 4.5 - 7.6

I did think it was odd his pre shots were falling. Maybe it is an odd reaction to the flea treatment.
The PSs can also fall is a bounce is clearing.
 
He is faaaast asleep (why he's sleeping in the corner of our guest room, who knows!). At least he's not in the kitchen begging for food for once!

I'll retest in 15 mins which will be +5.5. If he's up again do you think I'm safe to go to bed or should stay up anothe hour to be sure?

And any advice in advance for tomorrow morning? I can't be around to monitor so would rather play it safe. But he's generally been higher in the mornings so I'm usually less worried, but after this evening, who knows!

I guess it depends on his AMPS, if he's in the 30's then 3.25U will probably be fine.
 
After this lime green tonight, I might suggest lowering to 2.75U in the morning (numbers permitting) since he may be a little insulin sensitive and you won't be around. Let's see what the others think :)
 
Just so you can all see who you've been helping! :cat:

This is him tonight, it used to be a pretty standard position for him until he was diagnosed and just wanted food all the time!
 

Attachments

  • FullSizeRender (3).jpg
    FullSizeRender (3).jpg
    80.9 KB · Views: 137
Re tomorrow AM: it's hard to know because he went to lime green with only 1.5 u. Yong has suggested 2.75 u. His lows are at night so this could work as a daytime dose.
 
Ok, so just retested at +5.5, he's at 14.9, so I think I'm fairly safe to go to bed!

Things I've learnt tonight:

- High carb food straight away at the first sight of lime green numbers might be a slight over reaction o_O

- The food in gravy we've got in the house really works to get his numbers up!

- Flea treatment might have some weird magical blood sugar lowering properties (but probably not)

- I can't assume what any cycle will do at the minute and just have to play it by ear! :bookworm:

- We can get through an almost hypo event with the help of all you lovely people! :bighug:

Thank you all so much for all your help. I'm off to bed and hope I sleep as soundly as Alfie bear is doing right now! I will update you all tomorrow. Night night :)
 
That looks like one sleepy kitty!

There are a couple of theories on the cycle after a hypo.
1. reduce the dose right away to the last safe dose. (3u)
2. reduce the dose more than the last safe dose because he may be insulin sensitive (as Yong said) (2.75u)
3. hold the higher dose for one more cycle since it will most likely be a high flat cycle, and then reduce for the cycle after that (3.25u for the next cycle, 3.0u for the cycle after that)

Now here's the really lousy part. We don't know which option is best. It's one of those things where you kind of have to try one and see how your kitty responds and then know for next time. Although of course since they are cats, next time might be different. But it at least gives you an idea.

If you can't monitor tomorrow, then I'd lean toward option 2 and reduce the dose for the next cycle. It may leave him a bit high tomorrow, but it's the safest option.

Of course all of that is dependent on him giving you a normal or higher pre-shot in the morning. If it's lower, you're going to have to really use your best judgement and definitely give a much reduced dose, like one unit.

Sleep well!
 
I agree with the idea of reducing the dose since you can't monitor. Until you know what your kitty is likely to do, it's probably the safest option.
 
I agree with the idea of reducing the dose since you can't monitor. Until you know what your kitty is likely to do, it's probably the safest option.
Yes, I agree. Assuming I get a normal (20's or 30's) preshot I'll give him 2.75u just in case he's more sensitive after tonight. If it's lower than usual I'll go with 1u. I can monitor more closely tomorrow night so we'll just have to see what he decides to do tomorrow! Thanks again all! :bighug:
 
AMPS 40.2 :eek: Neg ketones

Gave 2.75u. I figure if he's in for a black cycle then no amount of insulin will help, and if he does respond then that will get him out of the very high numbers without us worrying too much while at work today! Will test at +2 to see how he's doing.

Might go back to 3u tonight if he has a normal PMPS.
 
Last edited:
AMPS 40.2 :eek: Neg ketones

Gave 2.75u. I figure if he's in for a black cycle then no amount of insulin will help, and if he does respond then that will get him out of the very high numbers without us worrying too much while at work today! Will test at +2 to see how he's doing.

