Thomas switched to Lantus

Jenn ~ Thomas

Member Since 2023
@Suzanne & Darcy @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Diane Tyler's Mom

I started new thread and switched to the Lantus board.

His numbers seem to be staying in the yellow. I know @Suzanne & Darcy said that it will take a couple days to get the Lantus in the system. In previous reply I stated that I can test every 3 hours until 8 pm tonight. I will do as much as I can after the PM dose this week but this is my busiest week of the year. I am off next week so I will be able to test more often.
 
@Jenn ~ Thomas
Hi Jenn , Here is the link so you can read all about Lantus.
Also there are 2 dosing methods to pick that you want to follow, each one will let you know when an increase or decrease is needed
It's either TR or SLGS ,when you decide which one you want to follow you can add that to your signature and your spreadsheet up top above where you have the meter you are using
Yes it will take 5 to 7 days for the depot to build
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
 
Last edited:
HI, I just posted a +2 after Thomas's PM shot. It was 382, why would it be high after so many yellows?
 
I understand about this being your busiest week of the year. Try your very best to test as much as possible- if you’re able to sneak home at all to test. And at night if you can. I’m a little concerned about the switch at this time when you can’t test — but on the other hand, I do not expect him to go really low.
I will test as much as I can. He tested higher at the pmps which I questioned why it was higher but at least it’s not too low! I trust your words tho more than my thinking!!
 
I understand about this being your busiest week of the year. Try your very best to test as much as possible- if you’re able to sneak home at all to test. And at night if you can. I’m a little concerned about the switch at this time when you can’t test — but on the other hand, I do not expect him to go really low.
I got home this morning at got in a test. I will test again tonight before I go to bed.
 
I got home this morning at got in a test. I will test again tonight before I go to bed.
Excellent! I'm okay with these yellow for now... it is looking like he will need an increase... but for now when it is your busiest time of year, we will be happy with stable numbers, right?
 
Excellent! I'm okay with these yellow for now... it is looking like he will need an increase... but for now when it is your busiest time of year, we will be happy with stable numbers, right?
Yes!! I am just amazed how much we have gained from being on this board! I think it has been 4 weeks and he has went from 12 units and black/red/pink chart to yellows!!
 
“Steady as she goes” (or, in this case, as HE goes!). Have a great day, Jenn. I hope all of your furry clients will be well-behaved today.
All good today!!

What is going on with the pink numbers? Is that why you said an increase will be needed? I will be around Saturday to test all day.
 
Something is going on with Thomas. He started peeing on the floor again yesterday. I had a panel done at the vet and everything came back good, even no UTI. They said they are watching his thyroid and would want to test again in 6 months.
 
Oh no. I’m sorry he did that again. How long has he been doing that — and when is the last time he did it (before last night/this morning?). Are his most recent labs from last week on your spreadsheet (the labs tab?). You probably have not had time to do that.
 
He started this last February when he had a uti and diagnosed with diabetes. He stopped last week for a couple days and now back to peeing again. Hopefully it will get better once he is regulated??
 
He started this last February when he had a uti and diagnosed with diabetes. He stopped last week for a couple days and now back to peeing again. Hopefully it will get better once he is regulated??
This is a random thought, but what if the peeing is unrelated to the diabetes? Have you switched cat litters in the last few weeks? Maybe the store ran out of your favorite and you bought a different one? Or maybe he wants a new litter box?

I have a friend with a non-diabetic cat that got a UTI and was peeing outside the litter box, then continued to do so after the UTI cleared up. He seemed to be associating the previous discomfort from the UTI with his litter box, and they either had to buy a new litter box or new litter or both to solve the problem. I think they actually went through a few litter boxes till they found one he likes again.

Another thought, has Thomas had any trouble with his paws lately? Are his nails trimmed? Did one get trimmed a little too closely? Coarser litter can annoy cats with sensitive paws, in which case a softer litter could solve the problem.

I know these ideas are probably unlikely, I'm just throwing them out there as alternatives to consider. :)
 
This is a random thought, but what if the peeing is unrelated to the diabetes? Have you switched cat litters in the last few weeks? Maybe the store ran out of your favorite and you bought a different one? Or maybe he wants a new litter box?

I have a friend with a non-diabetic cat that got a UTI and was peeing outside the litter box, then continued to do so after the UTI cleared up. He seemed to be associating the previous discomfort from the UTI with his litter box, and they either had to buy a new litter box or new litter or both to solve the problem. I think they actually went through a few litter boxes till they found one he likes again.

Another thought, has Thomas had any trouble with his paws lately? Are his nails trimmed? Did one get trimmed a little too closely? Coarser litter can annoy cats with sensitive paws, in which case a softer litter could solve the problem.

