? Taco AMPS 270 Emergency Vet Trip

Brandi & Taco

Member Since 2020
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-2-taco-amps-394-3-307-6-303-10-376.230417/#post-2578927

So I upper Taco's dose to 3.5 units yesterday morning after holding 3 units for 6 cycles with little change.... we finally got our first yellow AMPS number today!

BUT now he's having problems urinating so I will be taking him to the ER vet in a bit - all the vets around here are either full or they close in about 30 minutes and I honestly don't trust the vet that diagnosed him last month. :(
He's been trying to pee everywhere and only a tiny bit comes out. From what I've read it sounds more like a blockage than a UTI???
There was pee in his litter box when I cleaned it this morning so this is very recent.
He's still eating and drinking water and looks okay though.
And advise or experience with this?
 
Yes. It can be an emergency. Max blocked once. Didn’t go in morning. Rushed home from work in afternoon and he was in distress. Nearly lost him. It can be as simple as a UTI or a stone or partial or complete blockage. You are right to go to the ER I hope it’s nothing serious.
 
We are here now. I already took him in and now waiting in the car while they examine him. Fingers crossed that it's not serious or stupid expensive. Sigh.
 
I'm sorry to hear that...I hope it's a simple UTI and they can put a catheter in to relieve his bladder...then figure out what the problem is.

Have you tried D-Mannose for bladder issues? You may want to ask here how much to use for Taco, but it's helpful for those who suffer chronic UTI's.

I sure hope things go ok this afternoon for you both!
 
I hope Taco is doing better, poor guy. I for one find sitting in the car incredibly frustrating, they should at least set it up as a mobile visit so we can ask/answer questions during the exam.
 
I had the same issue with my civvie (non diabetic) cat. Nothing but dime sized clumps. It was idiopathic cystitis. It can be painful. Glad you got him into the vet. :bighug: Treatment wasn't horribly expensive. Tended to happen on weekends when vets were closed/closing. :rolleyes:
 
So no blockage and no signs of a UTI but they are sending his urine in for a culture. Blood work all came back okay, including kidneys. The only thing doc found during an ultrasound is possible crystals in his bladder. Also said he's dehydrated, which I don't get because he drinks a lot of water. So I still don't know why he was having such a hard time peeing this morning. :( Could crystals cause that?? Four hours waiting in my car and $760 later, he just got some fluids. Lol. I'm glad he's okay though! He recommended a vet to follow up with since I told him I fired the vet who he was seeing.
Vet was very impressed with my knowledge on diabetes so I have this board to thank!!
 
Good thing the kidneys are OK and likely no UTI. They did the complete set of diagnotics! And bonus on the possible new vet.

Looks like it could be cystitis. Crystals can cause the problem, my guy had a few crystals along with cystitis. Are you adding water to his food? Any chance Taco is the nervous type? I found Feliway helped my guy who was a semi feral. I also switched to lower phosphorus food. Dr. Lisa has lots to say on nutrition for urinary issues: https://catinfo.org/feline-urinary-tract-diseases/
 
Crystals definitely can cause it. I’m glad there’s no blockage. Max was just 5 and healthy when he blocked and it was an emergency. Better to play it safe. He only blocked that one time but I made several trips to the ER after it if he didn’t pee soon enough. He was a dry food eater when it happened and only peed twice a day. It happened so quickly too. Fine one minute and less than 24 hours blocked. They thought crystals but the vet who treated him pierced his bladder and he had surgery the next day.
 
Looks like it could be cystitis. Crystals can cause the problem, my guy had a few crystals along with cystitis. Are you adding water to his food? Any chance Taco is the nervous type? I found Feliway helped my guy who was a semi feral. I also switched to lower phosphorus food. Dr. Lisa has lots to say on nutrition for urinary issues: https://catinfo.org/feline-urinary-tract-diseases/
No I haven't been adding water to his food but I will start doing that. I honestly thought he was drinking enough. He has one of those cat fountains and he loves it. Thanks for the advise! I'll check out the link. :)
 
Back
Top