Switching from vetsulin to prozinc

Status
Not open for further replies.
No you earned a reduction with the 85.
So I would go with 0.75 units or if you can’t measure that give 0.5 units. As long as you can monitor the cycle. I would get a +1 and a+2
i dont think i can get an accurate 0.75 with what i have, but i can go to every vet in my area to find them before his amps. for now i think i can push 0.5 accurately? i will get that +1 and +2 and nadir atLEAST. if i see bad numbers i can pull an allnighter if need be
 
Katrina what time is it where you are right now
and has Tuna always eaten wet food?
its exactly 2:20 am, my fiance is the one who pushes the insulin, im too afraid of needles and he gets home at 3am. he use to eat wet food maybe 5 times a week when i was in extreme couponing in 2016. since then i got more cats and it became very hard to pay for that much wet food. hes now a permanent wet food cat thats for sure

I’d go with 0.5 U
will do!
 
its exactly 2:20 am, my fiance is the one who pushes the insulin, im too afraid of needles and he gets home at 3am. he use to eat wet food maybe 5 times a week when i was in extreme couponing in 2016. since then i got more cats and it became very hard to pay for that much wet food. hes now a permanent wet food cat thats for sure


will do!
OK good, just wanted to make sure he's on wrt food, I'll post the Prozinc sticky for you and when things settle down you can read it.
Isn't the DM wet very expensive


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/prozinc-pzi.24/


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/

If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
 
Last edited:
OK good, just wanted to make sure he's on wrt food, I'll post the Prozinc sticky for you and when things settle down you can read it.
Isn't the DM wet very expensive

yes, but i was paying roughly the same for tikicat and he seems to like the dm more actually. plus my vet didnt really ask they just made me buy it, i showed them the tikicat and her response and i quote "i dont know what that 'forum' told you but DM is the highest quality cat food for a diabetic cat, does he like wet or dry." :banghead:

my fiance got home early and i feel less stressed now so i can read the sticky!
 
yes, but i was paying roughly the same for tikicat and he seems to like the dm more actually. plus my vet didnt really ask they just made me buy it, i showed them the tikicat and her response and i quote "i dont know what that 'forum' told you but DM is the highest quality cat food for a diabetic cat, does he like wet or dry." :banghead:

my fiance got home early and i feel less stressed now so i can ready the sticky!
Nothing special about the DM believe me, but if he likes it ok
Most of us feed Fancy Feast Classic Pates or Friskies
I have you the food chart above , just trying to save you some money
 
Nothing special about the DM believe me, but if he likes it ok
Most of us feed Fancy Feast Classic Pates or Friskies
I have you the food chart above , just trying to save you some money

i will for sure make the switch when hes finished the huge pack i bought for $60 like a fool because i didnt want the vet to think i was rude. i kept fighting her on the dose and she just got sassier and sassier until she beat me down. ill be shopping for a third vet now :woot:
 
i will for sure make the switch when hes finished the huge pack i bought for $60 like a fool because i didnt want the vet to think i was rude. i kept fighting her on the dose and she just got sassier and sassier until she beat me down. ill be shopping for a third vet now :woot:
Okey Dokey, might as well use it up, mist vets will push the DM
I'm sure he will like the Fancy Feast Classic Pates, so many flavors
I gave you the med and high carb wet foods above , you can also look at the food chart for the percentages of carbs I showed you.
I listed the syringes with half unit markings above and coupons you can use
ADW Diabetes ships pretty quick.
 
Okey Dokey, might as well use it up, mist vets will push the DM
I'm sure he will like the Fancy Feast Classic Pates, so many flavors
I gave you the med and high carb wet foods above , you can also look at the food chart for the percentages of carbs I showed you.
I listed the syringes with half unit markings above and coupons you can use
ADW Diabetes ships pretty quick.