I know these ideas are probably unlikely, I'm just throwing them out there as alternatives to consider. :)
I have tried so many cat litters and boxes! A year ago when he had the uti I had bought the litter robot and loved it! I thought it was because unless there was an absolute fresh box, he was peeing on the floor. He kept peeing on floor so I sent it back because I thought he was scared of it. I would love to get another one!

During this time on this board he had quit 2x. Im thinking he get to feeling better a little bit and then goes back to feeling lousy. I am hoping that once he is leveled out with the Lantus he will stop. If not I will start the cat litter cat box route again!
 
I have tried so many cat litters and boxes! A year ago when he had the uti I had bought the litter robot and loved it! I thought it was because unless there was an absolute fresh box, he was peeing on the floor. He kept peeing on floor so I sent it back because I thought he was scared of it. I would love to get another one!

During this time on this board he had quit 2x. Im thinking he get to feeling better a little bit and then goes back to feeling lousy. I am hoping that once he is leveled out with the Lantus he will stop. If not I will start the cat litter cat box route again!
I've seen videos of the litter robot! It looks neat! I figured you had probably thought of stuff like that, but figured it wouldn't hurt to mention just in case. I hope he comes around soon :)
 
I have tried so many cat litters and boxes! A year ago when he had the uti I had bought the litter robot and loved it! I thought it was because unless there was an absolute fresh box, he was peeing on the floor. He kept peeing on floor so I sent it back because I thought he was scared of it. I would love to get another one!

During this time on this board he had quit 2x. Im thinking he get to feeling better a little bit and then goes back to feeling lousy. I am hoping that once he is leveled out with the Lantus he will stop. If not I will start the cat litter cat box route again!
I hope so too!
 
He will be ready for that increase on Saturday from the looks of things. You say you will be able to get tests on Saturday?
yes I will be around Saturday! Actually I am may be around more tomorrow as well. I had to move some of my schedule for Friday today.

His number went pink this morning.
 
Last edited:
What do you think? Should I increase tomorrow? or tomorrow night?? He is still building up the depot I will be in and out tomorrow but close by. I will be home at 6 and do no plan on getting off the couch for the rest of the evening!
Well, tomorrow (Friday) is the 7th day of the cycle. So Saturday would be the day to increase. And you will be home to get a curve ?
 
@Jenn ~ Thomas
Hi Jenn can you add SLGS to your signature please and to your spreadsheet up at the top above where you have the meter you are using
To add it to your signature tap on your name up top and then tap signature and add it then tap Save
 
@Jenn ~ Thomas
Hi Jenn can you add SLGS to your signature please and to your spreadsheet up at the top above where you have the meter you are using
To add it to your signature tap on your name up top and then tap signature and add it then tap Save
o_O I did it on both last night!! I guess I didn't hit save on either..... and here I thought you would be so proud. LOL
 
What do you think? Should I increase tomorrow? or tomorrow night?? He is still building up the depot I will be in and out tomorrow but close by. I will be home at 6 and do no plan on getting off the couch for the rest of the evening!
So what is your availability today to get some tests on Thomas? Will you be popping in and out of the house? I thought Friday was paperwork day?:)
 
Jenn, another thing I just thought of. Sorry. On this forum, the LLB forum, we make a new post for each day with the date, cat name, AMPS. After that you can write whatever you want to or update the thread title with the numbers throughout the day.
So today’s new thread would be entitled:
12/22 Thomas AMPS 296

And we always include a link to the previous thread in the first post.

Take a look at some of the titles of other members.
So that’s all for “housekeeping.”
 
So what is your availability today to get some tests on Thomas? Will you be popping in and out of the house? I thought Friday was paperwork day?:)
The week before Christmas I work Monday through Friday. I have everyone that is due that week, and the next week plus everyone wanting their pet done before Christmas. I am closed between Christmas and New Years.. not vacation tho, I deep deep clean my grooming unit, and make any changes that I want to do, plus schedule my clients for the next year. I will be a home with Thomas from now until New Years. :)
 
So after 7 days you are supposed to do a curve testing every 2 hours for the 12 hour cycle. Or every 3 hours for 18 hours. As long as his nadir is over 150, then you would increase by .25 units in the next cycle.
 
So after 7 days you are supposed to do a curve testing every 2 hours for the 12 hour cycle. Or every 3 hours for 18 hours. As long as his nadir is over 150, then you would increase by .25 units in the next cycle.
Oh ok, I was thinking that I would increase in regards to the pink numbers over the past 7 days and do the curve to make sure it was going good. Ok, I will test every 2 hours tomorrow.

Also, I was reading about starting a new spreadsheet. Should I keep the one I have since I just started?
 
Good job on getting the curve (no surprises there from my perspective) and the increase. I hope you will try to grab as many tests you can at different times. Merry Christmas!

Oh…. I guess you should probably go ahead and start a new tab with a 2024 spreadsheet, per the instructions.
 
Back
Top