The Switch to Prozinc, Part 2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Given last nights drop, I was thinking of giving 1.75 units tonight. We were doing 2 units at the PM dose to try to get his PM numbers down, but he dropped quicker than I would have liked last night. Thoughts?
 
Maybe a skinny 2u? (if it isn't too late)

His cycle last night is really what you're aiming for. It's hard to know if he would have gone too low without the LC food, or if he would have surfed safely. But you do kind of want those greens in the middle if you can get them. It does take some monitoring and nail biting though, so as always, if it's too stressful, it's okay to reduce.
 
Maybe a skinny 2u? (if it isn't too late)

His cycle last night is really what you're aiming for. It's hard to know if he would have gone too low without the LC food, or if he would have surfed safely. But you do kind of want those greens in the middle if you can get them. It does take some monitoring and nail biting though, so as always, if it's too stressful, it's okay to reduce.
Skinny 2.0 it is. He is doing so well and I don't want to mess that up. I know what you mean about giving the LC food last night. Maybe he would have stayed in the greens without it. My gut says no, but he keeps surprising me.;)
 
Lol...they are full of surprises! And it's always okay to go with your gut. There's only so much we can know from across the internet. Sometimes our mama-sense is powerful - which is why we can share opinions, but the final decision is always up to the person holding the syringe.
 
I'm calling it a fat 1.75 units. I probably need to think about getting different syringes so that I can fine tune it a bit better for future. Hopefully the slight reduction tonight wont break his stride. :)
 
Timmy's amps was 235. After stalling for 40 minutes he is now 229. He didn't come up at all. I can stall for another 20 minutes before I will have to dose him. What should that dose be? He keeps throwing me for a curve.
 
When you had a low pre-shot a couple of nights ago and reduced he went up -- so if it was me, I'd give the full dose (1.75) and then just monitor. If that makes you uncomfortable though, it's okay to reduce a little, but I wouldn't recommend reducing by very much since you have data that suggests he'll rise.

He is bouncing around right now, so it's harder to predict than it was a few days back. I do think he might have a more active cycle today since the past two have been flat. But it's also possible he isn't done with the flats. Oh, for a crystal ball....
 
When you had a low pre-shot a couple of nights ago and reduced he went up -- so if it was me, I'd give the full dose (1.75) and then just monitor. If that makes you uncomfortable though, it's okay to reduce a little, but I wouldn't recommend reducing by very much since you have data that suggests he'll rise.

He is bouncing around right now, so it's harder to predict than it was a few days back. I do think he might have a more active cycle today since the past two have been flat. But it's also possible he isn't done with the flats. Oh, for a crystal ball....
He is now at 258, so he is coming up. I gave him the full 1.75. I will monitor. I wish he would even out so my nerves could rest for a minute. ;)
 
Nice easy cycle today! I think this shows us that even on the lower 200's, you're still safe holding the dose.

At some point, that will (hopefully!) change and we'll have to be more careful, but at this point in his journey he's giving you nice predictable numbers in the middle of his cycle.
 
Maybe the data from today will help ease your nerves! You see that he didn't got too low. :)
It was a nice cycle, even without hitting the good greens. It did ease my nerves a bit and gave me a nice little break.

On one of the earlier posts you wrote that out kitties are more than a number. I wrote that on the front of his daily notebook. It makes me stop more and just spend time being with him and enjoying him, without testing. I just wanted to thank you for that reminder. :)
 
I gave 1.75 units tonight, which wasn't enough for his PM dose. :banghead: I stalled for an hour to get to the 273. He was originally 240. I'm stalling a lot now at his preshot times, which is something I really want to stop doing. ;)
 
You're so welcome Susan! I've needed that reminder in the past, so I like to pass it on to others when I see them heading to the same headspace I've been in!

Are you able to try to get a test in at +11 or so? I ask because you could do that as an alternative to stalling...test at +11 and then again at preshot time and it will help you see he's rising while not technically stalling...and you can move to not stalling over time then. :)
 
I'm glad you've had a couple of more relaxed cycles. And Rachel's reminder about looking beyond the numbers is an important one. You might even consider testing every two hours instead of every hour to give yourself some space to relax. Timmy is giving you some pretty consistent patterns at this point, and his big drop is usually between +3 and +4, so you could also just grab a +3.5 or +4, and then decide if you need the hours across the bottom of the cycle.

A couple of things I'm thinking from yesterday's cycles: it looks like 1) he prefers a little closer to 2u for the dose and 2) it's okay to shoot on those lower 200's.

I know that 2u gave you that lime green, so I can understand not wanting to go back there, but 1.75 doesn't look like it's quite enough. So maybe play around with a syringe and try to figure out something in between that you think you could draw consistently?

