Sue and Oliver (GA) said:I thought you gave one unit this am. You gave 1.75? I hope today isn't another bumpy, long ride, Sev. That was an agressive dose.
We knew he would be high this am after 24 hours without a shot - but that is an "artificial" high because of no insulin. Not a usual high when you have been giving insulin every 12 hours. That is why we suggested a reduced dose.
I know you will test. Assume you have some wet gravy food around you can feed if you need it.
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:Does Kitty travel well? Maybe he could ride shotgun with you if you have to go to a job site?
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:Karo syrup is a quick spiker but doesn't last long so if needed, you can either rub some on the gums or mix in some high carb food. Food is what will help keep the numbers up longer. Vanilla ice cream works well also and a lot of cats love it. Laxatone or NutriCal, both come in a tube, loaded with molasses, smear a glob on tongue, melts quickly. Hope will eat it right from the tube, she loves the stuff. Mishka, she loves ice cream. I've played the battle with the insulin several times and several times it is a tug of war. Get them up a little, insulin takes them down. I also have never had either of those two cats rebound and run sky high. No matter what I would give, once they settled and stopped dropping they would slowly work their way back up to a normal ps.
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:You never syringe karo, molasses, etc. you rub it on the gums. Don't think Kitty would like the molasses too well either. Syringing could aspirate a cat when it is that thick stuff. You can also use honey to rub on the gums.
Maybe get a big carrier so he is confined while truck is moving and loose while you are working? Set up a litter box, bring food, meter, etc.? IF there is ever an accident, Kitty is not safely secured and if not injured, could escape and be gone. There are many of us that not only use carriers, we seatbelt them in.
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:Sev, I meant to leave Kitty loose in the truck......not out and on the job site ;-)
Rob & Harley said:Depending on what his PMPS is you might want to think about cutting back on the dose. If his PMPS is in the 300 again I would cut back.
carlinsc said:Then cut back more. Won't know till you get there
Carl
carlinsc said:If the line is 300....
How does 1.5 if over, 1.25 if under sound to everyone?
carl
Sev said:If you look at the chart. Since I started the 175 the numbers are trending better. The % of 400's and 500's has dropped.
Perhaps doing a cycle of 2.0 if the numbers are high tomorrow it might be worth a try.
Look for repeatability before panicking or making any important decision.
carlinsc said:Theresa,
Sev's got a dry sense of humor! I'm sure he's joking.
Carl
carlinsc said:Just wanted to touch on this again.....it's the thread title.
This morning's number was not a bounce. We use that word way too much.
The AMPS was an expected number due to no insulin last night. I actually expected it to be higher.
Think "warranted" and "unwarranted", not "bounce".
This morning's number was an expected increase, not due to any low numbers, but to a lack of insulin. The dose this morning was warranted by the higher number. It was also based on the fact that this morning's number was higher than the prior morning when he went low on the same dose. Today was actually an improvement on yesterday... He got more drop, off a higher number, with the same dose.
If he's high in the morning, don't automatically assume it is due to today's green. It may or may not be. All of these numbers are just numbers. They are isolated moments in the life of Kitty. You can't make decisions based on things just happening one time. Look for trends, look for patterns. Look for percentages instead of numbers when you are looking at how much "drop" you get. Forget weeks ago. Kitty is not the same kitty he was then... he looks to be getting better. What worked then might not work now. What didn't work then might work tomorrow.
Dr. Pierson, who is a lot wiser than any of us, put it this way. I'll keep posting it every day. I might even add it to my signature (except I've maxxed out on the 255 character limit, so I would have to replace something else)
Look for repeatability before panicking or making any important decision.
Words to live by, IMO.
carlinsc said:Sev said:If you look at the chart. Since I started the 175 the numbers are trending better. The % of 400's and 500's has dropped.
Perhaps doing a cycle of 2.0 if the numbers are high tomorrow it might be worth a try.
Sev,
There's nothing on his SS that indicates that an increase is warranted. I'd say the highest number you should be counting to at this point is 1.5. I think the 1.75 has outlived its usefullness.
Carl
carlinsc said:Define "low", or "The Vet feels the way to approach this is to get the numbers down".....
did he put a number on it? Can't you just show him the last few days of numbers on the SS? Kitty's numbers have come down.
He understands the connection between infection and elevated BG, right?
Carl
carlinsc said:I can't say what is right for Kitty. Bob had non-equal doses occasionally AM and PM. It isn't something usually done though. You won't know what "a" dose does on a repeating basis, however, unless you repeat it, right? Maybe on 1.25, the patterns will not be the same as they were on 1.75. If he's improving, then you'd expect different results than when he was worse off.
To bring back an old line...... sometimes, you have to just let it be a deck, Sev. Do a regular dose and see what happens. Don't sprint when jogging is indicated.
Carl
The Vet feels the way to approach this is to get the numbers down so that Kitty's teeth can be cleaned so that the infection will subside.
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:The Vet feels the way to approach this is to get the numbers down so that Kitty's teeth can be cleaned so that the infection will subside.
I just don't understand your vet and his thinking. I worked with one cat, several years ago, where the vet wouldn't do a dental till the numbers came down. She brought the cat to the vet I was using at that time, dental was done and badly needed to be done, and kitty went off insulin. His mouth was playing havoc with his bg.
His numbers are looking good today on that 1.25. He should be able to get the dental with those numbers. Heck, you can't keep a diabetic kitty under 100 from amps to pmps safely with insulin. Who knows.....getting his mouth fixed just might help him go OTJ. I don't know if he has a bad tooth or where or what the infection is but has the vet considered that it might be hurting Kitty every now and then?
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:Are you using the OTU or the ReliOn? Reason for asking.....OTU is known to run higher once it gets up into the high 300's. Have you tried testing him with both meters to get an idea? Insulin runs out, he shoots back up. Some cats go back up slowly, some don't. Did he snack on any food after that 70+ number? Once the insulin has reached peak, any food given is going to shoot them back up. Stick with the 1.25....today was a good day.