Three questions re SLGS etc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angel's mommie

Member Since 2017
Hello everyone! I have been testing, doing curves etc. on Angel for several months now, and am desperately trying to get him into remission again (he'd gone into remission, but the diabetes came back 'cos of steroids for IBD last year), as I need to visit my mom/family in India each summer. That's a whole other discussion :); but for now I have a few questions I'd love your help with, please. Thank you so very much. Any feedback would be much appreciated:
(1) Is it absolutely awful to sometimes test on the inside edge of the ear? It seems so much easier -- a tiny prick suffices, and is so easy to see for my aging eyes.
(2) Are the numbers mentioned in the SLGS protocol on this site using a human or feline meter? I use Alphatrak2 (feline meter). I'm sure you're all familiar with these numbers, but here's a cut-and-paste of the section I'm wondering about:
" After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours:
Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.​
    • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
    • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
    • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases.
If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but do decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change)."
(3) Here're the readings for the past three days. I've been giving 1 unit (or less) for over a week now. Do you think it might be time to up it a tiny bit? (and I fully understand this is just advice on your part :), and it is up to me to take it or not :)). I tried setting up a spreadsheet but it didn't work, so for now am simply posting the numbers here:

March 2 (using feline meter). Have been giving approx 1 unit for the week before that, once or twice reducing to .5 if morning readings were low e.g. 123.
10 AM: 143 . Gave almost 1 unit (<1); basically 1 unit with a large air bubble which would make it <1.
1:45 PM: 146
4:45 PM: 186
10:15 PM: 185. Gave <1

March 3 (could not do curve as had to go to work)
10 AM: 173 Gave <1
10 PM : 174 Gave 1 unit

March 4:
10:30 AM 143 Gave <1
1:30 PM 103
4:30 PM 132
7:30 PM 115
Will be testing again at 10:30 PM

Thank you, everyone :)!
Angel's Mommie
 
Last edited:
If you send a PM to @Marje and Gracie she can help you with the spreadsheet. It's easy for her.

According to SLGS if nadir are between 90-149 you hold the dose. Therefore you should hold the dose.
 
Thank you, tiffmaxee! I do test a lot, so am thinking maybe I should now be trying TR...Need to read up on that first, though! I'm drowning at work right now so its more a question of not having the time, but will almost certainly contact Marje and Gracie over spring break to work out the spreadsheet.
 
(1) Is it absolutely awful to sometimes test on the inside edge of the ear? It seems so much easier -- a tiny prick suffices, and is so easy to see for my aging eyes.

I have always tested China on the inside instead of the outside....with pure white ears, I wanted to avoid staining her fur

(2) Are the numbers mentioned in the SLGS protocol on this site using a human or feline meter?

They are using a human meter....but the 90 value for reductions is used for both human and pet meters

I agree with the others....at this point, I'd hold her dose
 
Is it absolutely awful to sometimes test on the inside edge of the ear? I
As a matter of fact my vet taught me to prick on the inside of the ear. I only found out you could use the outside once I joined the board here! I'm too new to give any dosing instructions but I wish you and Angel the best!
 
Tiffmaxie: thank you for the moral support. I was thinking of doing just that, and it helps to know more experienced folk too think this might be a good idea. Really appreciate it. And thank you for the stickie and the tagging. I am indeed in education :). Are you too?
 
Barbara and Uncle: what a relief! Thanks so much. I try to spread the pricks out over as many different areas as possible -- but inside truly is the easiest, especially when one is in a hurry. While learning how to test I watched several videos online, and every one of them tested on the outside of the ear, which made me wonder if doing the inside was terrible in some way.
 
Barbara and Uncle: what a relief! Thanks so much. I try to spread the pricks out over as many different areas as possible -- but inside truly is the easiest, especially when one is in a hurry. While learning how to test I watched several videos online, and every one of them tested on the outside of the ear, which made me wonder if doing the inside was terrible in some way.
I thought I might be the only one too!
 
Tiffmaxie: I'm almost afraid to ask. I see your spreadsheet stops around Oct 2016. I so hope Max is okay, and that this is because he went into remission (is that what folks here refer to as "OTJ," yes?). Sending Max and you best wishes.
 
I tried setting up a spreadsheet but it didn't work, so for now and simply posting the numbers here:

You have to have a Google account to be able to work on the spreadsheet but looking at the one you have in your signature, it's the wrong one since you live in the US

I'd be happy to set it up for you too....Only takes about 30 seconds
 
Chris and China: that'll be wonderful! Thank you! I do indeed have a google account. Hmmm. Removing the bad spreadsheet.
 
Tiffmaxie: thank you for the moral support. I was thinking of doing just that, and it helps to know more experienced folk too think this might be a good idea. Really appreciate it. And thank you for the stickie and the tagging. I am indeed in education :). Are you too?
Your welcome. I'm a retired teacher.

I too poked tge inside of tge ear because I that's how I was taught and because of tge black fur.
 
Tiffmaxie: I thought so :), since you asked. Cool! One of my other kitties is black, so I imagine I'll have to do the same if (heaven forbid) she ever gets diabetes!
 
A question: I would like to add a column to note what time the AMPS was, e.g. 10 AM. Would that mess up the spreadsheet?
 
Would that mess up the spreadsheet?

No, you can if it helps you, but here, since we're all over the world, we don't care much about what time you actually test/feed/shoot

What's important is the tests afterwards.....and how many hours since the shot

Chris and China: thank a bazillion!

You're very welcome!!! It's so helpful to have the spreadsheets since we all want to look at them before giving much in the way of advice!!
 
That makes sense, that it's the hours-since-shot that are the most important info. I think I'm just so used to writing the time down that I'm reluctant to totally let go of that, lol. Thanks again!
 
Looks like the SS is up but the link is incorrect even though we can see it. There is a better way to link it so please send me a PM if you'd like me to correct it.

Sorry it took me longer to get to you...I just got back from being out of town for a week and am catching up slowly.
 
Looks like the SS is up but the link is incorrect even though we can see it. There is a better way to link it so please send me a PM if you'd like me to correct it.

Sorry it took me longer to get to you...I just got back from being out of town for a week and am catching up slowly.

No worries, Marje and Gracie. Will do. Thank you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top