Taco 10/14 see first post for BG numbers,tough day !!

Cindy&Taco

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...3-pmps-248-3-311-5-259-11-63-11-75-46.204813/

Need help please, already gave 2 tsp 13 carb
+11 63
+11.5 49 ( 2) teaspoon 13 carb
+11.75 46 (2)TSP 17 carb,
AMPS 55, (2TSP) low carb
Post 118
Before AMPS +11 63, +11.5 49, + 11.75 46
Taco 10/14 AMPS 55,+.25 59, +.50 72,+ .75 74,(+1 89 Shot reduced dose 2.75u) +1.50 65,+2 53,+3 70,+ 3.50 65,+4 58,+4.50 55,+5 65,+5.50 70,+6 61,+6.50 54,+7 76,+7.5 77,+8 80,+8.5 80,+9 77,+ 9.5 66,(+10 65,gave 2 tsp hc including the meat and gravy,)+10.5 97,
SKIP SHOT +11.5 113,Back to original time , +2 128 (12am),+3 158,then PM meal,+5 260,+11 471.
 
Last edited:
Your new dose will be 2.75. If you shoot late it will throw your schedule off. His next shot would be 12 hours from now or a half hour early. If you have that flexibility to get back to your shot time which at 11/2 hours will take 3 days, 1/2 hour every 24 hours or 15 minutes each cycle you can shoot. Otherwise skip. Then you can shoot tonight whenever you want.
 
Your new dose will be 2.75. If you shoot late it will throw your schedule off. His next shot would be 12 hours from now or a half hour early. If you have that flexibility to get back to your shot time which at 11/2 hours will take 3 days, 1/2 hour every 24 hours or 15 minutes each cycle you can shoot. Otherwise skip. Then you can shoot tonight whenever you want.

If I shoot in 15 minutes, he will be 1 hour late, so tonite, I shout 1 hour early?, I just need to get that part down for now, and then ask about what to do for tonite later. Thank you :bighug:
 
Given how early it is in the cycle, the dropping BG and lack of interest in eating, I would be careful about feeding too much at this point in time and go straight to high carb. If you have some gravy food, drain off the gravy and give him some gravy to lap up rather than the meat portion. You may be steering for awhile and you don't want him refusing to eat when he needs to.
 
Given how early it is in the cycle, the dropping BG and lack of interest in eating, I would be careful about feeding too much at this point in time and go straight to high carb. If you have some gravy food, drain off the gravy and give him some gravy to lap up rather than the meat portion. You may be steering for awhile and you don't want him refusing to eat when he needs to.

13,17,or 25 carb? I have a 17 open?
 
Use the 17% if you have that open already. Just give him a tsp. or 2 of the gravy and keep checking BG to see if he is holding, rising or continuing to drop.
 
Just an FYI - You didn't shoot a "reduced" dose per se. Taco's numbers dropped below 50 at +11.5 so the 2.75 is your new dose.

When you're watching numbers, you may want to be testing every 30 min. to make sure you know whether or not to give HC. Given that what you're seeing is carryover from the depot being a bit too full at the 3.0u dose and that you really can't reduce again, it's OK to be steering Taco's numbers with a bit of HC.
 
Just an FYI - You didn't shoot a "reduced" dose per se. Taco's numbers dropped below 50 at +11.5 so the 2.75 is your new dose.

When you're watching numbers, you may want to be testing every 30 min. to make sure you know whether or not to give HC. Given that what you're seeing is carryover from the depot being a bit too full at the 3.0u dose and that you really can't reduce again, it's OK to be steering Taco's numbers with a bit of HC.
I did shoot a 2.75, 1 hour late, :)
 
I see he is now up to 70. Keep checking and if he stays steady try a tiny bit of low carb. If he is falling again, then go for the high carb gravy. Don't want to boost him up too far just want him to surf in good safe numbers.
 
I see he is now up to 70. Keep checking and if he stays steady try a tiny bit of low carb. If he is falling again, then go for the high carb gravy. Don't want to boost him up too far just want him to surf in good safe numbers.
Didnt get a chance to update, fell down to 65 @ +3.50
 
Just an FYI - You didn't shoot a "reduced" dose per se. Taco's numbers dropped below 50 at +11.5 so the 2.75 is your new dose.

