Angel's mommie
Member Since 2017
Hello everyone! I have been testing, doing curves etc. on Angel for several months now, and am desperately trying to get him into remission again (he'd gone into remission, but the diabetes came back 'cos of steroids for IBD last year), as I need to visit my mom/family in India each summer. That's a whole other discussion
; but for now I have a few questions I'd love your help with, please. Thank you so very much. Any feedback would be much appreciated:
(1) Is it absolutely awful to sometimes test on the inside edge of the ear? It seems so much easier -- a tiny prick suffices, and is so easy to see for my aging eyes.
(2) Are the numbers mentioned in the SLGS protocol on this site using a human or feline meter? I use Alphatrak2 (feline meter). I'm sure you're all familiar with these numbers, but here's a cut-and-paste of the section I'm wondering about:
(3) Here're the readings for the past three days. I've been giving 1 unit (or less) for over a week now. Do you think it might be time to up it a tiny bit? (and I fully understand this is just advice on your part
, and it is up to me to take it or not
). I tried setting up a spreadsheet but it didn't work, so for now am simply posting the numbers here:
March 2 (using feline meter). Have been giving approx 1 unit for the week before that, once or twice reducing to .5 if morning readings were low e.g. 123.
10 AM: 143 . Gave almost 1 unit (<1); basically 1 unit with a large air bubble which would make it <1.
1:45 PM: 146
4:45 PM: 186
10:15 PM: 185. Gave <1
March 3 (could not do curve as had to go to work)
10 AM: 173 Gave <1
10 PM : 174 Gave 1 unit
March 4:
10:30 AM 143 Gave <1
1:30 PM 103
4:30 PM 132
7:30 PM 115
Will be testing again at 10:30 PM
Thank you, everyone
!
Angel's Mommie
(1) Is it absolutely awful to sometimes test on the inside edge of the ear? It seems so much easier -- a tiny prick suffices, and is so easy to see for my aging eyes.
(2) Are the numbers mentioned in the SLGS protocol on this site using a human or feline meter? I use Alphatrak2 (feline meter). I'm sure you're all familiar with these numbers, but here's a cut-and-paste of the section I'm wondering about:
" After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours:
Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.
Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.
- If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
- If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
- If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases.
If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but do decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change)."
March 2 (using feline meter). Have been giving approx 1 unit for the week before that, once or twice reducing to .5 if morning readings were low e.g. 123.
10 AM: 143 . Gave almost 1 unit (<1); basically 1 unit with a large air bubble which would make it <1.
1:45 PM: 146
4:45 PM: 186
10:15 PM: 185. Gave <1
March 3 (could not do curve as had to go to work)
10 AM: 173 Gave <1
10 PM : 174 Gave 1 unit
March 4:
10:30 AM 143 Gave <1
1:30 PM 103
4:30 PM 132
7:30 PM 115
Will be testing again at 10:30 PM
Thank you, everyone
Angel's Mommie
Last edited: