Time to call in the calvary

Status
Not open for further replies.
OK gals, I need everyone to look at Gandalf's spreadsheet. He's having some wild swings over 24 hour periods that I can't get under control. This has all happened since his p-titis attack in August which resolved about 1 month ago. He has some good nadirs, even good preshots, then zooms over 300.

The 2 400s are when we went to U of I, so ignore those.

I suspect he may need less insulin, if this was happening over a 12 hr period I would certainly think that. Even when we get the good preshots and I hold the dose like on 9.27 and 9.28, he still zooms up there within 2 cycles. Yesterday was a good day even with the AM split doses.

Earlier I thought it was insulin resistance so I went to 1.3U, but he's had steadier numbers on the 1.15U dose. And I don't think he'd be seeing green numbers if there was still resistance.

Regular participants in Lev ISG know my situation and why I split doses and do earlier shots. Anyone else, please ask and I'll try to explain. It really does work for him despite what the current numbers show, so I'm not willing to change that. I just need to know if anything stands out for you on spreadsheet.

I know I don't have great curve numbers. I can get some on Tuesday, but Wed. is acupuncture day and numbers then aren't reliable. I've also tried not giving fluids as much so I get truer results rather than fluid influenced ones, although that is something I do for him and is a factor in his numbers sometimes.

Look at mid-July to see good numbers for him on the 1.25U/1.3U dose. (I was on vacation then though and able to keep to a 12/12 schedule) If I compare numbers from mid-Sept. (when you see AM blues) to the last 3 days of Sept. I think he needs the 1.25U dose but he goes up to 300's on it and even 1.1U drops him to 80s.

I'm considering holding current dose until I can curve it Tuesday and going from there. His numbers aren't so bad that I need an immediate change, I just hate the swinging for him. Thanks in advance.
 
Keep fingers crossed

This AM +11 he was 140 on 1.1U. I'm not letting him eat anything. Shoot, that reminds me, I wanted to try to get Sam-E down him. I forget.

If he goes up after this I think I will increase, but slowly, because the +10 shot yesterday dropped and held his numbers, which indicates he needs more not less. Previously I've thought that I can't increase more than .1U at a time, if even that.
 
Well, Vicky, you know I am not comfortable makig suggestions w/ G's customized game plan, but I did want to add encouragement to your waiting until you can do the curve to change anything.

It's my experience that getting a full, clear picture that is current when changing doses is better than guesstimating based on past results.

And, as if there isn't already enought stuff going on with G, is it possible there is a new something or other that might be bothering him into the higher BG's form pain, discomfort or general malise?

What about the house chicken? All this seemed to coincide with the introduction of that situation- do you think G object to the chicken platter in the laundry room?

reaching....I know, but sometimes it is the most obvious that we miss.
 
Thanks Melissa. He acts perfectly normal and the only cat who has even cared that there's a chicken in another room is Sammie.

For the casual reader - I had a dog attack my chickens 3 weeks ago and one was seriously injured. I've kept her in my mud room until she's healed. Letting her back out this week.

Tonight I screwed up because I let him eat some of my cooked chicken which is marinated in a teriyaki recipe which includes brown sugar. I try to only give him the inside pieces, not the outer parts, but I can see it causing a sudden rise right at the end of the cycle when there's no insulin left to help out.

I'm glad I tested him when i came home, he was 191 at +10.5. His PMPS was 345. Ouch. Stayed with 1.1U, but am considering raising dose tomorrow AM. I know I should wait for curve, but the 191 seems to indicate the shed from the earlier shot Saturday morning has worn out and the current dose is not enough to keep him level.
 
Vicky & Gandalf said:
I know I should wait for curve, but the 191 seems to indicate the shed from the earlier shot Saturday morning has worn out and the current dose is not enough to keep him level.

Any other time your split doses and micro changes work well, but you are stating that since the last CP flare his numbers have been inexplicably wonky....with that information in consideration, I would suggest you take your own advice and wait for the curve to get accurate results before a change is made. It will give you the bigger picture and help with more fact based decisons.

"seems to indicate" is not a fact....BG curve is.....my opinion, only, of course.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top