Rachel's idea to get a +11 might give some reassurance about the lower pre-shots. You've stalled enough to see that he's okay getting his full dose on those lower 200's. Remember that the no shot under 200 is when people are just starting out and don't have a lot of data or skill yet. Not that I'm saying to shoot on anything, but just that you can safely shoot on the numbers you've been getting without stalling. When you stall on one pre-shot, you're also more likely to be low on the next one because it hasn't been the full 12 hours yet, so it kind of creates a cycle of lows and stalls until you can get back on schedule.

As always though, taking care of our selves and our own stress levels is a very very important part of this journey, so please ignore any of this that raises your anxiety!
 
I'm glad you've had a couple of more relaxed cycles. And Rachel's reminder about looking beyond the numbers is an important one. You might even consider testing every two hours instead of every hour to give yourself some space to relax. Timmy is giving you some pretty consistent patterns at this point, and his big drop is usually between +3 and +4, so you could also just grab a +3.5 or +4, and then decide if you need the hours across the bottom of the cycle.

A couple of things I'm thinking from yesterday's cycles: it looks like 1) he prefers a little closer to 2u for the dose and 2) it's okay to shoot on those lower 200's.

I know that 2u gave you that lime green, so I can understand not wanting to go back there, but 1.75 doesn't look like it's quite enough. So maybe play around with a syringe and try to figure out something in between that you think you could draw consistently?

Rachel's idea to get a +11 might give some reassurance about the lower pre-shots. You've stalled enough to see that he's okay getting his full dose on those lower 200's. Remember that the no shot under 200 is when people are just starting out and don't have a lot of data or skill yet. Not that I'm saying to shoot on anything, but just that you can safely shoot on the numbers you've been getting without stalling. When you stall on one pre-shot, you're also more likely to be low on the next one because it hasn't been the full 12 hours yet, so it kind of creates a cycle of lows and stalls until you can get back on schedule.

As always though, taking care of our selves and our own stress levels is a very very important part of this journey, so please ignore any of this that raises your anxiety!
I agree completely. Last night's shot of 1.75 wasn't enough and I was kicking myself for not giving the 2 units. I love the idea of the +11 test, that will show me that he is rising. I got all out of whack with the stalling and it isn't showing a true picture. I gave the 1.75 units this morning and I'll start the +11 pretest tonight and give the 2 units for his PM dose. If he goes too low with the 2 units, I'll try a skinny 2. It is so nice to have a plan to get back on track. Thank you!
 
Just another something I have noticed with Maury and some other kitties. AM and PM cycles can behave differently so if I get a lower PMPS reading I'll only look at my previous PMPS readings at similar numbers and vice versus for AM :). Might apply to Timmy as well.
 
Timmy's +7 and +8 are 410/403, I tested this twice thinking a wonky strip. Then at +8 it is 447. Any ideas what is happening? I'm sure he didn't get into any dog food contraband too. :confused:
 
A bounce from what though?!? Even if he dropped after the 186, he should have still been in familiar numbers. Contraband is certainly an option - even a lost couple of kibbles from under the sofa could do it. Or also a squirrel (some exciting distraction that gets them amped up). Sometimes they just give puzzling numbers.
 
Just a couple of weird numbers. It happens. Try not to get worried about them. It's the patterns over time you pay attention to, not individual numbers - unless they're lime green!
 
A bounce from what though?!? Even if he dropped after the 186, he should have still been in familiar numbers. Contraband is certainly an option - even a lost couple of kibbles from under the sofa could do it. Or also a squirrel (some exciting distraction that gets them amped up). Sometimes they just give puzzling numbers.
Just a guess. He bounced a little for AMPS from 183 even though that was >50% PMPS so may have gone below 151 after. 186 is definitely more than 50% drop from AMPS, possibly causing afternoon bounce.
But could also be dog food contraband from his secret stash or "look a squirrel" syndrome :smuggrin:
 
Timmy's PMPS was 497. I gave 2 units. I have also spent the last hour, like a crazy woman, checking everywhere, under things, moving things, and vacuuming just to make totally sure there are no pieces of dog food contraband anywhere. I will try not to over think it too much, but it concerns me. On the plus side, the house is really clean. ;)
 
Lol! Try not to drive yourself too crazy. If there even was anything, it's probably all gobbled up by now! ;) And most likely it's what Kris said anyway -- just one of those things.

Hopefully his numbers will come back down soon!
 
