Tommy15_Testing and Dosing advise please

Tommy_15

Member Since 2022
Hello All. Our 15 years old male neutered cat was diagnosed with diabetes early this week on 7/18/22. The reason for the vet’s visit were a few symptoms: cat started to hide more then usual, lost some weight (from 20.25 lbs to 16.8lbs), started to drink more water and urinate accordingly. Blood analysis at the vet’s office showed a few parameter out of chart: Glu (High) @ 408 mg/dL, AMYL (low) at 371 U/L, LIPA 1966 U/L (high). Tommy has not had any prior complications as far as we know, except a few visits for hairball issues to vet. This time Vet recommended insulin treatment and did 1st shot of Lantus @ 2u. The next day BG was measured at 381mg/dL(+24hrs). We’ve asked our doctor to prescribe Levemir as it seems to be more universal option for cats reading through the forums. We’d like to do hometesting to have a good control on what dose of insulin needs to be injected (12 hrs intervals). Please advise on the following:

- Can human glucose meter be used for testing? We bought ReliOn Premier meter. We noticed that tracking samples on forum appear to be on whole blood basis while human meters appear reporting plasma referenced values. Is 80 to 120 mg/dL a target range for cats is based on whole blood measurement or plasma referenced?

- In reference to taking a blood sample – we tried to do it from the cat’s ear. Some recommendations are to aim for the area near the edge between the vein and edge of the ear but some calling to aim for the vein. We had no lack of drawing any blood unless we hit the vein. Is vein the target?

- Would the TR or SLGS protocol be a better option for our cat considering he has been on the wet mostly low carb food with only some dry treats once a day?

- Does it matter when Tommy gets his food in reference to testing / insulin injection?


Will likely have more questions as we starting this journey, stressful mostly so far

Thanks ahead

Tasha
 
Last edited:
Welcome to the forum, Vitali! Getting your cat diagnosed with diabetes and learning about all that is involved with treating it is stressful. But you're in the right place. The experts will ring in soon, and they will give you more wisdom than I ever could.

It does get a lot better and less stressful over time!
 
Welcome Vitality and Tommy
If you can set up what we call our signature that would be helpful
To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information. Link your spreadsheet to the signature

Take a look at mine
 
The Relion Premier is absolutely fine, most of us use human meters that's what our numbers are based on. Did you get 26 or 28 gauge lancets ?
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
You can also put a thin layer of vaseline on the ear ,to help the blood bead up

Here is a video one of our members did
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar

Normal bg on a human meter is 50-100
 
Last edited:
Would the TR or SLGS protocol be a better option for our cat considering he has been on the wet mostly low carb food with only some dry treats once a day?
That would be up to you and how often you can test, are those treats kibble?
If so you would gave to follow SLGS

You can also give any freeze dried treats for a snack then you can follow TR
Just Google freeze dried treats ,you can probably pick then up at a pet store also

SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.

Tap on this link I listed some freeze dried treats look at post #17 the numbers are to the right of every post
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/do-i-lower-her-dose-for-pm.265910/#post-2977025
 
Last edited:
Does it matter when Tommy gets his food in reference to testing / insulin injection?
You have to withhold food 2 hours prior to testing so the BG is not food influenced
We feed the bigger meal at AMPS and maybe a tablespoon of low carb wet food @+2 and say @+4 or @+5
Same goes for the night cycle
What low carb wet food are you feeding
Can I ask why did you switch to levemir after only giving 2 shots of lantus?
The dose is based on how low your kitty drops not by the BG


You need to be testing more than just the pre shots for both cycles to see how the insulin is working and how low your kitty is dropping, you don't have any tests after that

I'm going to tag a few members for you that are more experienced than me when it comes to dosing

Part of that process is getting a feel for basic concepts:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
You can ready about Levemir ,read all the yellow stickys
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
 
