Thumper 5/15

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
AMPS - 260 so I shot .8 again

I do see the 100 pt jump at +2 PMPS last night. The spread sheet pretty much is useless to me...I don't even know what I'm supposed to be looking for. @-) It doesn't look like Thumper has done anything ever that is "normal". I think I see what you are saying that it looks like the insulin caused that rise but the AM #'s were good and she's back at 260 now. I guess I will see what today brings, I'm gonna get some #'s but not do a complete curve. Also, if the .8 is too much & causing her BG to rise, why on the lower dose is her BG not coming down? That's the reason I raised it...didn't seem to be getting any good #'s on the lower dose.
 
There are so many variables, Barbara, and the darn cats don't act like we think they might. The spreadsheet is good for showing you overall patterns and trends. I agree Thumper throws us good numbers on times we wouldn't expect and then they don't repeat. It is possible that her naidr yesterday was lower than she was used to and she bounced in the overnight cycle. She isn't down in anywhere close to dangerous numbers at nadir, so your dose is certainly safe. With your upcoming trip, maybe that is what we should hope for - safe numbers - and then play around with more agressive dosing when you return. If you can, get a number around +6 today. Maybe :mrgreen: that will give us some more info......
 
When looking at your ss you look at your PS# and the dose, then the spot checks, you would like to see your nadir be about a 60% drop from PS. That would be a good dose for that PS and your nadir will tell you if you need to raise or lower. Also look at the difference between PS's.

You are getting decent #'s, I thought we were trying to find a good dose for DH to safely shoot while you are away so you could have a worry free vacation.
 
I forgot to mention the AMPS was 45 mins late since I overslept! I was going to get a +3 but she's sleeping under the bed & she gets really annoyed when I try to pull her out from there so I'm leaving her alone. That's exactly what I'm looking for...a safe dose for when I'm gone. My thinking with the increase was the #'s weren't great & there's that annoying trace ketone issue, which is still showing up. On the ketone issue though...I tested my civvie that's her litter mate & has Hyper T and the reading was the same. I would think it was just the strips but the first few times I tested with the same strips it was negative. I have the precision xtra & ketone stips coming so am anxious to see what that reads with blood. She acts fine & is eating well.
 
That's ok, let her sleep, you can get a test in later.

Interesting that the civie's ketone test comes out the same, have you tested yourself? Have the test strips expired? Was the container left open?

I think the .8u was fine today, ketones trump bg's.
 
I'm not sure I followed, but a rise by +2 would be either poop-out from the last shot and the new shot hasn't kicked in yet, or something like a food spike or stress. Was there question over the new shot causing a rise by +2? I don't think that's possible, but maybe I misunderstood the question.
 
Joanna, that was a continuation of my thread from last night. Lori was saying maybe I needed to go back to .6 since she had a spike at +2, I think meaning that was too much insulin? Anyway, here's today's #'s

AMPS - 260 shot .8
+6 - 165
+ - 149
PMPS - 183
20 mins later - 197

So the questions is do I stay at .8 or drop back to .6 remember I am going out of town for 5 days on Wednesday & leaving her with my husband who can test & shoot but is a bit careless. I'm leaning towards going back to .6 until I come back?
 
I think you'll be the safest with the .6u, she may run a little higher for the week but that would be better than trying to coach DH through the tricky dosing from long distance.
 
We'll cross fingers and paws that Thumper's BG behaves while you're away.
Maisey says it could happen, she was very good when I had to travel.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top