Taco 9/25/18 (.25 reduction)AMPS 84,+1 109,+2 67,SS updated , exhausted , see thread for link to SS

Great with getting the link in there! With the subject line, include Taco's BGs for the day - is AMPS and his +1. That way folks can see at a quick glance where he's at.
 
It looks good! You could take out the "--", and as the you get more tests through the day today you'll probably eventually want to eliminate the "on watch today - long night" text so that you have room in your subject line for his current numbers.

And that +1 is great...I would get a +2 next. With the lower numbers he had today, I would definitely stick with hourly testing for a while, until we see where he plans to go with this cycle.
 
Well you had a crazy morning!!! I’m so glad Sandy and Amy were here to help you.

When you have time today, it’s really important for you to record on the SS what you fed. I started to do a recommendation on feeding because I didn’t see it on the SS but when I read yesterday’s condo, I see Sandy and Amy did have you feeding the numbers I would have suggested you feed. It’s important to be on your SS.

I will just say one thing and that’s that you don’t want to feed HC food or gravy at the end of the cycle unless you plan to skip the shot or stall long enough (2 hours) so the HC is not affecting the number you are shooting. In this case, once you fed the HC, I would have not shot until two hours later.

As you can see, the food elevated his BG but he’s come back down again as soon as the HC has worn off...... and you are still dealing with the depot from the higher dose.

I know these numbers are nerve wracking but guess what? These are GREAT numbers and he’s finally seeing a dose that works for him. Let’s hope the increase just kicked him in the panties enough :woot::woot: to get him to do well on the reduced dose.:):bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

You are doing an awesome job! Sleep well.
 
@Marje and Gracie @Amy&TrixieCat I can't tell you how exhausted I am, I cannot fill out anymore besides what I have on my SS, all feedings are there, YES, they did help (I think) keep his numbers decent, but I pulled food @ +9.5, so we will see what +11 , 1 hour before shot time brings, I will need help with deciding what to do or a plan,in case no one is around , PLEASE I can update my Title to say SS updated, see info there.
 
You did awesome today and Taco surfed beautifully! Given how exhausted you are, I have to admit I’m not completely sure what you suggest for you tonight, but I have put some feelers out to other members.

If you were to shoot, how much do you think you’d be able to monitor? That’s just something to consider while trying to determine the plan for tonight.
 
You did awesome today and Taco surfed beautifully! Given how exhausted you are, I have to admit I’m not completely sure what you suggest for you tonight, but I have put some feelers out to other members.

If you were to shoot, how much do you think you’d be able to monitor? That’s just something to consider while trying to determine the plan for tonight.
He's at 112 @ +11, so tha's more or less a reading without food and Moriah (my daughter) and I are confident in that number and are ready to shoot 2Us at shot time , perhaps 15 minutes late as long as his BG is >100 and he at least starts to eat a 3-5 carb dinner. I think if his BG is <99, we will skip. Does that make sense? No matter which one, he will be monitored all night. Thoughts please? :)
 
What a great run today...16 solid hours (so far) in the healing numbers!!! A Wonderful surf!!!

I too am not sure how to best proceed at this point. The +11 and +12 will hopefully make the path clearer.

I can speak from experience that this is one of those times (and there will likely be more) that change requires you take things one test and one shot at a time.
The unknown variables right now are how much the depot is contributing and if a bounce is on the way...
 
He's at 112 @ +11, so tha's more or less a reading without food and Moriah (my daughter) and I are confident in that number and are ready to shoot 2Us at shot time , perhaps 15 minutes late as long as his BG is >100 and he at least starts to eat a 3-5 carb dinner. I think if his BG is <99, we will skip. Does that make sense? No matter which one, he will be monitored all night. Thoughts please? :)
Could you stall more than 15 mins?
 
I think Sandy’s idea of making sure he’s trending up before making a final decision is a good one. We want to be sure both he and you are safe!
I understand, but, right now he's pacing back and forth for his dinner, so that's where I'm lost, I always do everything very quickly at his 10A & 10P , I test at 10 minutes before the hour , then feed and while he's eating I shoot. So, if I stall him from food, I believe his numbers will drop. Does that make sense?
 
106 @ 11.5. Same number so he’s flat. Keep in mind that Levemir can also get a second dip although this isn’t one.