Last edited:
Hello All. Our 15 years old male neutered cat was diagnosed with diabetes early this week on 7/18/22. The reason for the vet’s visit were a few symptoms: cat started to hide more then usual, lost some weight (from 20.25 lbs to 16.8lbs), started to drink more water and urinate accordingly. Blood analysis at the vet’s office showed a few parameter out of chart: Glu (High) @ 408 mg/dL, AMYL (low) at 371 U/L, LIPA 1966 U/L (high). Tommy has not had any prior complications as far as we know, except a few visits for hairball issues to vet. This time Vet recommended insulin treatment and did 1st shot of Lantus @ 2u. The next day BG was measured at 381mg/dL(+24hrs). We’ve asked our doctor to prescribe Levemir as it seems to be more universal option for cats reading through the forums. We’d like to do hometesting to have a good control on what dose of insulin needs to be injected (12 hrs intervals). Please advise on the following:

- Can human glucose meter be used for testing? We bought ReliOn Premier meter. We noticed that tracking samples on forum appear to be on whole blood basis while human meters appear reporting plasma referenced values. Is 80 to 120 mg/dL a target range for cats is based on whole blood measurement or plasma referenced?

- In reference to taking a blood sample – we tried to do it from the cat’s ear. Some recommendations are to aim for the area near the edge between the vein and edge of the ear but some calling to aim for the vein. We had no lack of drawing any blood unless we hit the vein. Is vein the target?

- Would the TR or SLGS protocol be a better option for our cat considering he has been on the wet mostly low carb food with only some dry treats once a day?

- Does it matter when Tommy gets his food in reference to testing / insulin injection?


Will likely have more questions as we starting this journey, stressful mostly so far

Thanks ahead

Vitali

@tiffmaxee

@Wendy&Neko

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Bandit's Mom

@Suzanne & Darcy

Suzanne maybe you can look at some of the labs that Vitali listed

Thanks ladies gave Vitali some info , please make sure it's correct
I have Covid and feel like crap, both me and my daughter but just wanted to give some information since no one responded
I was wondering why
Vitali switched to levemir after only giving 2 shots of lantus?
 
Last edited:
Hi Vitali and Tommy and welcome.
Diane has given you some good advice. I’m sorry you have Covid @Diane Tyler's Mom. I hope you and ur daughter don’t get it badly and are better soon.:bighug:

Normal bg on a human meter is 50-100
Normal BG is 50-120 when using a human glucose meter.


We feed the bigger meal at AMPS and maybe a tablespoon of low carb wet food @+2 and say @+4 or @+5
Do the same feeding regime for the PM cycles as well.
If you are feeding any dry food, you will need to do SLGS method.

We are happy to answer any question you may have.:)
 
I don’t see anything that stands out on the labs you posted but surprised there isn’t a urine USG r creatinine. It’s not true that Levemir is used more fur cats but either lantus or Levemir are equally good. Both take 5-7/days to show what the initial dose will do for the bg. You should not be changing the dose like you are. Levemir likes consistency. It’s also not dosed based upon the preshots but rather by nadir, how low it takes a cat. That will often be between +6-9 with Levemir but can be earlier or as late as the next preshot. Levemir onsets (starts working) around +3-4 . If that test is lower than the preshot get a test later. If not sure when to test, ask us. Right now you need to stick with a dose for 7 days. If you give freeze dried 100% protein treats and stop kibble I would try TR BUT you need a minimum of two tests every cycle. It’s more aggressive but has a higher rate if remission.

You are already ahead of many by testing. Go to the lantus/lev forum and read the stickies, especially the basics and of course the dosing methods. Keep asking questions. There’s a huge learning curve.

I suggest your shoot 1.0 and don’t change the dose for 7 days unless the bg drops under 90. Then decide which method you will try going forward. If at shot time the bg is under 200, stall, DON’T feed and ask for dosing advice. Retest in 20-30 minutes to see if on the way up and 200+. You could then shoot. If not ask for help deciding what to shoot or whether to skip.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) -- Is AMPS feeding before the test or after?

@tiffmaxee - I've added complete images from the urine and blood work to the spreadsheet. I was not sure if I read abbreviations correctly while transferring results to the spreadsheet. Thank you for looking over the numbers! Tommy's PMPS this eve dropped down to 175 (double checked with another ReliOn meter which showed 171). Just saw your recommendation on sticking with the initial dose after the shot already went in. Dosed a hair over 0.5u this time. Is the 90 bg for changing the dose needs to be seen at nadir or end of the cycle? Still a bit confused on the timing of feeding versus testing - should we feed Tommy prior to the test or -2 hrs before test and right after it? Currently we keep his wet food out for him and he nibbles it periodically. As far as treats, Tommy is getting only either freeze dried chicken or liver or purebites salmon. No kibble. Wet food only.

@Diane Tyler's Mom - seen some publications that Levemir works well for stubborn cases so decided to start with it right away. 90% of wet food is FancyFeast Classic (Chicken, Beef, Turkey&Giblets), at times Applaws Chicken in broth (but now we might shelve it as it has rice in it). Wishing you the fastest recovery!
 
Last edited:
@Diane Tyler's Mom so sorry you and your daughter have Covid. Get more sleep and I hope you both have mild cases.
Thank you Elise , I wish they were mild cases, my daughter has it worse than I do, having Complex Regional Pain Syndrome and now Covid has intensified the CRPS pain like crazy, she just wants to die that's how much pain she's in.
I had a fever of 102 for the first 2 days , my eyes and throat are still hurting and my nose won't stop running . I keep coughing which isn't helping my head .
I just want Ashley to feel better soon ,she has enough to deal with. Thank you Elise
@tiffmaxee :bighug:
:bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
The timing of the process is : don’t feed for two hours preshot so the BG is not food influenced/test/feed/shoot.
If the BG is too low and you need to stall, then you don’t feed but wait until the next test to see if the Bg is rising….always post and ask for help.
The nadir can happen at any time, it is just the lowest point in the cycle. It mostly happens around the middle of the cycle but it can happen anywhere, including the end of the cycle at AMPS before you have given the next dose.
If you are not giving any kibble but only dried treats, then you can do TR where the reduction BG is 50.
 
Is the 90 bg for changing the dose needs to be seen at nadir or end of the cycle?
If you want to follow SLGS and Tommy's BG falls under 90 no matter where in the cycle that happens you reduce by 0.25 units
Do you have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings, with these it's much easier when you need to adjust the dose by 0.25 units
  • Full and half-unit syringe scales:
49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg



Such as
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/16367/carepoint-vet-u-100-pet-syringe-31g-half-unit

or
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/6941/bd-ultra-fine-8mm-half-unit-syringes


adw-coupon-dia10.jpg

10% off your next order!
 
Last edited:
I hope you and ur daughter don’t get it badly and are better soon.:bighug:
Thank you Bron
I wish they were mild cases, my daughter has it worse than I do, having Complex Regional Pain Syndrome and now Covid has intensified the CRPS pain like crazy, she just wants to die that's how much pain she's in.
I had a fever of 102 for the first 2 days , my eyes and throat are still hurting and my nose won't stop running . I keep coughing which isn't helping my head .
I just want Ashley to feel better soon ,she has enough to deal with
@Bron and Sheba (GA) :bighug:
:bighug:
 
scary morning here. BG measured was at 481. Likely caused by low dose last night. Dosed at 1u after AM measurement. Tommy is sleepy now but we're in a bit of panic state. Hopefully 1u will get him to a better BG soon. Applaws is ditched. will have to cancel our short trip this mrng and watch how's Tommy doing
 
Out vet was suggesting to place FreeStyle Libre BG monitoring sensor to build the curve for a week. Please share if this is a viable option. thank you
 
Out vet was suggesting to place FreeStyle Libre BG monitoring sensor to build the curve for a week. Please share if this is a viable option. thank you

Many of us use them, including me. They are not always entirely accurate, especially at the extreme numbers, so it is recommended that you spot-check them against the manual meter. So if the Libre tells you the bg is 50, check it against the meter. If it tells you the bg is 500, check it. But for me, they are good in the middle. And they are great for gathering a lot of data without having to poke your baby again and again throughout the day. That can be a big help, especially if you are new at this.