Your the best omg. Thank you so much for everything tonight. Im still gonna be up for quite some time. My panic will start to get real bad after his shot in 15 minutes. I always have a big panic attack right after. I'll be monitoring every hour probably until nadir. He seems to hit nadir at +7. I'll be reading and buying all night. At least I have something to do! Maybe I'll get back into extreme couponing for the rest of my cats to get on wet food permanently as well
 
Your the best omg. Thank you so much for everything tonight. Im still gonna be up for quite some time. My panic will start to get real bad after his shot in 15 minutes. I always have a big panic attack right after. I'll be monitoring every hour probably until nadir. He seems to hit nadir at +7. I'll be reading and buying all night. At least I have something to do! Maybe I'll get back into extreme couponing for the rest of my cats to get on wet food permanently as well
No problem you are very welcome, Try and stay calm , I know it's easier said than done. He will be fine. I used to get panic attacks also , not as bad as you though
They are horrible I know. Went on Paxil and when needed I take a xanax lol

Eventually when you become less stressed and see how the insulin affects him and when he hits nadir or before that you can get a automatic feeder and set times up for him to eat. I know you have a lot more kitties, bless you for taking care of them
If Tuna is the only one in the house then an automatic feeder will be good.
If you can stay up late to feed him if he gets hungry then fine

I'm in New Jersey so it's the same time here as in Fla.. Just happen to be up this late tonight
 
Last edited:
here he is, acting like its a day on the beach
https://imgur.com/a/8zNZgxx

we just took a post food BG @284
Lol he's too cute, we will find the dose he does good on, but as you know that could change

Just post whenever you need help
When you read the Prozinc Sticky I would go with the SLGS dosing method
You will read about the two methods there are
 
Last edited:
I have a panic disorder and health anxiety, it's a rough time in my brain. Because of my health anxiety I don't take any medications for my panic because I'm afraid I'll become randomly allergic to it. It isn't logical and I'm working on it, but at least I'm self aware enough to know it's dumb. I can't even be in the room when my fiance pushes the insulin I'm so scared. The first night I stayed to try to be there for tuna and I immediately when into such a deep panic and messed up all my hard work of not googling my panic symptoms. It always says heart attack or stroke or aneurysm and it sends me into a deeper panic. I'm sure my fiance thought that when I found this forum that it was just a symptom of my health anxiety now spreading to tuna. We are so lucky that I stuck with it and trusted that you guys were the right call. One day I'm sure I'll be okay enough that I can watch the shot, but I'm still so early in my own diagnosis that I'm not ready to handle watching this. I remember the days when I was cool and could do things like pierce my own ears and eat gluten :joyful::joyful::joyful:

My fiance just pushed the .5 so now it's a waiting game. Who will win, my panic or my will to monitor tuna without my fiance's help.:nailbiting:
 
I have a panic disorder and health anxiety, it's a rough time in my brain. Because of my health anxiety I don't take any medications for my panic because I'm afraid I'll become randomly allergic to it. It isn't logical and I'm working on it, but at least I'm self aware enough to know it's dumb. I can't even be in the room when my fiance pushes the insulin I'm so scared. The first night I stayed to try to be there for tuna and I immediately when into such a deep panic and messed up all my hard work of not googling my panic symptoms. It always says heart attack or stroke or aneurysm and it sends me into a deeper panic. I'm sure my fiance thought that when I found this forum that it was just a symptom of my health anxiety now spreading to tuna. We are so lucky that I stuck with it and trusted that you guys were the right call. One day I'm sure I'll be okay enough that I can watch the shot, but I'm still so early in my own diagnosis that I'm not ready to handle watching this. I remember the days when I was cool and could do things like pierce my own ears and eat gluten :joyful::joyful::joyful:

My fiance just pushed the .5 so now it's a waiting game. Who will win, my panic or my will to monitor tuna without my fiance's help.:nailbiting:
I totally understand where you are coming from, I read about what you said you have in one of your other posts. So me people just can't understand what your mind can do to you. I understand
One day you will be ok, when you are ready. You will get there
 
Lovely photo... he is a bit chubby! Like a lot of us shut up with the pandemic. :joyful:

Can you believe I free fed all of my cats and he is the only overweight one? His sister is the image of health! He mimics me and with my mental health issues I spend alot of time in bed with him. I've been more active trying to get him active so I think that's a good thing!
I totally understand where you are coming from, I read about what you said you have in one of your other posts. So me people just can't understand what your mind can do to you. I understand
One day you will be ok, when you are ready. You will get there
Thank you, I believe I can get there. Just unfortunate timing and an unfortunate diagnosis for tuna. I hope that the many people never feel that kind of panic. It truly does feel like a heart attack. I'm scared one day I'll actually be sick but I won't know it's real because of my anxiety. But just like tunas gonna get better, so will I!! <3
 
Can you believe I free fed all of my cats and he is the only overweight one? His sister is the image of health! He mimics me and with my mental health issues I spend alot of time in bed with him. I've been more active trying to get him active so I think that's a good thing!

