Switching to Lantus. What's the starting dose?

Angela & Cleo

Member Since 2022
Hi LLB,
Cleo and I have been on Prozinc and after this afternoon's Vet visit, we're starting (for the 2nd time) Lantus. @FrostD Melissa and @Suzanne & Darcy Suzanne have been wonderful in our Prozinc journey and both have pointed out the lack of duration on Prozinc. Currently and as recent as this morning at 6am EST, Cleo was getting 3F units. We've been following MPM.
1. Should we start Lantus this evening (able to monitor) or tomorrow am (I will not be able to test BG between +3-+11)
2. If so, what should be the starting dose?
3. Is following TR an option for us? She is all wet low carb but testing mon-fri during AM cycles is a little constraining.
Any and all guidance/advice/opinions are welcome.

I'll save my Vet is an idiot rant for another post. :rolleyes::banghead:
 
Hello and welcome to L/L/B forum. If you haven't already, I'd read the yellow starred Sticky Notes at the top of this forum. TR is indeed possible for you, as long as you can get at least that +2 every day you are working. This post might help: Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job? Yes!

We typically take the current dose into consideration and how they are doing on it when switching. So 3.0 units would be good. Is there a time you could start Lantus when you could monitor two cycles in a row more closely? Sometimes we see action on the second cycle, sometimes the first, and sometimes it takes a few days for the depot to build and show something.
 
Thank you so much for your reply.
I read the sticky and TR does seem doable. I just put in a request to work from home tomorrow. Safety first. If approved/answered before shot time, then tonight's the night.
 
He never wanted Cleo on Prozinc. That decision was made by the on call Vet which he wasn't happy with So it was an easy sell.
Plus I have the supplies - full vial in the fridge and U-100 syringes.
This you are gonna love...
Before I even broached the subject of insulin change, he tested her on his AT2 got a reading of 350 and immediately said to increase by 1 whole unit. He didn't ask when was her last dose of insulin to ascertain how far along we were in the cycle. It was AM+10 btw!
He said that I test too much. That I don't need to do preshot tests. I only need to test once a day and vary the one a day test time over the course of 2 weeks to 'paint a picture'. A +2 one day and +4 the next etc etc.
He said to start her at 1unit of Lantus WITHOUT asking me what is her current dose of Prozinc.
He said there was a big problem between my freestyle lite meter vs his AT2 meter because of the different numbers. I just said I know... there's a variance but the AT2 test strips were too expensive at $55 for 50 strips and I would gladly use the AT2 exclusively if not for the cost. Crickets for a response.
So Vet thinks that one spot check (without knowing where she was in her cycle) warranted an entire unit increase of Prozinc.
In my younger days I would have debated him on his "medical advice". But instead I just humored him since he agreed so quickly to change to Lantus. In my head I was thinking just get home and consult the FDMB!
I am so blessed to have found this message board.
 
You did just the right thing! Smile and take your kitty home and do what you know is the best thing for her. I'm very glad you are here too. Are you starting tonight the... I mean, your work gave you the go ahead to stay home tomorrow?
 
Oh, and this is just a housekeeping matter. When you start your daily thread for each day (you can start tomorrow) follow the format like this: say it was for today...
5/2 Cleo AMPS ### and then you can write in whatever you want if you have a question (even using the ? when you need help). Just take a look at how the other posts are headed up.

Please don't forget to link the previous days thread in each days new post... that is Soooo helpful.

I'm going to be excited to see how she does on the Lantus. :-)
 
fake-smile-smile-nod.gif


Your smile and nod says "Oh what an interesting idea" or "yes, that sounds right"... but your mind says "I wouldn't count on it"....LOL
 
Back
Top