Taco 10/14 see first post for BG numbers,tough day !!

Did Taco have his famotidine this morning? I ask because he's had an awful lot of food he isn't necessarily used to today.
Yes, he had his famotidine, actually, he's really hasnt had all that much. It's been 1 teaspoon of gravy every 30 minutes, then that 1 TSP of FF flaked tuna. Usually by now he's had about 8 oz of food and 8 oz of water. All teaspoons today have been gravy except for the one tuna TSP.Oh, and the 1 1/2 oz of salmon, the other food he wouldnt eat, went in trash. Thanks for sticking around, be back in a minute.
 
Cindy, I have to dash out the door to pick someone up from the out-of-town bus. Fifteen minutes each way, so I should be back in 40 minutes tops. You have been doing a fantastic job keeping Taco safe today. Keep Taco surfing with LC or gravy as long as you can. Anything between 50-150 are healing numbers.

I'll tag a few people to see if they can keep you company for a bit.
@Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) @Larry and Kitties @Amy&TrixieCat @Pamela & Amethyst @CassAndGordy
 
Cindy, I have to dash out the door to pick someone up from the out-of-town bus. Fifteen minutes each way, so I should be back in 40 minutes tops. You have been doing a fantastic job keeping Taco safe today. Keep Taco surfing with LC or gravy as long as you can. Anything between 50-150 are healing numbers.

I'll tag a few people to see if they can keep you company for a bit.
@Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) @Larry and Kitties @Amy&TrixieCat @Pamela & Amethyst @CassAndGordy
OK, thank you, hope someone comes along :bighug:
 
Oh yes, he is. He wanted your attention, and he got it.
Seems like you've been doing an amazing job of steering with the help of everyone here.
 
Looks like nadir has been around +7. Given shot was 1 hour late I'm assuming +7 / +8 for nadir today. I will watch for your +7 number.
 
Thank you so much !! Gave 1/2 TEASPOON honey 8 minutes ago, when do I test again, 15 or 30 minutes ?

I would wait on more honey or food for now. Let's check at the +7. Do I understand that +7 is indeed 7 hours from your shot time today or is it different because the shot was late?
 
I would wait on more honey or food for now. Let's check at the +7. Do I understand that +7 is indeed 7 hours from your shot time today or is it different because the shot was late?
The +7 ,7 hours from his shot time today, I'm documenting real PLUS times for his shot today.
 
I think Wendy had mentioned you want to wait 30 minutes after giving honey to test.
Found this online:
The study found that 75g of honey raised blood sugar and insulin levels in people without diabetes within 30 minutes
 
Great! 76 is a good safe number so you have done everything right and now know how to get his attention.

The action now is to wait 30 min and re-test. What we are looking for here to to confirm he won't drop too low as the honey begins to wear off. So... take a break, but don't let your guard down. Be back here in 30 min to report a +7.5 number.
 
Great! 76 is a good safe number so you have done everything right and now know how to get his attention.

The action now is to wait 30 min and re-test. What we are looking for here to to confirm he won't drop too low as the honey begins to wear off. So... take a break, but don't let your guard down. Be back here in 30 min to report a +7.5 number.

20 minutes here , not 30 ;)
 
I was thinking while I was out.

It is not too early to start asking experienced Lev user about tonight's dosage (keeping in mind that there are fewer people to watch late at night). I only have theoretical knowledge of Lev. I'd would want advice from a pro.

1. no shot - to drain the depot and give you a night's sleep
2. a one time BCS (big chicken shot - to drain the depot but still keep some of the momentum
 
I was thinking while I was out.

It is not too early to start asking experienced Lev user about tonight's dosage (keeping in mind that there are fewer people to watch late at night). I only have theoretical knowledge of Lev. I'd would want advice from a pro.

1. no shot - to drain the depot and give you a night's sleep
2. a one time BCS (big chicken shot - to drain the depot but still keep some of the momentum

I'm looking for the +7.5, but while we wait - who can we tag for experienced lev dose guidance? I like the idea of a BCS and would do that with Lantus, but can't advise re: lev.
 
I was thinking while I was out.

It is not too early to start asking experienced Lev user about tonight's dosage (keeping in mind that there are fewer people to watch late at night). I only have theoretical knowledge of Lev. I'd would want advice from a pro.

1. no shot - to drain the depot and give you a night's sleep
2. a one time BCS (big chicken shot - to drain the depot but still keep some of the momentum
YES! I'm already worried about that, I had to use the honey once, 1/2 tsp. I dont know anyone on here , as I just came back not too long ago. Any Ideas?
 
OK good. Hold for now because 77 remains a safe number and we have seen no further drop. Next test is in 30 min to monitor further to confirm safe number and determine if you have stopped the drop or if it is starting again.

Yes - BCS is a large reduction in dose given for a reason such as depot drain or because you need sleep.

If you are comfortable taking down the 911 now, it might be good to change it to a question re: lev dose advice.
 
I am sorry I missed the tag earlier... I am actually out at an event, so I can't be super watchful. But it looks like you've caught a few other Lev users attention.

You're doing a great job Cindy!
 
Looking at your spreadsheet, it looks like Taco is fond of a double dip cycle. A minor drop mid cycle and the usual Lev drop at the end of the cycle. Just putting this out there for any Lev users who look in.
 
The purpose of 911 is to draws eyes in the case of a medical emergency. Taco is surfing nicely and you have plenty of eyes, time to remove the 911.

A BCS could be something like half the regular dose, for one time only.
I do feel like I had a medical emergency, I have kept Tacos BG up for 12 hours with high carb gravy and honey once, I'm sorry if I caused you any problems. He started his day with a 46 and the high carb gravy did nothing, I'm sorry again :(
 
If you are asking about your new dose going forward, Taco is a long term diabetic. Been diabetic over a year. According to TR, that means holding the dose until he goes under 40, or one week in solid green numbers. So, going back up to 3.0 units. An argument could be made to take the reduction if he was hard to bring up, but other than his late nadir for the PM cycle, he has been above 50 all day. Thanks to your diligence. However, if you need sleep, a half dose, something like 1.5 units, might give you a break. Or skip if you really need to sleep. Shooting something could still mean an active cycle.
Looking at your spreadsheet, it looks like Taco is fond of a double dip cycle. A minor drop mid cycle and the usual Lev drop at the end of the cycle. Just putting this out there for any Lev users who look in.
@Red & Rover (GA) I am not seeing the double dip, can you point me to an example cycle? What you could be seeing is a drop at onset, then going down more towards nadir. A double dip is a second dip after the nadir, but not as low as the nadir.
 
If you are asking about your new dose going forward, Taco is a long term diabetic. Been diabetic over a year. According to TR, that means holding the dose until he goes under 40, or one week in solid green numbers. So, going back up to 3.0 units. An argument could be made to take the reduction if he was hard to bring up, but other than his late nadir for the PM cycle, he has been above 50 all day. Thanks to your diligence. However, if you need sleep, a half dose, something like 1.5 units, might give you a break. Or skip if you really need to sleep. Shooting something could still mean an active cycle.

@Red & Rover (GA) I am not seeing the double dip, can you point me to an example cycle? What you could be seeing is a drop at onset, then going down more towards nadir. A double dip is a second dip after the nadir, but not as low as the nadir.
He has been over 50 all day because of gravy every 30 minutes, and honey, if I had to go to work , I would have come home to a deceased cat :( anyways, I'll figure out what to do, maybe I need to switch protocols, because I will not let him go below 40.
 
Back
Top