Thank you, I believe I can get there. Just unfortunate timing and an unfortunate diagnosis for tuna. I hope that the many people never feel that kind of panic. It truly does feel like a heart attack. I'm scared one day I'll actually be sick but I won't know it's real because of my anxiety. But just like tunas gonna get better, so will I!! <3
You will get better, my first panic attack I thought I was having a heart attack also, my left arm went numb, heart was pounding out of my chest, felt like I was going to pass out, I know what you mean. I rushed to the ER and the doc said I had a panic attack, I said you're crazy :p I don't have panic attacks
He asked me if I argue with my husband lol (who passed away 13 years ago)
I said I would be having a panic attack every day :p
Asked me about work, am I worried about anything etc
I said no I was just watching TV and this feeling came over me for no reason
Then it started to happen more often because I was afraid to drive any where in case I had one and was by myself.
Knock on wood it's been years since I had one. Just one time I started to feel funny again, so I just laid down and tried to relax and not get worked up.

Just hang in there ok :bighug::cat:

Going to bed, I'm dead tired, so good night, I'll check in with you tomorrow
@Bron and Sheba (GA) good night to you also, even though it's day time for you. Thanks for being on board tonight I wasn't so sure what to suggest :bighug:
:cat::cat:
 
Last edited:
You will get better, my first panic attack I thought I was having a heart attack also, my left arm went numb, heart was pounding out of my chest, felt like I was going to pass out, I know what you mean. I rushed to the ER and the doc said I had a panic attack, I said you're crazy :p I don't have panic attacks
He asked me if I argue with my husband lol (who passed away 13 years ago)
I said I would be having a panic attack every day :p
Asked me about work, am I worried about anything etc
I said no I was just watching TV and this feeling came over me for no reason
Then it started to happen more often because I was afraid to drive any where in case I had one and was by myself.
Knock on wood it's been years since I had one. Just one time I started to feel funny again, so I just laid down and tried to relax and not get worked up.

Just hang in there ok :bighug::cat:

Always when I'm trying to relax and watch YouTube or Netflix it just hits me too!!! I'm normally trying to eat at that relaxing moment and then I feel like I can't breathe or swallow my food and I get these awful tremors through my body. I've lost over 30 lbs this past 3 months because I'm afraid I'm going to choke during a panic! I wonder why it hits us during relaxing moments? Seems even crueler :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
What a great cycle for Tuna!

Don't worry if he's high for a little while after those greens, he might be "bouncing" (reaction by the cat's body, dumping sugars in response to lows). But he does seem to like the Prozinc, doesn't he?
 
What a great cycle for Tuna!

Don't worry if he's high for a little while after those greens, he might be "bouncing" (reaction by the cat's body, dumping sugars in response to lows). But he does seem to like the Prozinc, doesn't he?
Yes his numbers are very high right now :( do I hold with the .5u or increase?

What I'm assuming is that I should hold or increase by .25u. we didn't get a chance to see what .5u could do because of that 2u bounce and that's a shame.
 
Last edited:
What a great cycle for Tuna!

Don't worry if he's high for a little while after those greens, he might be "bouncing" (reaction by the cat's body, dumping sugars in response to lows). But he does seem to like the Prozinc, doesn't he?

Update: I'm at the vet right now to update them on tunas very low numbers on half their prescription dose. I'm gonna be nice to see if they can give me u40 syringes with half unit markings or a script for them, and then I'll let them know what they tried to do to tuna
 
Yes his numbers are very high right now :( do I hold with the .5u or increase?

What I'm assuming is that I should hold or increase by .25u. we didn't get a chance to see what .5u could do because of that 2u bounce and that's a shame.

That's a very good question. You're right to be thinking in the longer term-- we don't want to increase because of the bounce, we want to give a dose time to settle in first. The question is, what dose is a good one to try?

My suspicion is that, based on yesterday's great numbers, his ideal dose is going to be closer to 2U than 0.5U, so I'd be inclined to try something like 1.0U (with the goal being to stick with it for a week before re-assessing, unless he earns a reduction by going under 90). On the other hand, since he's on a low-carb wet food diet now, the recommended Prozinc starting dose is 0.5U, so there's some support for that approach.

From the PROZINC DOSING METHODS sticky:

Starting Dose:
  • 1u BID if kitty is not on a wet/canned low carb diet
  • 0.5u BID if kitty has been switched to a wet/canned low carb diet
  • If the cat was previously on another insulin, the starting dose should be increased or decreased by taking prior data into consideration
  • Generally, shots are to be given 12 hours apart.
Note also that we usually take the previous insulin's dose into account-- but Tuna wasn't on Vetsulin for very long and we don't have enough data on how he did on any one dose, so I'm not sure that's going to be super-helpful. We really only have yesterday's action to go by to gather clues.

Also from that sticky, here's the description of holding a dose for a week before re-assessing, and how to re-assess:

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

Bottom line is: I lean towards 1.0U but I definitely think you could stick with 0.5U if you're more comfortable starting on that dose. It would mean a slower climb up if he does need more insulin than that, but it might be less stressful.

Good luck at the vet! Don't give them too hard a time if you like the vet otherwise-- good vets are hard to find, and sometimes it's easier to just smile and nod at the FD advice and do your own thing, while using them for other important stuff.
 
Update: I'm at the vet right now to update them on tunas very low numbers on half their prescription dose. I'm gonna be nice to see if they can give me u40 syringes with half unit markings or a script for them, and then I'll let them know what they tried to do to tuna
If you order the syringes from ADW Diabetes your vet can call them and tell them the ones you want, I listed 2 for you above, or you can call then tell them which ones you want and they will call your vet for you, good luck :bighug:
 
That's a very good question. You're right to be thinking in the longer term-- we don't want to increase because of the bounce, we want to give a dose time to settle in first. The question is, what dose is a good one to try?

My suspicion is that, based on yesterday's great numbers, his ideal dose is going to be closer to 2U than 0.5U, so I'd be inclined to try something like 1.0U (with the goal being to stick with it for a week before re-assessing, unless he earns a reduction by going under 90). On the other hand, since he's on a low-carb wet food diet now, the recommended Prozinc starting dose is 0.5U, so there's some support for that approach.

From the PROZINC DOSING METHODS sticky:

Starting Dose:
  • 1u BID if kitty is not on a wet/canned low carb diet
  • 0.5u BID if kitty has been switched to a wet/canned low carb diet
  • If the cat was previously on another insulin, the starting dose should be increased or decreased by taking prior data into consideration
  • Generally, shots are to be given 12 hours apart.
Note also that we usually take the previous insulin's dose into account-- but Tuna wasn't on Vetsulin for very long and we don't have enough data on how he did on any one dose, so I'm not sure that's going to be super-helpful. We really only have yesterday's action to go by to gather clues.

Also from that sticky, here's the description of holding a dose for a week before re-assessing, and how to re-assess:

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

Bottom line is: I lean towards 1.0U but I definitely think you could stick with 0.5U if you're more comfortable starting on that dose. It would mean a slower climb up if he does need more insulin than that, but it might be less stressful.

Good luck at the vet! Don't give them too hard a time if you like the vet otherwise-- good vets are hard to find, and sometimes it's easier to just smile and nod at the FD advice and do your own thing, while using them for other important stuff.

Is it safe for me to jump from the 2u yesterday, to the .5u last night, to 1u today? If it's okay I'll go with the 1u if I can't get these half unit marked u40 syringes before his shot in 2 hours. I suspect his dose is going to be around 1 - 1.5u. I had to feed him alot of food yesterday to bump up those falling green numbers.

I just spoke with a vet tech and made sure they documented his near hypo on half their dose. They tried to sneakily give me normal u-40 syringes I suspect because they don't want me messing with their prescribed dose :banghead: so no half marked syringes for me today :(
 
Last edited:
If you order the syringes from ADW Diabetes your vet can call them and tell them the ones you want, I listed 2 for you above, or you can call then tell them which ones you want and they will call your vet for you, good luck :bighug:

That's awesome! If my vet won't give me this syringes that's the route I'll take hopefully they'll accept the the call in script request!
 
Is it safe for me to jump from the 2u yesterday, to the .5u last night, to 1u today? If it's okay I'll go with the 1u if I can't get these half unit marked u40 syringes before his shot in 2 hours. I suspect his dose is going to be around 1 - 1.5u. I had to feed him alot of food yesterday to bump up those falling green numbers.

It's not ideal to bounce around doses a lot, but it's not unsafe, it just makes it hard to figure out what's really going on. That's why it's important to hold a dose for several days before re-assessing.
 
