Tommy_15
Member Since 2022
Hello All. Our 15 years old male neutered cat was diagnosed with diabetes early this week on 7/18/22. The reason for the vet’s visit were a few symptoms: cat started to hide more then usual, lost some weight (from 20.25 lbs to 16.8lbs), started to drink more water and urinate accordingly. Blood analysis at the vet’s office showed a few parameter out of chart: Glu (High) @ 408 mg/dL, AMYL (low) at 371 U/L, LIPA 1966 U/L (high). Tommy has not had any prior complications as far as we know, except a few visits for hairball issues to vet. This time Vet recommended insulin treatment and did 1st shot of Lantus @ 2u. The next day BG was measured at 381mg/dL(+24hrs). We’ve asked our doctor to prescribe Levemir as it seems to be more universal option for cats reading through the forums. We’d like to do hometesting to have a good control on what dose of insulin needs to be injected (12 hrs intervals). Please advise on the following:
- Can human glucose meter be used for testing? We bought ReliOn Premier meter. We noticed that tracking samples on forum appear to be on whole blood basis while human meters appear reporting plasma referenced values. Is 80 to 120 mg/dL a target range for cats is based on whole blood measurement or plasma referenced?
- In reference to taking a blood sample – we tried to do it from the cat’s ear. Some recommendations are to aim for the area near the edge between the vein and edge of the ear but some calling to aim for the vein. We had no lack of drawing any blood unless we hit the vein. Is vein the target?
- Would the TR or SLGS protocol be a better option for our cat considering he has been on the wet mostly low carb food with only some dry treats once a day?
- Does it matter when Tommy gets his food in reference to testing / insulin injection?
Will likely have more questions as we starting this journey, stressful mostly so far
Thanks ahead
Tasha
- Can human glucose meter be used for testing? We bought ReliOn Premier meter. We noticed that tracking samples on forum appear to be on whole blood basis while human meters appear reporting plasma referenced values. Is 80 to 120 mg/dL a target range for cats is based on whole blood measurement or plasma referenced?
- In reference to taking a blood sample – we tried to do it from the cat’s ear. Some recommendations are to aim for the area near the edge between the vein and edge of the ear but some calling to aim for the vein. We had no lack of drawing any blood unless we hit the vein. Is vein the target?
- Would the TR or SLGS protocol be a better option for our cat considering he has been on the wet mostly low carb food with only some dry treats once a day?
- Does it matter when Tommy gets his food in reference to testing / insulin injection?
Will likely have more questions as we starting this journey, stressful mostly so far
Thanks ahead
Tasha
Last edited:

