C
Carl & Polly & Bob (GA)
AMPS (1.5u) 103
PMPS (might have been 2.5u but not sure) 114
+.5 145
+2 74
+2.75 45
+3.3 54
PMPS (might have been 2.5u but not sure) 114
+.5 145
+2 74
+2.75 45
+3.3 54
Carl & Bob said:AMPS (1.5u) 103
PMPS (might have been 2.5u but not sure) 114
+.5 145
+2 74
+2.75 45
+3.3 54
ice...I'm glad she's coming up.
Crystal...it's still early in the cycle and onset could be when she dropped or she could be one that onsets at +3. Also, the honey will wear off so I would like you to go ahead and give her more LC food...about one tbsp with another drop of honey. Again, I want to abort the cycle because she has earned a reduction and I would like her a little higher.
After she eats,p,ease retest in 30 minutes and post. We will be waiting. You are doing really great.
Luscious doing ok?
Marje and Gracie said:Crystal
While we are waiting, can you please give us an idea of your dosing? Have you consistently been giving 1.5u and for how long (how many cycles if there are two 12-hour cycles in a day)?
Any information you can give us as to your dosing strategy and the kinds of numbers you've been getting will help us. Thank you.
Marje and Gracie said:Oh gosh...no disrespect to your vet but that is not the way to dose this insulin. We don't use sliding scales, we don't dose on the preshot....is that the number he's asking you to dose on in that scale?
After this next test, I have some other questions for you if that's ok. See you in a few.
Carl & Bob said:88 is great!
Rather than ask some of the same questions Marje is likely to ask, I'll hold off on that for now. ;-)
Carl
Marje and Gracie said:Great! How is she doing.....is she still hungry?
You are at +4 and that is still early in the cycle. The 88 is from the honey/syrup. My guess is she will come back down as she gets to her nadir but without data, we don't know if her nadir is early or later.
If she's still hungry, it would be good to give her another tsp or so of food only to see if we can get her to just hold her numbers. Then test in another 30 minutes.
Is she doing ok with the tests?
Marje and Gracie said:Feed another tsp of LC and test in 30. I want you to stay on the tests right now. And the food is important o try and keep her from coming back down it we want to be careful so she does not get sick.
Is she a vomited or does she do well with food, etc. any health issues we should know about?
Marje and Gracie said:Crystal
It's important to read through the instructions carefully...no honey right now. Just food. I don't want to make her sick and want to see if she can hold with just food. If you wait too long to feed her, she could come back down.
Have you fed her the FF?
Carl & Bob said:Crystal,
You may have misunderstood given all the excitement... but you want to test every 30 minutes whether you've fed more or not. I think the last test you did was at 1am, so you could have tested at 1:30 as well, then again at 2am
carl
How low on test strips? Can you send someone out for more? If you don't have about 50 strips on hand or can get them tonight, then you should consider a trip to the ER with her.
Lantus overdoses can last up to 16 hours. She might go up, come down, go up, etc. we will have you testing alot until she is safely way up. If you don't have strips, you need to go to the ER.
Marje and Gracie said:Did you see this?
How low on test strips? Can you send someone out for more? If you don't have about 50 strips on hand or can get them tonight, then you should consider a trip to the ER with her.
Lantus overdoses can last up to 16 hours. She might go up, come down, go up, etc. we will have you testing alot until she is safely way up. If you don't have strips, you need to go to the ER.
we want to test every 30 mins whether you feed or not. Could you please let me know when the last time you fed her?
You want to send them before you run out for sure.i have someone that can go get me some strips when i run out
She us at a safe number now and you can safely transport her to the ER. My recommendation is that you take her now.
Carl & Bob said:AMPS (1.5u) 103
PMPS (might have been 2.5u but not sure) 114
+.5 145
+2 74
+2.75 45
+3.3 54
+4 88
+4.75 113
+5.4 194
And the last time you fed her, it was at 1:30 which would have been at +4.5, correct?
Carl
Carl & Bob said:Crystal
I'm thinking you either brought Luscious to the ER, or gave in to exhaustion..
Please let us know how you're both doing when you see this.
Hope you're fine,
Carl
Marje and Gracie said:Crystal
Some info for you about using lantus.
Lantus is a depot insulin and it works best for your kitty with consistent dosing. We typically hold doses for six cycles and then reevaluate to determine if dose needs to go up or not. Specific numbers warrant reductions. We usually only increase and decrease by .25u (unless BG is really high) so we don't miss the fitting dose.
We dose primarily on the nadir with some consideration of the preshot. I've seen cats be 300 at the AM preshot, 40 at mid cycle, and 300 at PM preshot. If we dosed on the nadir, the cat might possibly drop even lower than 40.
On this board, we live feline diabetes 24/7. Vets do not and they do not typically stay on top of the treatment for FD. We follow a protocol based on scientific research which was published in a veterinary journal. Most vets are happy for you to keep the cat above 200. But for some cats, above that number is above Neal threshold where they dump sugar in their urine putting them at increased risk of urinary tract infections. Those of us using tight regulation, aim for our cats to be in the 50-120 range.
Luscious has the potential to go into remission and tight regulation is the best way to get there and w can help her and you. I hope you will at least understand that dosing on a sliding scale is not how this insulin works and it is important to get preshot and mid cycle tests. For those who work, we can help with other test times.
Please let us know what you wish to do tonight.
Edited to add: I'm signing off now...I've been sick and am just starting to recuperate. Carl is going to stay. You are in awesome hands. Good luck.