@Deb & Wink

@JanetNJ

Hi ladies Katrina just started her cat on Prozinc on 5-20-21 before that was Vetsulin
Her vet wanted her to start on 4 units of Vetsulin but she did not , see her SS

She gave him 2 units of Vetsulin , then 1 unit
Last night she gave him 2 units of Prozac and he started to hit 3 greens during the cycle
She then gave him 0.5 units Prozac last night, of course he's high now
She doesn't know what to give him now
She shoots at 3PM and the at 3AM
Do you think you can help her out
Human meter, wet food LC DM after she's done with the DM going to switch to Fancy Feast Classics Pate

Thank you ladies

EDIT. Just a heads up Katrina started a new thread since this one was getting too long
New thread


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tunas-bg-is-toying-with-me.247656/
 
Last edited:
It's not ideal to bounce around doses a lot, but it's not unsafe, it just makes it hard to figure out what's really going on. That's why it's important to hold a dose for several days before re-assessing.
That's why I'm tempted to push one unit and hold there. I just spoke to my vet on the phone first of all they wanted me to sign a release form saying that if I'm going to go against medical advice they discourage it. Second once my vet got on the phone after they told me I need to sign a form I explained to her everything that happened yesterday and why I had to jump from two units down to 0.5 and why I want to try to hold at one for a while. She first told me that I need to just let the hypoglycemia happen. Then she asked me to confirm the dosing that I took from the vet and I said you prescribed me four units I pushed two units. She said "I was just trying to follow the dosing guidelines" and I said I understand that but I followed the same dosing guidelines on the low end of the guide and this still happened. Then I told her how much I fed him to keep him in the '80s and '90s and then she said do you have Karo syrup AFTER THEY TOLD ME THEYVE NEVER HAD A HYPO CAT "insert eyeroll here" and after she was talking to me for a little bit she said I think I would advise you to hold at one unit. Like duh that's what i told you. These vets man. I actually recorded the whole phone call since they want me to sign a form to protect them I want to protect myself as well lol.
 
@Deb & Wink

@JanetNJ

Hi ladies Katrina just started her cat on Prozinc on 5-20-21 before that was Vetsulin
Her vet wanted her to start on 4 units of Vetsulin but she did not , see her SS

She gave him 2 units of Vetsulin , then 1 unit
Last night she gave him 2 units of Prozac and he started to hit 3 greens during the cycle
She then gave him 0.5 units Prozac last night, of course he's high now
She doesn't know what to give him now
She shoots at 3PM and the at 3AM
Do you think you can help her out
Human meter, wet food LC DM after she's done with the DM going to switch to Fancy Feast Classics Pate

Thank you ladies
I have 10 minutes til go time. I think I'll push the 1u since I can't carefully dose the 0.75. my vet won't give me the script for the half marked syringes either so I'll ask my fiance's dad for it. He's a vet but he's not an internist so he has no idea about FD. I probably won't get them for a few days so I'll try to hold that 1u for a week.
 
Sounds like a plan! Hopefully, Tuna will hold off on earning any reductions until you get the half-unit syringes, it's much easier to dose the small changes with those.

A favor: could you start a new thread for the new day? This one is getting kind of long. You can link to this old discussion in the first post of the new thread so that people can follow the history.
 
I have 10 minutes til go time. I think I'll push the 1u since I can't carefully dose the 0.75. my vet won't give me the script for the half marked syringes either so I'll ask my fiance's dad for it. He's a vet but he's not an internist so he has no idea about FD. I probably won't get them for a few days so I'll try to hold that 1u for a week.
Unbelievable your vet wouldn't give you a script for the half unit syringes
I can't write what I want to say on here lol, I would probably get thrown off :p
I'm glad your fiance's dad will do it for you
 
Unbelievable your vet wouldn't give you a script for the half unit syringes
I can't write what I want to say on here lol, I would probably get thrown off :p
I'm glad your fiance's dad will do it for you
Haha I just found this reply! I'm not sure I've said very nice things about either of the vets I've had so far. Believe me I said worse outloud. When they told me I have to sign a release form I laughed out loud on the phone! I said the dose you prescribed could have killed tuna and she said "I'm sorry if you go against our advice you have to sign the form" I should make them sign forms!!!
 
I said the dose you prescribed could have killed tuna and she said "I'm sorry if you go against our advice you have to sign the form" I should make them sign forms!!!
It’s called CYA ( over your a$$). Liability insurance rules.

Again, you want to find a vet that will work WITH you, but that isn’t always easy to do. Especially if you live in a more rural area.

There is a vet interview topic/thread in the Health FAQ’s forum here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top