Thumper

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
I have no idea what's going on with her. PMPS was 309, was going to shoot then she would not eat. She loves wet food & usually comes when she hears me in the kitchen. I had to go get her out of bed then she still wouldn't eat. I had something urgent & unexpected come up so I had to leave the house. I was afraid to shoot & leave not knowing what was going on. Now it is 3 hrs later, her BG is 312 & stupid me left the food out so I don't know who ate it. Her ears are really warm feeling & they are usually cold. I'm beyond stressed here. I'm starting to think she might be sick? Is it ok to just skip the shot tonight? I'm only 9 hrs away from next shot. Geez, I'm sorta panicking & thinking I might take her to the vet tomorrow while I'm at work. I will worry myself sick leaving her here all day alone.
 
Sorry, I don't know what to tell you. Did you try posting on Health? Has this ever happened before? 309 is not horrifically high, but it is usually better not to skip shots. But not the end of the world, either. Could she have eaten something that upset her stomach?
 
Ok, deep breaths!!!

Some questions for you:

Are you able to check her pee for ketones?

How is she acting - is she barfing? Meatloafed like she is in pain, etc.?
 
I'm far from the most knowledgeable, but I looked at your spreadsheet and since your shooting small amounts, your probably safe, if she ate or not. . If she's stressed or sick, her BG is likely to be higher. If you're afraid of the .5 you can always do less, I did as low as .1 using PZI 100 and 100 needles on miss Maisey. Usually, the rule is you're safe shooting if BG is over 200. :YMHUG: Leave some wet food mixed with a little water, in case kitty gets hungry during the night.
 
The rule my vet said was to shoot 1/2 dose if they aren't eating. The 0.5 looks to me like it is probably too low, so I wouldn't be too worried about shooting that dose even if she isn't eating. On the other hand her #s aren't that high and if there's no suspicion of ketones and your next shot time is not that far away, I like the micro dose idea and maybe shoot 0.2. (That's if you have negative ketones)

I'm more worried though about the not eating than about the insulin per se. I don't recall, dose she have any ketone history? Lowered dose and not eating makes me nervous.
 
I don't think she would have eaten anything. She has moved around, not fussing, she just came into the room with me. She has had some urinary problems before, she was at the vet for that when she was diagnosed. They never really find anything except "high white count" in her urine, until they found the sugar this time. When she went back for a curve the next week after starting insulin that had cleared up. I have never tested ketones. That urine thing has happened a few times in the last couple of years. She would start peeing on my bed & it had blood specks in it. It was like she couldn't control herself. She couldn't take the clavamox they gave her, she would just throw up, so they ended up giving her some kind of shot & that seemed to clear it up.
 
Take a deep breath and go with Mommy instinct. What ever you do will be right. Micro dose or none are both great options.
 
It is a good policy with a diabetic cat to test for ketones every so often. You can use ketostix that you get in the pharmacy and catch the urine stream or put something in the litter that is not absorbent (aquarium gravel or cut up newspaper). You need to have fresh urine.
 
Yeah, I would start testing for ketones - if your pharmacy is still open & you can run out & grab some Ketostix that might put your mind at ease. Ketones can become a crisis, and are caused by some combo of insufficient insulin, insufficient eating, and/or infection.

If she is moving around ok that is good, sounds like maybe no immediate crisis? I'd still test for ketones though as soon as you can, and see if you can tempt her to eat something. Did I read right that she didn't eat this morning either? If she still isn't eating by morning I'd consider taking her to the vet, or at least giving them a call for advice.
 
wait a minute...is thumper just not eatting (possibly) one meal? tonights dinner? and maybe did eat?
why am i not seeing an emergency?
let me go look at SS.
brb
 
Barbara, ladies, every once in a while a kitty, or a person may have a tummy ache..a nausea or just not feel great.
It's not an emergency yet is it? and the number is hanging steady and a little higher than normal which yes could be because thumper is not feeling up to par.
it is a possibility that thumper ate.
i think you could go either way. a shaved down dose.... .25 or so
or you could skip and be prepared for a large red number in the morning most likely.

do you have a baby rectal thermometer?
 