That is odd! But yeah, there's no way to tell for sure what happened....my guess is it's a bit of "oh look a squirrel" syndrome lol. Like everyone said...this is just a few numbers. I wouldn't worry. :)
 
Hi Susan! I think you can move that AM dose back up to 2.0u if you feel comfortable with that.
I was going to post that question today. I wanted to get 6 solid cycles at the 1.75 am and 2 pm. Do you think that his numbers over the past couple of days was a bounce? His numbers are confusing me now. Maybe that lime green 9 days ago was just a fluke and I should have held the dose longer. Shoulda, woulda, coulda, where is that crystal ball? I'll start 2 units with the am dose.
 
Right? If only we could find it!!!

That's how this whole thing works: try something, see what happens, try something else....and on and on. It does look like the lime green might have just been one of those things, but the only way to know is to do what you did. Lower and watch and then raise again. You're doing great, it's just part of the process. :rolleyes:
 
Timmy gave me 193 @ +11. He came up to 278 at shot time and I gave 2 units. That +11 is very helpful in giving me confidence to dose the yellow. I am, however, second guessing myself with the 2 units.:nailbiting: I will be monitoring, of course, but was that the correct dose for 278? The closest time he was 273 and I gave 1.75.
 
The 273 and 278 are basically in the same range. I think he will be fine with the two units. You are a very diligent mamma and know what to do if he should drop a little low. Smoky did the same thing when he started on prozinc. His BG went up a bit at +2 and then started going down again by +4
 
Last edited:
The 273 and 278 are basically in the same range. I think he will be fine with the two units. You are a very diligent mamma and know what to do if he should drop a little low. Smoky did the same thing when he started on prozinc. His BG went up a bit at +2 and then started going down again by +4
Thank you so much, Lisa. I was a bit apprehensive.
 
Looks like Timmy is in a busy bounce phase. Just keep doing what you're doing. Bouncy cats make it very challenging to assess a dose's effectiveness so with Teasel I paid a lot of attention to the lows I got on the less bouncy days to decide on dosing. I always gave the same dose AM and PM unless numbers warranted a tweak so I don't have much to offer on dosing differently AM and PM.
 
Looks like Timmy is in a busy bounce phase. Just keep doing what you're doing. Bouncy cats make it very challenging to assess a dose's effectiveness so with Teasel I paid a lot of attention to the lows I got on the less bouncy days to decide on dosing. I always gave the same dose AM and PM unless numbers warranted a tweak so I don't have much to offer on dosing differently AM and PM.
I increased Timmy's am dose back to 2 units so that am and pm are the same. Kind of a reset. I am going to have to keep everything extremely consistent with no sudden changes. He felt just awful yesterday with those high numbers. He was doing really well before that lime green reduction. I have to get him back there.
 
I increased Timmy's am dose back to 2 units so that am and pm are the same. Kind of a reset. I am going to have to keep everything extremely consistent with no sudden changes. He felt just awful yesterday with those high numbers. He was doing really well before that lime green reduction. I have to get him back there.
I like this plan, Susan. I'm a big fan of consistency for bouncy cats. If he throws you another lime green you know what to do. :) Don't worry that he's going nowhere on ProZinc. I think you've seen positive effects. It's just that bouncy cats are very hard to deal with. A wise person on another forum said to me that it's less about the insulin and more about the cat.
 
I like this plan, Susan. I'm a big fan of consistency for bouncy cats. If he throws you another lime green you know what to do. :) Don't worry that he's going nowhere on ProZinc. I think you've seen positive effects. It's just that bouncy cats are very hard to deal with. A wise person on another forum said to me that it's less about the insulin and more about the cat.
Okay. So he went hypo at 39. I'm still steering him. So 2 units is out now. I'm going to reduce his dose to 1.75 units am and pm. Did I miss his perfect dose? Should I reduce more? Over the past two days we have had both ends of the spectrum. Leaves me feeling a bit inept.

Just tested and he is back up to 64 now. Still monitoring just to be sure.
 
Last edited:
Okay. So he went hypo at 39. I'm still steering him. So 2 units is out now. I'm going to reduce his dose to 1.75 units am and pm. Did I miss his perfect dose? Should I reduce more? Over the past two days we have had both ends of the spectrum. Leaves me feeling a bit inept.

Just tested and he is back up to 64 now. Still monitoring just to be sure.
Well son of a gun, Timmy!! :confused: I've had this happen with Teasel occasionally. You could try a skinny 2 u - up to the 2 u line and then a little past it so it's less than 2u but not quite as low as 1.75 u. Even if it's not totally accurate, aim for consistency.

Try not to get discouraged, Susan. You've been blessed with a tricky kitty but you'll find "work arounds" that might not be ideal but will get his numbers down and keep him safe.
 
Last edited:
Well all right then Timmy! I know it makes you feel bad, Susan, but really, you're doing extremely well with a tricky kitty...there's no way anyone could foretell that hypo today, so don't let it get you down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top