Susan and Timmy
Member Since 2017
I am too. It is a new learning curve, but best decision I've made.I'm so glad you got Timmy on to ProZinc and came here! Don't worry - you'll figure it out!![]()
I am too. It is a new learning curve, but best decision I've made.I'm so glad you got Timmy on to ProZinc and came here! Don't worry - you'll figure it out!![]()
I thought he was on a roll, but numbers today are ick.Go Timmy! You had two really nice cycles yesterday!
Thank you for your encouragement. Those severe increases and decreases were hard on my nerves too. I'm glad you made the move as well. Now I just have to figure out, with help, what dose will bring Timmy down to better numbers.I feel this. My cat also had huge and sudden drops on Caninsulin/Vetsulin. She'd often drop more than 100 points lower within the span of an hour or two, only to shoot back up at +5, often just as dramatically. I'm still getting over some very real anxiety about lower than usual pre-shots because of this, though ProZinc is so different. Her cylces have been higher/flatter lately too. I am really grateful for these forums because after coming from Caninsulin, I don't think I'd know what to do with these numbers!
Just wanted to say you're definitely not alone in that experience. You got some good results though! Hope it keeps up for you and Timmy.
Thank you for helping me understand what is happening. I will say that the flat cycles are interesting, I keep thinking something is wrong with my meter or test strip.Hmmm...could be a tiny bounce. Those are actually about the same as your normal preshots, but he did go low yesterday....and the high, flat cycle after is classic. If it is a bounce, though, I think it's just a very small one. Let's wait and see what he does tomorrow (I know, wait and see is never what you want to hear!).
If you're home I'd give 2 u, Susan. The blues you had were high blues. If you'd seen green it might be a different story. What do you think? So nice to see a yellow PS!After stalling for an hour he is at 306. @Kris & Teasel Should I stick with 2 units?
I panicked a bit this morning with the yellow preshot numbers. I stalled twice and he came up in slow motion. I was tempted to go to 1.75, but I didn't want to mess his progress up. He is a talker and he was quite unhappy with having to wait for his breakfast. I look at the other spreadsheets and it is so common to shoot at yellow and blue preshot numbers. That is such a foreign concept to me and I need to start training my brain for this.I always feel bad when I cross-post, but it is nice when the two posts say the same thing!
You'll get there, Susan. Those of us using Lantus learn to shoot on green numbers! Hair-raising the first few times ...I panicked a bit this morning with the yellow preshot numbers. I stalled twice and he came up in slow motion. I was tempted to go to 1.75, but I didn't want to mess his progress up. He is a talker and he was quite unhappy with having to wait for his breakfast. I look at the other spreadsheets and it is so common to shoot at yellow and blue preshot numbers. That is such a foreign concept to me and I need to start training my brain for this.![]()
Yikes! I panicked at a high yellow. The thought of shooting a blue makes me hyperventilate. Shooting a green...You'll get there, Susan. Those of us using Lantus learn to shoot on green numbers! Hair-raising the first few times ...
just stop.He hasn't spent a lot of time at all at the healing blues or greens. Just by taking away the extreme increases and decreases have made him stop hiding, he is actually out with the family now, all the time. I can't wait to see how he will be as he gets lower and lower. Thank you for your guidance. I just appreciate it so much.The more you do it, the easier it becomes! Just remember that those blues and greens are where the healing can happen, so the more time he can spend there, the better.
He gets wet food with his am and pm shots and I leave YA Mature Zero out for him to graze on whenever. I pick up all food 2 hours before each shot time. He was grazing on the YA at +3, which I stopped him so I could steer him with the wet food instead.Wow! Go Timmy!!! I'm so sorry it was stressful, but that was a beautiful cycle!
Do you normally only feed him twice/day? Or does he usually get snacks?


No worries.EDIT: I just read that back and it sounds a little too aggressive even to me.There are other reasons to reduce such as long cycles, cycles you can't monitor, just getting that sense that it's too much, etc. And I'm not trying to suggest we shoot until we get hypos -- just that sometimes we reduce when we really don't need to. Rachel did a much better job of explaining this than I did tonight! I apologize if my post sounded a little over the top!