When you're watching numbers, you may want to be testing every 30 min. to make sure you know whether or not to give HC. Given that what you're seeing is carryover from the depot being a bit too full at the 3.0u dose and that you really can't reduce again, it's OK to be steering Taco's numbers with a bit of HC.
I'm wondering now if I misunderstood something. :) He was on 3Us before his 46 @ +11.75, so, I dropped to 2.75, am I correct?
 
He was on 3Us before his 46 @ +11.75, so, I dropped to 2.75, am I correct
Yes you are correct. You decreased his dose by 0.25u which is the usual decrease when kitty drops below 50.

Wait for the next test. He may just be coasting and he's still in safe range. If he's down more, then a tsp. of LC food and recheck in 30 minutes.
 
Yes you are correct. You decreased his dose by 0.25u which is the usual decrease when kitty drops below 50.

Wait for the next test. He may just be coasting and he's still in safe range. If he's down more, then a tsp. of LC food and recheck in 30 minutes.
yes down again 58
, still low carb?
 
Yes you are correct. You decreased his dose by 0.25u which is the usual decrease when kitty drops below 50.

Wait for the next test. He may just be coasting and he's still in safe range. If he's down more, then a tsp. of LC food and recheck in 30 minutes.
Giving 1 TSP Fancy feast flaked tuna, can = 5 carbs , had already given, now giving watered down 25 carb, 1TSP.
 
That's fine. It should boost him up a bit and keep him surfing. Just don't feed too much at any one time because it looks like Taco likes to nadir late in the cycle sometimes right at pre-shot.
 
If you are having a hard time getting him to eat, then stick with the gravy if that is all he will lap up. You want him to take something in if he needs it and it sounds like he's quite full at the moment so better to stick with less filling gravy.
 
@Kris & Teasel Hey Kris, is there any possibility you can keep an eye on Cindy & Taco. for a bit? Not many on today and I have to go get ready and head out shortly. Taco is surfing in the greens but it looks like it may be a long surf with a lot of steering and I don't want to leave Cindy on her own.
 
If you are having a hard time getting him to eat, then stick with the gravy if that is all he will lap up. You want him to take something in if he needs it and it sounds like he's quite full at the moment so better to stick with less filling gravy.
That's all he's had except for that 1 tsp tuna, +4.50 BG55
 
Ok, I think you may have to resort to some bigger guns to keep him from dropping. Do you have any karo or maple syrup on hand? If he's still dropping at next test, give him a 1/2 tsp if he will lap it up or rub a bit on his gums. This will give him a quick boost and buy a little time for whatever food he has taken in up till now to settle a bit. The syrup will only last a short time but it should boost him long enough to ensure he'll take more gravy if needed.
 
Ok, I think you may have to resort to some bigger guns to keep him from dropping. Do you have any karo or maple syrup on hand? If he's still dropping at next test, give him a 1/2 tsp if he will lap it up or rub a bit on his gums. This will give him a quick boost and buy a little time for whatever food he has taken in up till now to settle a bit. The syrup will only last a short time but it should boost him long enough to ensure he'll take more gravy if needed.

Yes, I do, have either. Will do in 15 minutes to next test. He lapped up 2 TSP 25 carb gravy, a little bit ago.
 
Don't use the syrup unless he's still dropping. If he's steady let him surf...no gravy, no syrup and just keep checking him.
 
You can use honey. When I had to keep steering I would use gravy and sometimes add a few drops of honey to a teaspoon of food Max would eat. It’s hard sometimes keeping them hungry so you have to experiment to see what works.
 
You can use honey. When I had to keep steering I would use gravy and sometimes add a few drops of honey to a teaspoon of food Max would eat. It’s hard sometimes keeping them hungry so you have to experiment to see what works.
HI :) thanks for standing by :) I got a raise to 65 @ +5 :) Testing again in 30 minutes @ + 5.50. Not giving anything , correct?:bighug:
 
Back
Top