Cindy....I can be available to help you until +5 and then I’m toast. The question only you can answer is whether you can test tonight or not. There might be periods that you can try and sleep test, he might go up into a bounce, he might come right back down when he onsets, or he might have enough carryover and overlap to stay flat. So the decision is yours. There is absolutely no issue if you feel you need to skip the shot and sleep.
 
Last edited:
106 @ 11.5. Same number so he’s flat. Keep in mind that Levemir can also get a second dip although this isn’t one.

Cindy....I can be available to help you until +5 and then I’m toast. The question only you can answer is whether you can test tonight or not. There might be periods that you can try and sleep test, he might go up into a bounce, he might come right back down when he onsets, or he might have enough carryover and overlap to stay flat. So the decision is yours. There is absolutely no issue if you feel you need to skip the shot and sleep.
Yes, we can test tonight, he was tested all day every 30 minutes, but, only documented the on the hour :) He just licked his plate clean and shooting now at 10:20P
 
After you shoot, let’s give him a two hour break and test at +2. Would you be comfortable with that? I looked at his SS and don’t see one single time when you tested at +1 that he was lower. And with lev, you would “expect” the number to come up. No promises but he needs a testing break.
Yes, I agree, testing every hour was extreme ;) but today every 30 minutes is insane, but, I just HAD to know, and he never minds it so it makes it easier, but, YES! at +2, will do :) Thank you !
 
Taco had a rough night with low BG, earned a .25 reduction, numbers after his AMPS may have been influenced by the couple of Teaspoons of 17 carb gravy, food witheld at +9.5. Dis our usual routine at 10P, got 2U levemir , 20 minutes delayed, waited for him to finish his meal, then shot.
At this time he seems happy and doing well, will test again at +4.
 
@Marje and Gracie You think I'm safe now doing a +4?, or should I go back to the every hour, ? Just to explain on what I've been doing for probably 1 year, is, Taco got his bigger meal at 10A and 10P, during the day he would get about 1/8 can of friskies 3 times, then at 10P, he would get his bigger meal, bigger meal is equivalent to 5.5 oz, usually he didnt finish, around +4 in the night he would get about 1 oz of his lc food, then at +5 he would get 1 can or equivalent to 5.5oz to carry him throughout the night. ALL food was mixed with equal part of water, EVERY time. Then our day would start again the same, my daughter doing the AM, up until I got up,about 3-4 oclock, because I stay up all night with my 43 yo handiccaped son that has no idea when it's time to sleep. That's what we are used to and there's no other way around it, not after 43 years ;)
 
Yes a +4 is fine and if he’s up at +4 by quite a bit, I’d let it go for several hours. I’ll still be awake at +4 so if you’ll post, I’ll help you on when to test next.

Thanks for sharing the info. I understand. Right niw, that feeding schedule is fine but sometimes they need a little fine tuning.

And thank you for moving your post here :):bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yes a +4 is fine and if he’s up at +4 by quite a bit, I’d let it go for several hours. I’ll still be awake at +4 so if you’ll post, I’ll help you on when to test next.

Thanks for sharing the info. I understand. Right niw, that feeding schedule is fine but sometimes they need a little fine tuning.

And thank you for moving your post here :):bighug::bighug::bighug:

My daughter just came in the room and let me know what his +3 bg was ,266, she didnt know what we had spoken about, so, so much for that one , I'll do a +5 , and I think we will be fine for the night.Thank you :)
 
You’re welcome!
We have a BG at +5 of 268, I think we'll be ok for tonite, will get a couple more in before the AM,probably a +7 or +8 and then a +11. If all goes well , and Taco decides to behave, we will see you tomorrow, actually today for us. EST, Thank you all, now on to set the clock :) Good Nite! :)
 
We have a BG at +5 of 268, I think we'll be ok for tonite, will get a couple more in before the AM,probably a +7 or +8 and then a +11. If all goes well , and Taco decides to behave, we will see you tomorrow, actually today for us. EST, Thank you all, now on to set the clock :) Good Nite! :)
Sounds like a reasonable plan he is quite a bit up from his PS at +5, at this point with Lev we would have expected the shot you gave to have onset, so if the cycle was going to be active you might see a drop in the numbers somewhere at this point, but he appears to be flat and yellow from his +3, my guess is that this is a bounce, so it wouldn't surprise me to see him still in yellow at +7+8. (but you know cats, just don't let him read this message or he'll have something to say about it), but with lev you would see them typically nadir at around +8 to +10 so it is sensible to get a test somewhere there.
 
Back
Top