Right now I think you can get the Libre or Libre 2. I use the Libre 2, because it includes alarms if Benny's bg goes too low, or too high. It's very helpful for me at night, especially, just for the peace of mind. The original Libre will get you the same continuous data, though.
 
scary morning here. BG measured was at 481. Likely caused by low dose last night. Dosed at 1u after AM measurement. Tommy is sleepy now but we're in a bit of panic state. Hopefully 1u will get him to a better BG soon. Applaws is ditched. will have to cancel our short trip this mrng and watch how's Tommy doing
Have you read what @tiffmaxee (Elise) said here in her post #10 above
I copied it for you


I suggest your shoot 1.0 and don’t change the dose for 7 days unless the bg drops under 90. Then decide which method you will try going forward. If at shot time the bg is under 200, stall, DON’T feed and ask for dosing advice. Retest in 20-30 minutes to see if on the way up and 200+. You could then shoot. If not ask for help deciding what to shoot or whether to skip.


I mentioned to you in my post above


You need to be testing more than just the pre shots for both cycles to see how the insulin is working and how low your kitty is dropping, you don't have any tests after that
If you don't get any tests in other than the pre shots you will never know when a decrease or increase is needed.

Can you also tap on the work like that's to the right when members reply back to you so we know that you have read it :cat:


Part of that process is getting a feel for basic concepts:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
You can ready about Levemir ,read all the yellow stickys
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

Last edited: Yesterday at
 
Last edited:
@Tommy_15
Hi can you go to your spreadsheet and add where it says Diagnosed, Insulin, if you are flowing SLGS add that and the meter you are using just so members won't have to go back to your signature to find it

Thanks :cat:
Levemir takes 5-7/days to show what the initial dose will do for the bg.
You also need to be getting more tests in other than just the pre shots to see how the insulin is working and how low the BG is dropping or you will never know when an increase or decrease is needed . You need to do this for both cycles
 
Last edited:
@Tommy_15
Hi can you go to your spreadsheet and add where it says Diagnosed, Insulin, if you are flowing SLGS add that and the meter you are using just so members won't have to go back to your signature to find it

Thanks :cat:
Levemir takes 5-7/days to show what the initial dose will do for the bg.
You also need to be getting more tests in other than just the pre shots to see how the insulin is working and how low the BG is dropping or you will never know when an increase or decrease is needed . You need to do this for both cycles

Thank you so much for your guidance! All data should be in the spreadsheet now. As we are on the 1st week of the treatment with closely steady dose of 1u, likely will follow SLGS for now unless experience within this forum shows we need to switch to TR. With us being at work during the day, testing in between the shots would be a challenge. Will be adjourning for 20 min to do the PM test. Hopefully BG is in the lower range than this morning.
 
Thank you so much for your guidance! All data should be in the spreadsheet now. As we are on the 1st week of the treatment with closely steady dose of 1u, likely will follow SLGS for now unless experience within this forum shows we need to switch to TR. With us being at work during the day, testing in between the shots would be a challenge. Will be adjourning for 20 min to do the PM test. Hopefully BG is in the lower range than this morning.
If you can even get one more test in after you get home from work that would be good . After his PMPS shot try to get another test in before you go to bed to see where he's at, if it's much lower than the Pre Shot number you might have to set an alarm and test again
Try and get those day time tests in on the weekends if you don't work
What time are your shot times and when do you get home from work
 
If you can even get one more test in after you get home from work that would be good . After his PMPS shot try to get another test in before you go to bed to see where he's at, if it's much lower than the Pre Shot number you might have to set an alarm and test again
Try and get those day time tests in on the weekends if you don't work
What time are your shot times and when do you get home from work
PM test was at 270. How much time need to pass after the shot to test again? Currently, we are testing/dosing 12am/12pm but need to shift it, likely to 8am/8pm to fit work schedule versus running back home for lunch. Will try do the aftershot test tomorrow as Tommy had enough "torcher" from us while trying to draw the blood sample. just so sorry for his ears... with black ears blood is hard to spot and as soon as we are relaxing the grip, he's bending his ears. thank you for your prompt feedback
 
@Tommy_15
Some people put a very fine film of vaseline on the poke site, so the blood would pool there, and not hide in the dark fur.
If you can get another test in @+2 or +3 that would be great
When you switch testing times to 8 AM and 8 PM that would be much better for you .
Just ask how to work your way back to 8 AM and 8 PM . When do you plan on doing that so I can tag someone and they can tell you how.


