
to get him to do well on the reduced dose.






He's at 112 @ +11, so tha's more or less a reading without food and Moriah (my daughter) and I are confident in that number and are ready to shoot 2Us at shot time , perhaps 15 minutes late as long as his BG is >100 and he at least starts to eat a 3-5 carb dinner. I think if his BG is <99, we will skip. Does that make sense? No matter which one, he will be monitored all night. Thoughts please?You did awesome today and Taco surfed beautifully! Given how exhausted you are, I have to admit I’m not completely sure what you suggest for you tonight, but I have put some feelers out to other members.
If you were to shoot, how much do you think you’d be able to monitor? That’s just something to consider while trying to determine the plan for tonight.
Could you stall more than 15 mins?He's at 112 @ +11, so tha's more or less a reading without food and Moriah (my daughter) and I are confident in that number and are ready to shoot 2Us at shot time , perhaps 15 minutes late as long as his BG is >100 and he at least starts to eat a 3-5 carb dinner. I think if his BG is <99, we will skip. Does that make sense? No matter which one, he will be monitored all night. Thoughts please?![]()
I couldCould you stall more than 15 mins?
I understand, but, right now he's pacing back and forth for his dinner, so that's where I'm lost, I always do everything very quickly at his 10A & 10P , I test at 10 minutes before the hour , then feed and while he's eating I shoot. So, if I stall him from food, I believe his numbers will drop. Does that make sense?I think Sandy’s idea of making sure he’s trending up before making a final decision is a good one. We want to be sure both he and you are safe!
His dental went well, he had 4 teeth pulled and took AB for 2 weeks after at my request to the vet.He is just about 1 month out from the dental.
How did the dental go? was he on antibiotics afterwards?
Yes, we can test tonight, he was tested all day every 30 minutes, but, only documented the on the hour106 @ 11.5. Same number so he’s flat. Keep in mind that Levemir can also get a second dip although this isn’t one.
Cindy....I can be available to help you until +5 and then I’m toast. The question only you can answer is whether you can test tonight or not. There might be periods that you can try and sleep test, he might go up into a bounce, he might come right back down when he onsets, or he might have enough carryover and overlap to stay flat. So the decision is yours. There is absolutely no issue if you feel you need to skip the shot and sleep.
Yes, I agree, testing every hour was extremeAfter you shoot, let’s give him a two hour break and test at +2. Would you be comfortable with that? I looked at his SS and don’t see one single time when you tested at +1 that he was lower. And with lev, you would “expect” the number to come up. No promises but he needs a testing break.
You’re welcome. See you at +2.Yes, I agree, testing every hour was extremebut today every 30 minutes is insane, but, I just HAD to know, and he never minds it so it makes it easier, but, YES! at +2, will do
Thank you !



Yes a +4 is fine and if he’s up at +4 by quite a bit, I’d let it go for several hours. I’ll still be awake at +4 so if you’ll post, I’ll help you on when to test next.
Thanks for sharing the info. I understand. Right niw, that feeding schedule is fine but sometimes they need a little fine tuning.
And thank you for moving your post here![]()
You’re welcome!My daughter just came in the room and let me know what his +3 bg was ,266, she didnt know what we had spoken about, so, so much for that one , I'll do a +5 , and I think we will be fine for the night.Thank you![]()
We have a BG at +5 of 268, I think we'll be ok for tonite, will get a couple more in before the AM,probably a +7 or +8 and then a +11. If all goes well , and Taco decides to behave, we will see you tomorrow, actually today for us. EST, Thank you all, now on to set the clockYou’re welcome!
Sounds like a reasonable plan he is quite a bit up from his PS at +5, at this point with Lev we would have expected the shot you gave to have onset, so if the cycle was going to be active you might see a drop in the numbers somewhere at this point, but he appears to be flat and yellow from his +3, my guess is that this is a bounce, so it wouldn't surprise me to see him still in yellow at +7+8. (but you know cats, just don't let him read this message or he'll have something to say about it), but with lev you would see them typically nadir at around +8 to +10 so it is sensible to get a test somewhere there.We have a BG at +5 of 268, I think we'll be ok for tonite, will get a couple more in before the AM,probably a +7 or +8 and then a +11. If all goes well , and Taco decides to behave, we will see you tomorrow, actually today for us. EST, Thank you all, now on to set the clockGood Nite!
![]()