She will let me put a small cup under her IF I CATCH her peeing....she's private I guess & sneaks in there & with 3 others I don't know who is doing what. I always feel like such a idiot when my vet is questioning me about who is doing what in the litter box but I honestly can't keep up with it. I have 3 litter boxes & clean them once or twice a day but its hard for me to catch them in the act. I have decided to not shoot tonight. I think I'm gonna take her in for a curve tomorrow & have them just check her out. I was thinking about taking my glucometer & having them check it against theirs. I'm honestly about at the end of my rope...I've got way too much on my plate right now & I'm a worrier anyway. I've lost my 2 dogs in the last year, Thumper's litter mate was diagnosed with an over active thyroid & then this diagnosis, so when she didn't eat I started panicking. :cry: She seems to be acting ok though. Thanks for listening & all your help!
 
Barbara I'm sorry you have so much on the plate right now...you know we all get very scared initally after dx and worry about everything that we would not have paid much attention to before. if you don't shoot you'll run a little high...one missed meal is not that bad...and she may have ate something.
it's all in the dear mom letter.
you will be ok and so will thumper. she's a cat...she'll eat when she feels like it tonight. leave her some food...or will your others get to it first?
 
:YMHUG: I feel for you - I lost 2 kitties while trying to get Bix regulated (before I joined the board), and I know it made me extra-panicky that something was going to happen to him any minute if I didn't do everything perfectly. Thumper's #s aren't too bad and if she is acting ok then hopefully it's nothing too serious. If it will reduce your stress, definitely take her into the vets tomorrow for a check-up. I don't know that I would bother with a curve since the #s may be affected by stress, but still it would be good to have them test for ketones and be sure she doesn't have a urinary infection, and see if there are any indicators why she might not be eating. Hopefully though she will be eating fine by morning and problem solved. Sometimes if the BGs are higher they just don't feel like eating - Bix was like that, he would get more lethargic and not eat as well if he was running high.

Sorry about losing your pooches :cry: that is tough.
 
((((Barbara))))

When Harley was dx in July of 09 my mom had just been dx as terminal a month earlier. I went into what I called "hyper adrenalin overdrive" with so much to take care of and do for everyone, it's overwhelming.

Fingers and paws crossed for you and your family.

Breeeaaath. We're here for you.

Robin
 
It does sound like you have a lot on your plate and sometimes one more thing can tip the balance. I think it's especially hard when you have a newly diagnosed kitty and are just trying to come up to speed on how to handle the diabetes. That's enough and you don't need any other anxiety. I sure hope Thumper is feeling better today.

So sorry to hear about the loss of your two dogs. It's so hard to lose loved ones. *Hugs*
 
Hang in there! It is so hard trying to take care of everything
just take deep breathes and one day at a time

try not to stress too much about the missed shot
It happens, and they always come out to be ok the next day
 
Yeah, we are curious too how you made out if you went to the vet.
Hopin Thumper feels much better today!
cat_pet_icon
 
Thanks for the concern everyone. Sorry I wasn't able to post again till now....I won't even begin to bore you with all the details! She decided to eat late last night, I just didn't have the energy to come back & post. I just skipped the pm shot last night. I've updated her spreadsheet. I was surprised her AMPS wasn't higher. She is back to normal today. I actually forgot to leave any food out this morning & they were all waiting for me when I got home! The vet I like wasn't in today & since she started eating again I decided to skip it. I was thinking about taking her in for a curve so I could see how my meter compared to theirs & let them try to catch some urine. It will depend on who is there tomorrow. Thanks again! Sorry about the panic last night!
 
Just when you think you're figuring out what you're doing, kitty throws a curve ball. Glad Thumper is eating and doing well. Saw on her spreadsheet that she got some nice #'s this morning. Go Thumper! Looks like you may be heading into micro dose territory. Depending on your tests today, you may want to consider a micro of .25u tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top