I was hoping it would be a bit lower, but he had a good run today. I'm uneasy about yellow preshots, that sounds dumb when the spreadsheets here are yellows, blues, and greens.Saw you got a 379 preshot! Could be a bit of a bounce...don't be discouraged by it. I think 2 u was fine for that. Can you get a before bed test to just kind of see where things are going?
That makes sense. I can see what needs to happen, but then Timmy looks up at me and starts "talking" and I chicken out. I want him to keep feeling better so I need to work on getting nerves of steel. Easier said than done for sure.I still get nervous shooting as low as I have to right now! It's much easier to tell someone else it's the right decision, than it is to actually do it myself!![]()
. As you see more yellow PS numbers you will get more comfortable with them. I usually only stall with blue PS numbers now and just look at my data for yellows. Good call. Yes, it's nerve wracking at first but you need data for these situations, Susan, and this is the only way to get it. He's had a great start on ProZinc!He had another day with healing numbers. Preshot is 268. I am going to take the advice and stall for 20 minutes to see if he comes up, just for my sanity...So after a 25 minute stall he is now at 280. I'm going to go ahead and give him 2 units. Geesh! Why at the PMPS!?
Thank you.Good call. Yes, it's nerve wracking at first but you need data for these situations, Susan, and this is the only way to get it. He's had a great start on ProZinc!![]()
Thank you so much for this info. It helps a lot.I've spent a lot of time studying spreadsheets on here, and I would say that most of the time when someone lowers the dose because of a lower-than-normal pre-shot, the cycle ends up going upside down (the numbers get higher as the cycle goes on, instead of lower). Meaning that they could have stuck with the dose and been just fine. Now if the pre-shot is a LOT lower than normal, then you may need to decrease to be safe, but if it's over 250 (this number changes, I'm basing the 250 on your "usual" numbers right now in Timmy's journey) I would give the whole 2 units as long as you're around to keep an eye on him. If it's under 250, I might consider a slight decrease to maybe 1.75u, but I don't think I'd go any lower than that if he's over 200. And really I think it would be better to stall without feeding and let him rise to a number you're comfortable with. With the numbers you're seeing right now, stalling will most likely work and allow you to give a regular dose.
Prozinc really does best when it's consistent. It's sort of halfway between Lantus and Vetsulin - it's more flexible than Lantus, but not as flexible as Vetsulin. There are a few cats who really need a sliding scale, but the majority of cats seem to do best when the dose is as consistent as possible. When it gets adjusted, it can take several cycles to get back to normal, and during those cycles dosing can get pretty confusing. So again, when you have to adjust for safety, of course do it, but if you can keep it steady it seems to work best for most cats.
And as always, you hold the syringe, so make whatever decision you are comfortable with. There is only so much we can know through the internet, and sometimes your mama-sense will tell you things that we can't know. It never hurts anyone's feelings if you do something different. We are all here to support each other, and totally understand when you need to go with your gut on something!
I took your advice tonight and stalled for a bit and it did make me more comfortable when his numbers went up just a little.Djamila said it very well, so I'll just add one more thing: sometimes if you hit a yellow, you could just stall for 15ish minutes and retest to see if he's rising...it is probably safe to shoot at yellows, but it might make YOU feel better just to see that the number is still going up, not down.
Also, as Djmila said, Timmy is your cat and you have to be comfortable. If you just have a gut feeling that you need to go lower or you aren't going to be around to monitor, it's okay to reduce slightly!
Also, no one here thinks you're silly for feeling nervous about those yellows...it's not really about what OTHER people have gotten, it's about what is normal for YOU and for Timmy. Timmy doesn't usually hit those lower numbers, so they are more nerve wracking for you. You'll grow to be more comfortable!
Thank you for your encouragement. I really appreciate it. As I get more data at the lower PS numbers I know this will get easier. The next step is not to stall on a yellow...baby steps though. I took a look at your spreadsheet and Maury is definitely keeping you on your toes with that PS number tonight.Beautiful cycle today, Timmy! Ready everyone else's (gr?) comments and think holding the 2.0U for PS numbers >250 sounds good with slight reductions for 200 - 250 like Djamila said
. As you see more yellow PS numbers you will get more comfortable with them. I usually only stall with blue PS numbers now and just look at my data for yellows.
![]()

