To late to shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheresaJ860

Member Since 2011
Hi All,
I posted in the Health Forum as well, I'm just worried. Chis tested AMPS=105, I knew he hadn't eaten much during the night, After feeding buy +2.5 he had raised to 228. How long should I wait after he ate to test him again, and if he is above 200 legitimately, is it to late to dose him? A reduced dose?
Thank you for any help you can give!
Theresa and Christian
 
He has such high preshots that I am aquestioning this very low number
If you shoot I would definatly reduce the dose, maybe .75
 
What have his numbers looked like lately, your ss ends on 1/3.

Food will make his bg go up so it will be hard to tell where he really is at.
 
SS is now updated! Any advice is greatly appreciated!

He has been eating like a starved kitty during some periods, and not during others. His behavior is pretty much normal, or back to before he was DX'd. He's been mousing, and is always thrilled to bring me his conquest, he hasn't done that in a long time. He's back to playing with the blind cords, but his feet seem to remain with the neuropathy.

He's also back to sleeping with us, and the drooler, some nights he sleeps all night, and of course doesn't eat.

Present weight is still just below 9 lbs, last year at this time he weighed 13.5 lbs.

Thank you!!!!
 
He does seem to bounce between some pretty decent numbers and some pinks. I wonder if a dose between one unit and 1.5 would be a nice number. Do you have U100 syringes/conversion chart and could dose smaller increments?

PS the mousing might cause lower numbers - excercise lowers bg numbers.
 
Thanks Sue,
I don't have u-100 syringes, my vet refuses to prescribe them, *sigh* we live in CT, and prescriptions are required.

Are you suggesting I return to 1.25?

I have been letting him eat at will due to his low weight, I notice that when he eats steadily, his BG is more consistent. Unfortunately life has not been cooperating, leading to periods where he decides not to eat. (Meaning, he prefers to eat when I am home, he now refuses to eat if I have to be away for more than a couple of hours.)
 
Hmmmm, after reviewing his entire SS, I notice that he started running in the black after my illness began it's present flare. Does it seem possible that on my really bad days his BG rises?
 
Generally, your low amps would suggest the dose is too high. But his numbers have jumped around so much, it is hard to tell. The concern might be that if he was that low at preshot, he could have been very low overnight. No way to be sure. More data will always improve the picture.

1.25 could be a good dose. I would wait to see pmps. He may really bounce from the low, or not. Fun dance, huh. It would be so nice if we could lead, not the cat. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top