Might go back to 3u tonight if he has a normal PMPS.
Not unexpected after his low lime green He's very bouncy so the drama is Alfie being Alfie. It's important with very bouncy kitties to pay more attention to how low they go and give only a nod to the high bounce numbers. Your dose shouldn't change immediately in reaction to a high bounce BG. Let it run at the "normal" dose for a few cycles to see where you land when the bounce clears (usually - but not always - in up to 6 cycles).
 
Yes, I knew he'd be bouncing quite high after yesterday's adventure. He'd come down at +2 though and I've managed to come home this afternoon and have tested again at +8 and he's a little bit lower still.

Understood, I won't do any dramatic dose changes in response to bounces. But have we decided that 3.25 is possibly a bit too much? Should I go back to 2.75 or 3u as the 'normal' dose for a few cycles and see what happens? Assuming I get a normal preshot number of course.

Can they just become more responsive to insulin once they've seen better numbers for a while?
 
Last edited:
I think Alfie's just going to be tricky for a bit here. If you look around at lots of different spreadsheets, you'll see that kitties go up the dosing scale for awhile, and then they slide down, and then sometimes they go back up, and then slide down again...rinse and repeat. Or sometimes they just slide down and go into remission. That's what we all hope for, but sometimes just getting regulated is hard enough!

So this is the trial-and-error phase when you're going to have to just try some things, and monitor, and some will work and some won't. I think I'd go with either 2.75 or 3 for tonight - leaning toward 2.75 since he nearly reached 50% today. Then maybe consider doing a slightly different AM and PM dose. So maybe 3u AM and 2.75uPM Or 3.25 for the AM cycle and 3u for the evening cycle and see what that does. He's still way way too high during the day, but those evening cycles are a little stress-inducing.

Curious what everyone else will say, since again, this is kind of a guessing game.
 
I think Alfie's just going to be tricky for a bit here. If you look around at lots of different spreadsheets, you'll see that kitties go up the dosing scale for awhile, and then they slide down, and then sometimes they go back up, and then slide down again...rinse and repeat.

Oh...yay! I was afraid you were going to say that! :rolleyes:

I'm thinking I should back off to 2.75 for tonight too (providing he gives me a pre shot in the mid 20's or above) and just see what happens. I've not idea why his day and night cycles are so different, I know some kitties run lower at night but he's quite extreme! Though when he started on Prozinc he was the other way around for a little bit. Go figure!
 
Lol...they have to keep it interesting for us, right? Kitties loooove attention!:woot:

Sam spent a lot of time with different AM/PM doses. He mostly runs lower at night, but there was a phase in the middle where he was lower during the day. Alfie's might be caused also by the lows at night, and just having a high-flat cycle as a response to the big drops. It's sort of a safety mechanism for them since the low makes them release stored glucose (or so I've read) which causes the next cycle to run higher. I keep thinking he's going to get a low AM cycle one of these days, but then the dose keeps needing to be adjusted. Sigh...all in good time, right?
 
Oh yeah, wouldn't be any fun if they made it too easy for us! :smuggrin:

Sam's numbers look great, I'd be super happy with all blues and greens right now! Wanna swap? ;)
 
Lol...I'll keep his numbers, but he's having terrible diarrhea today, so that I will gladly trade! :blackeye:
 
Oh poor Sam, luckily that's one thing Alfie doesn't suffer from. I used to have a cat with terrible digestive problems, it's hard work!
 
PMPS 30.2

He was super playful and energetic just before his test, I was convinced it would be unusually low.

Sticking with 2.75u so he can try and settle down again for a few cycles without a repeat of last night so we can get some sleep!

Increasing his morning dose slightly to 3u, as @Djamila suggested, does seem like a good move, since his morning numbers are still so high. What do you all think?

Or, as suggested, maybe his high mornings are just caused by his low nights at the minute, and we'll just end up flipping him round to low mornings and high nights! :rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top