I did a search on here up top where it says search and typed in black ears and found this posted by a member
someone suggested using a small headlamp spotlight. I can now see even the smallest drop of blood clearly. The elastic strap fits across your forehead and leaves both your hands free. They are great in a dark room.
They are very inexpensive and range from $10 - $15 here in the states.

If his ears look a little beat up
I have read that many members use pure coconut oil, I have copied this from one of the members posts
just make sure the only ingredient is coconut oil (mine is solid at room temp and I would take an itty bitty dab and rub on his ears)

Have to say Tommy sure is a cutie!


Take a look at this posted by one of our members
 
Last edited:
@Tommy_15
Some people put a very fine film of vaseline on the poke site, so the blood would pool there, and not hide in the dark fur.
If you can get another test in @+2 or +3 that would be great
When you switch testing times to 8 AM and 8 PM that would be much better for you .
Just ask how to work your way back to 8 AM and 8 PM . When do you plan on doing that so I can tag someone and they can tell you how.


I did a search on here up top where it says search and typed in black ears and found this posted by a member
someone suggested using a small headlamp spotlight. I can now see even the smallest drop of blood clearly. The elastic strap fits across your forehead and leaves both your hands free. They are great in a dark room.
They are very inexpensive and range from $10 - $15 here in the states.

If his ears look a little beat up
I have read that many members use pure coconut oil, I have copied this from one of the members posts
just make sure the only ingredient is coconut oil (mine is solid at room temp and I would take an itty bitty dab and rub on his ears)

Have to say Tommy sure is a cutie!


Take a look at this posted by one of our members
Appreciate your responses in such a late time. Will try to test tomorrow at +2 or 3. What is the best way of shifting the time? We can do it in 1 hr or less, if needed intervals.
We bought the head lamp two days ago :-). Still a bit tough to see the blood but for sure, much better versus no lamp.
Thank you for the complement. We found Tommy in the corn field when he was about 4 days old. Bottle fed him and he's really a sweetheart, especially to my wife :-)
 
Appreciate your responses in such a late time. Will try to test tomorrow at +2 or 3. What is the best way of shifting the time? We can do it in 1 hr or less, if needed intervals.
We bought the head lamp two days ago :). Still a bit tough to see the blood but for sure, much better versus no lamp.
Thank you for the complement. We found Tommy in the corn field when he was about 4 days old. Bottle fed him and he's really a sweetheart, especially to my wife :)
I'll tag a few members about the time, Aww just 4 days old ,thank God you found him.
Someone will probably get back to you tomorrow about switching the time
 
Currently, we are testing/dosing 12am/12pm but need to shift it, likely to 8am/8pm to fit work schedule versus running back home for lunch.
You can move shot time by 30 mins a day. So if you're shooting at 12am/pm today, you can do 11:30am/pm tomorrow, 11:00am/pm the day after, 10:30am/pm the next day and so on till you get to 8am/pm.

Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule
 
Last edited:
I would also recommend getting some tests in during the PM cycle as cats often drop lower at night.
At the moment you have only one test in during any of the cycles so we have no idea how low the dose is taking Tommy, and Levemir dosing is based on the nadir or lowest point in the cycle.
I would also stick to one dose and not chop and change.
I think a freestyle libre for 2 weeks would be a very good idea until you get up to speed with testing:)
 
I don’t see a lot in those labs - and some are missing - but I would recommend asking your vet if he/she thinks that doing a Pancreas-specific lipase test would be a good idea. This test is measured with a test called FelinePancreatic Lipase Immunoreactivity, known simply as fPLI. The test requires only a simple blood test. I would recommend this if Tommy is not wanting to eat or appears nauseated or in pain. How is he doing overall?
 
