To Low to shoot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lynn & Rupert

Very Active Member
Hi, BG was 128 at AMPS, so I am waiting 20 mins to see if it rises, with no food. He did get one small bite of food, but that was it. I wait till his BG is 200 and above and then shoot, correct? Do I reduce the dose? Thanks in advance, only second time this happened and first time was early in the game.
 
Hey, hurrah! Yes, you can wait till 200 or if you are home to monitor, 180. Since you have data and are confident testing, you can lower that pre shot number if you want. Did you retest to be sure the number was true? I am wondering why he did that. he's had some nice blues mid cycle but that really came out of the blue. Normally I would say reduce a smidge but it is such an unusual number for him
 
I will be home to monitor and I forgot to retest, I was so excited! o_O I will retest now and see where he is at. I might reduce the dose a smidge just to be extra cautious. Thanks Sue! :bighug:
 
He is at 164 30 mins later. He wants to eat, badly, how long to I wait to feed him?
Lynn, when I've gone through this w/ Bat-Bat, sometimes it's taken more than an hour to get her to around 180; I continued to stall on the feeding throughout. (And oh yeah, she was not happy with me!)
 
Lol, I bet! Yep, Rupert is cranky with me, but he will survive. I have waited to feed, hopefully soon, my ears are ringing! :blackeye:
 
Hey, hurrah! Yes, you can wait till 200 or if you are home to monitor, 180. Since you have data and are confident testing, you can lower that pre shot number if you want. Did you retest to be sure the number was true? I am wondering why he did that. he's had some nice blues mid cycle but that really came out of the blue. Normally I would say reduce a smidge but it is such an unusual number for him
I am also wondering why the low number this AMPS, he consistently is high at AMPS and usually PMPS. He has been getting some lower numbers, since dose increases, but still sort of weird. Maybe a new trend? Hope so!
 
(Hopefully, this distracts a little while you wait ...) Have you ever noticed a change in Rupert's demeanor when the weather changes? An example: Has cooled off here considerably past couple of days (not that we don't use the AC when it's a cooker outside); having really lovely temps overnight, too. So now Bat-Bat's way more active & chatty @ mealtimes (not cranky-squawky, just talkative).

Your post #7 just loaded while I was typing this; am going to have a look at your SS now ...
 
I am also wondering why the low number this AMPS, he consistently is high at AMPS and usually PMPS. He has been getting some lower numbers, since dose increases, but still sort of weird. Maybe a new trend? Hope so!
All I can tell you about that is ... sometimes they hang onto the insulin a little longer; if you look at Bat-Bat's SS, you'll see that she went through that for awhile (usually after a dose change change, and more often @ AMPS than PMPS). Yeah, it seems weird when it happens; I think some cats' bodies just take a bit to "settle in" to an adjustment in the dose.

Btw, what's Rupert's weight now?
 
Hey Robin, so sorry I wasn't able to get back with you sooner! Crazy day yesterday! It's always hot here, lol, and he usually stays inside with the AC on. He is at 9.6 lbs now, so he has gained some weight back. Still a little "thin" in the rib area, but looking much better. I think a couple of more ounces of weight, than hold him there, under 10 lbs, but close. He was high at PMPS last night, but had stayed in the blues most of the day. He was outside more in the late afternoon and evening, so maybe the heat did influence his PMPS. He was more active and wanted to be outside on the lanai much more than usual. Which made me happy to see! I might have messed up by giving him only 3 u, but I was worried about him going to low. I haven't had much experience with low numbers! :nailbiting: It will be interesting to see how he does today. Thanks again for your help and support! :bighug:
 
Hi Lynn,

I am guessing he bounced from those lovely blues yesterday. Did you give 3 last night or this morning? It says 3.2 on your spreadsheet.

The next time he sees blues and bounces, I would continue with his regular dose. If he drops into the 50s, then he earns a reduction. But as long as he is in the numbers you want to see, continue with the same dose that produced them. But reducing is not a problem. You'll get him back again. it is scary when you see blues you are not used to.:D
 
I might have messed up by giving him only 3 u, but I was worried about him going to low. I haven't had much experience with low numbers! :nailbiting: It will be interesting to see how he does today. Thanks again for your help and support! :bighug:
I'm assuming you meant that you gave him the 3.0 last night? Not to worry, Lynn - it's not like you'd cut it by a half unit or anything, and sometimes you really do need to get some rest at night! And Sue's advice (above) re: holding the dose is golden. But - again - no worries: Just look at how much lower his AMPS is today! You're doing just fine!:):bighug:
 
Thank you so much ladies! Sorry about the confusion on the dosage, I gave him a lower dose yesterday in the morning, once he reached 235. I had the tree trimmer guys here during the day, so was worried about monitoring him. At PMPS I gave him his 3.2 dose, since he was so high by then, I didn't test him during the night, was exhausted, but I did get up and check that he was acting ok, he was. :) I was so thrilled to have such nice blues yesterday and a lower AMPS today! :joyful::joyful::joyful: Hugs to you both! :bighug::bighug:
 
I did manage to stay up last night and get a +2.5 and he was still high. Got up once around +6 and he was acting normal, no signs of a hypo, tg!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top