Threw Up Entire AMPS Meal

Status
Not open for further replies.

Corey & Kitty

Member Since 2022
I just came home from work for my lunch break and noticed a huge pile of what looks like undigested pate. It looked like projectile, it was a streak like 6 inches long and a large amount, looked like the entire can of pate was thrown up. Do you think I should be concerned or attribute this to "scarf and barf"?

I just checked BG at +4.5 and it looks normal for this time of the cycle. I offered her more food just now but she doesn't seem interested. Now as I'm writing this she decided to eat. I gave her 3/4 of a can, maybe I shouldn't be giving her a whole can before shots because she eats it all so quickly. I'm heading back to work in about 20-25 minutes.
 
That sounds like scarf and barf, I wouldn't worry if it's a one time thing thing. If she eats quickly a lot, one of those "slow down bowls" might help. I have one for my dog...I assume they make them for cats too? They have like little pillars and grooves and such that slow them down
 
That sounds like scarf and barf, I wouldn't worry if it's a one time thing thing. If she eats quickly a lot, one of those "slow down bowls" might help. I have one for my dog...I assume they make them for cats too? They have like little pillars and grooves and such that slow them down
So she ate the 3/4 can I gave her at +4.5. I got home at +9.5 and gave her the other 1/4 can which she ate right away. Just checked her BG at +9.75 and she was at 229, lower than she normally is at that time. Not sure if this is because of the increased dose, or because of the lack of food this morning or both. Should I still proceed as normal tonight at PMPS in about 2 hours?
 
So she ate the 3/4 can I gave her at +4.5. I got home at +9.5 and gave her the other 1/4 can which she ate right away. Just checked her BG at +9.75 and she was at 229, lower than she normally is at that time. Not sure if this is because of the increased dose, or because of the lack of food this morning or both. Should I still proceed as normal tonight at PMPS in about 2 hours?
Could be either, but yep as long as over 200 shoot full dose. Otherwise stall without food and ask for advice
 
I'm here hold on - are you able to stay up and monitor if needed? You'd need to start with a +2 or +3, let me check SS
 
Ok let me tag @Wendy&Neko I see she's around. I would say shoot full dose, perfect opportunity to catch and hold these lower numbers. But because it's much lower than you've shot before I'd just like her to weigh in.

Wait as long as you can for her to reply without getting too far off schedule. You can always do something like a half dose if you aren't comfortable shooting the full dose, but that does mess up depot and restart cycle counts.
 
I have to work be at work at +1 for tomorrow's AM cycle so I can't wait too much longer.
 
Okay, its already been almost 40 minutes past usual shot time. How long is too long to wait?
Tomorrow's AM shot at the earliest can only be 11.5 hrs after tonight's shot.

If she were my cat I would shoot full dose, and start with a +2. She is flat and not dropping so that's perfect, she'll naturally start to rise soon here, plus a bump from food before shot kicks in. I would also move over to Lantus forum if you shoot full dose, more eyes over there at night
 
If she were my cat I would shoot full dose, and start with a +2.
Okay, I just gave the full dose and she's eating right now. So nervous now. I'll check her at +2. What other times would be best to check her? If her numbers start dropping, how low should I let it go before I should be concerned about intervening? Is there a point at which I should feed her higher carb food?

Should I start a thread over there now?
 
A new thread over on the Lantus forum is a good idea. You'll get more eyes on you tonight. Make sure you link to this post so people have the background info.
 
I'll keep an eye out on the Lantus forum for you for a little bit. A lot depends on what the +2 test shows.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top