Thank you Elise , I wish they were mild cases, my daughter has it worse than I do, having Complex Regional Pain Syndrome and now Covid has intensified the CRPS pain like crazy, she just wants to die that's how much pain she's in.
I had a fever of 102 for the first 2 days , my eyes and throat are still hurting and my nose won't stop running . I keep coughing which isn't helping my head .
I just want Ashley to feel better soon ,she has enough to deal with. Thank you Elise
@tiffmaxee :bighug:
:bighug::bighug:

Prayers for both of you, Diane
 
I don’t see a lot in those labs - and some are missing - but I would recommend asking your vet if he/she thinks that doing a Pancreas-specific lipase test would be a good idea. This test is measured with a test called FelinePancreatic Lipase Immunoreactivity, known simply as fPLI. The test requires only a simple blood test. I would recommend this if Tommy is not wanting to eat or appears nauseated or in pain. How is he doing overall?
There's so many measurements in the blood work that was done on the first visit. not sure if fLPI is there though. Will ask during the next visit. Thank you for the advice. Tommy is eating well and with food now being hidden (2 hrs) prior to test, he at time, is begging for it as he used to see it always there as he needs it. Can not say that he's in pain or nauseated, mostly sleeping at usual spot with his tail calm. We know that if something is bothering him, his tail will be moving.
 
Last edited:
There's so many measurements in the blood work that was done on the first visit. not sure if fLPI is there though. Will ask during the next visit. Thank you for the advice. Tommy is eating well and with food now being hidden (2 hrs) prior to test, he at time, is begging for it as he used to see it always there as he needs it. Can not say that he's in pain or nauseated, mostly sleeping at usual spot with his tail calm. We know that if something is bothering him, his tail will be moving.
I am glad to hear it. He sounds normal and so I would not worry about anything except getting the diabetes under control. You can do it!
 
I would also recommend getting some tests in during the PM cycle as cats often drop lower at night.
At the moment you have only one test in during any of the cycles so we have no idea how low the dose is taking Tommy, and Levemir dosing is based on the nadir or lowest point in the cycle.
I would also stick to one dose and not chop and change.
I think a freestyle libre for 2 weeks would be a very good idea until you get up to speed with testing:)
Just head a chance to do +6 BG measurement. It is at 268 (comparing to AM measurement of 279). One note though Tommy ate 2 teaspoon of FF 15 to 20 min prior to test. Not sure how to react at this moment. Still wait with any action (shot) till +12? Thank you
 
Just head a chance to do +6 BG measurement. It is at 268 (comparing to AM measurement of 279). One note though Tommy ate 2 teaspoon of FF 15 to 20 min prior to test. Not sure how to react at this moment. Still wait with any action (shot) till +12? Thank you
Why is he eating such high carb food? That food would definitely inflate that BG reading of 268 that you just got.
 
Just head a chance to do +6 BG measurement. It is at 268 (comparing to AM measurement of 279). One note though Tommy ate 2 teaspoon of FF 15 to 20 min prior to test. Not sure how to react at this moment. Still wait with any action (shot) till +12? Thank you
If you fed normal LC FF it would not make a huge difference. Maybe Tommy nadired earlier. Maybe he is having a flat cycle. Until we see more tests during the cycles we can’t really tell. I would continue as normal. Get the next Preshot when it is due 12 hours after the last shot and try and get at least one test in each cycle.
Not every cycle is going to be an active cycle and lower the BG.
 
If you fed normal LC FF it would not make a huge difference. Maybe Tommy nadired earlier. Maybe he is having a flat cycle. Until we see more tests during the cycles we can’t really tell. I would continue as normal. Get the next Preshot when it is due 12 hours after the last shot and try and get at least one test in each cycle.
Not every cycle is going to be an active cycle and lower the BG.
thank you for all the latest comments. Tommy had Chicken Pate from Fancy Feast. It seems to be on the LC list. Will hope for a better number in an hour
 
Back
Top