Susan and Timmy
Active Member
Given last nights drop, I was thinking of giving 1.75 units tonight. We were doing 2 units at the PM dose to try to get his PM numbers down, but he dropped quicker than I would have liked last night. Thoughts?
Skinny 2.0 it is. He is doing so well and I don't want to mess that up. I know what you mean about giving the LC food last night. Maybe he would have stayed in the greens without it. My gut says no, but he keeps surprising me.Maybe a skinny 2u? (if it isn't too late)
His cycle last night is really what you're aiming for. It's hard to know if he would have gone too low without the LC food, or if he would have surfed safely. But you do kind of want those greens in the middle if you can get them. It does take some monitoring and nail biting though, so as always, if it's too stressful, it's okay to reduce.
He is now at 258, so he is coming up. I gave him the full 1.75. I will monitor. I wish he would even out so my nerves could rest for a minute.When you had a low pre-shot a couple of nights ago and reduced he went up -- so if it was me, I'd give the full dose (1.75) and then just monitor. If that makes you uncomfortable though, it's okay to reduce a little, but I wouldn't recommend reducing by very much since you have data that suggests he'll rise.
He is bouncing around right now, so it's harder to predict than it was a few days back. I do think he might have a more active cycle today since the past two have been flat. But it's also possible he isn't done with the flats. Oh, for a crystal ball....
He is now at 258, so he is coming up. I gave him the full 1.75. I will monitor. I wish he would even out so my nerves could rest for a minute.![]()
It was a nice cycle, even without hitting the good greens. It did ease my nerves a bit and gave me a nice little break.Maybe the data from today will help ease your nerves! You see that he didn't got too low.![]()
I agree completely. Last night's shot of 1.75 wasn't enough and I was kicking myself for not giving the 2 units. I love the idea of the +11 test, that will show me that he is rising. I got all out of whack with the stalling and it isn't showing a true picture. I gave the 1.75 units this morning and I'll start the +11 pretest tonight and give the 2 units for his PM dose. If he goes too low with the 2 units, I'll try a skinny 2. It is so nice to have a plan to get back on track. Thank you!I'm glad you've had a couple of more relaxed cycles. And Rachel's reminder about looking beyond the numbers is an important one. You might even consider testing every two hours instead of every hour to give yourself some space to relax. Timmy is giving you some pretty consistent patterns at this point, and his big drop is usually between +3 and +4, so you could also just grab a +3.5 or +4, and then decide if you need the hours across the bottom of the cycle.
A couple of things I'm thinking from yesterday's cycles: it looks like 1) he prefers a little closer to 2u for the dose and 2) it's okay to shoot on those lower 200's.
I know that 2u gave you that lime green, so I can understand not wanting to go back there, but 1.75 doesn't look like it's quite enough. So maybe play around with a syringe and try to figure out something in between that you think you could draw consistently?
Rachel's idea to get a +11 might give some reassurance about the lower pre-shots. You've stalled enough to see that he's okay getting his full dose on those lower 200's. Remember that the no shot under 200 is when people are just starting out and don't have a lot of data or skill yet. Not that I'm saying to shoot on anything, but just that you can safely shoot on the numbers you've been getting without stalling. When you stall on one pre-shot, you're also more likely to be low on the next one because it hasn't been the full 12 hours yet, so it kind of creates a cycle of lows and stalls until you can get back on schedule.
As always though, taking care of our selves and our own stress levels is a very very important part of this journey, so please ignore any of this that raises your anxiety!
Just a guess. He bounced a little for AMPS from 183 even though that was >50% PMPS so may have gone below 151 after. 186 is definitely more than 50% drop from AMPS, possibly causing afternoon bounce.A bounce from what though?!? Even if he dropped after the 186, he should have still been in familiar numbers. Contraband is certainly an option - even a lost couple of kibbles from under the sofa could do it. Or also a squirrel (some exciting distraction that gets them amped up). Sometimes they just give puzzling numbers.
I was going to post that question today. I wanted to get 6 solid cycles at the 1.75 am and 2 pm. Do you think that his numbers over the past couple of days was a bounce? His numbers are confusing me now. Maybe that lime green 9 days ago was just a fluke and I should have held the dose longer. Shoulda, woulda, coulda, where is that crystal ball? I'll start 2 units with the am dose.Hi Susan! I think you can move that AM dose back up to 2.0u if you feel comfortable with that.
Thank you so much, Lisa. I was a bit apprehensive.The 273 and 278 are basically in the same range. I think he will be fine with the two units. You are a very diligent mamma and know what to do if he should drop a little low. Smoky did the same thing when he started on prozinc. His BG went up a bit at +2 and then started going down again by +4
I know! I have no idea. I did have to dose almost an hour late last night, stuck in traffic, and he was in the high yellows. Maybe he went lower yesterday afternoon. That was my thinking on doing the curve today. Ugh!Whoa. What was THAT?!?!?![]()
With his numbers today, it had to have been kibble smothered in gravy and honey and jelly beans and...Maybe he sneaks to the market while you're gone and eats all the kibble?![]()
I increased Timmy's am dose back to 2 units so that am and pm are the same. Kind of a reset. I am going to have to keep everything extremely consistent with no sudden changes. He felt just awful yesterday with those high numbers. He was doing really well before that lime green reduction. I have to get him back there.Looks like Timmy is in a busy bounce phase. Just keep doing what you're doing. Bouncy cats make it very challenging to assess a dose's effectiveness so with Teasel I paid a lot of attention to the lows I got on the less bouncy days to decide on dosing. I always gave the same dose AM and PM unless numbers warranted a tweak so I don't have much to offer on dosing differently AM and PM.
I like this plan, Susan. I'm a big fan of consistency for bouncy cats. If he throws you another lime green you know what to do.I increased Timmy's am dose back to 2 units so that am and pm are the same. Kind of a reset. I am going to have to keep everything extremely consistent with no sudden changes. He felt just awful yesterday with those high numbers. He was doing really well before that lime green reduction. I have to get him back there.
Okay. So he went hypo at 39. I'm still steering him. So 2 units is out now. I'm going to reduce his dose to 1.75 units am and pm. Did I miss his perfect dose? Should I reduce more? Over the past two days we have had both ends of the spectrum. Leaves me feeling a bit inept.I like this plan, Susan. I'm a big fan of consistency for bouncy cats. If he throws you another lime green you know what to do.Don't worry that he's going nowhere on ProZinc. I think you've seen positive effects. It's just that bouncy cats are very hard to deal with. A wise person on another forum said to me that it's less about the insulin and more about the cat.
Well son of a gun, Timmy!!Okay. So he went hypo at 39. I'm still steering him. So 2 units is out now. I'm going to reduce his dose to 1.75 units am and pm. Did I miss his perfect dose? Should I reduce more? Over the past two days we have had both ends of the spectrum. Leaves me feeling a bit inept.
Just tested and he is back up to 64 now. Still monitoring just to be sure.