Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 8

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am home from work today so can get in some spot checks. I have to do a drug screening and physical for a new job I'm starting on March 1. I'll be out of the house for about 2 to 3 hours for that.
I can do a +2 and a +4 test before I leave for appt. I can probably get one in at +8 or +9 as well.
 
I am home from work today so can get in some spot checks. I have to do a drug screening and physical for a new job I'm starting on March 1. I'll be out of the house for about 2 to 3 hours for that.
I can do a +2 and a +4 test before I leave for appt. I can probably get one in at +8 or +9 as well.
That should be good data. Hurray for your new job! I hope it's something you'll enjoy and/or will come with good benefits, etc. :)
 
Thanks Kris, I'll be getting into a new line of work so a little nervous about that. The job comes with a salary increase though.:rolleyes:
 
Thanks Kris, I'll be getting into a new line of work so a little nervous about that. The job comes with a salary increase though.:rolleyes:
A new line of work can be a bit daunting but also energizing. Salary increase is great - especially with an expensive FD kitty to look after! ;):)
 
I'm going to ask my vet again about B-12 injections or at least some zobaline to put in his food. The last three times he had blood work done she said he was slightly anemic but his levels stayed the same.
 
Smoky dropped down to 257 at +2. He only ate a 3 oz can if food this morning.
He is pretty hungry so am giving him another half of a 3 oz can to eat. I'll check him again in two hours after he eats his second breakfast.:p
 
Smoky dropped down to 257 at +2. He only ate a 3 oz can if food this morning.
He is pretty hungry so am giving him another half of a 3 oz can to eat. I'll check him again in two hours after he eats his second breakfast.:p
Nice drop. Knowing Smoky, any bouncing this might trigger will be small. Teasel had a big drop this AM by +2. I'm sure that'll send him skyrocketing.
 
It looks like Teasel dropped a little more than Smoky did by + 2. I'm not sure how to convert that, is it world system? The BG multiplied by 18?
 
It looks like Teasel dropped a little more than Smoky did by + 2. I'm not sure how to convert that, is it world system? The BG multiplied by 18?
Yes, it's in world system so you multiply by 18. I gave him a small snack at +2 to see if the drop rate will slow. Will test him again shortly.
 
I updated his SS and have to leave to go to my appt. I hope he will be OK while I'm gone. He seems to be in safe numbers so don't think he will drop into too low numbers
 
Yep me too. I'm just hoping that he doesn't continue to drop more. He is almost halfway thru the cycle so I think he will be fine.
 
OK didn't get back in time for more tests.
I left his food down for him when I left so I don't know when he ate last. He has less than two hours before his PMPS so I'll just wait until then. I asked my vet about giving him B12 shots or maybe zobaline. She wants me to bring him in again first. I was just there two and a half weeks ago.
The one thing that irritates me about this vet is she wants me to bring him in all the time for recheck. Does anyone have any ideas on OTC treatments I can try that have worked for your cat? I don't have the money to keep taking him in for every little thing.
 
Last edited:
Thank you Sue,
Your help is very much appreciated.:bighug:
I don't even know what my vet is basing the diagnosis of anemia on outside of blood work.
 
Yup! Looks like Smoky's pattern on budesonide is to be high in the AM. You can dose around that with ProZinc because sliding scale works well with it.
 
Oddly Kris, he didn't have the budesonide last night. The vet told me to skip a dose to see if his BG was still high the next morning. I'm now at a loss since it was the same for am today as yesterday. I did only give him 1.5U last night but 2U this morning.
 
Oddly Kris, he didn't have the budesonide last night. The vet told me to skip a dose to see if his BG was still high the next morning. I'm now at a loss since it was the same for am today as yesterday. I did only give him 1.5U last night but 2U this morning.
Strange residual effect? Maybe the stuff hangs around in his system for a bit?
 
That's what the vet thinks too. She is trying to tell me I need to bring him in for a recheck all the time. I shld be able to get a different kind of med for nausea w/o having to pay for another exam.:mad:
I have cerenia but want to try ondansteron since he has nausea but not vomiting. Smoky is getting checked for his PMPS in about 15 minutes. He had a pretty good BG for +6 today.
 
That's what the vet thinks too. She is trying to tell me I need to bring him in for a recheck all the time. I shld be able to get a different kind of med for nausea w/o having to pay for another exam.:mad:
I have cerenia but want to try ondansteron since he has nausea but not vomiting. Smoky is getting checked for his PMPS in about 15 minutes. He had a pretty good BG for +6 today.
I agree about the constant request for rechecks. Nice +6.
 
Smoky- PMPS was 207. I'm giving him the budesonide tonight. I gave him cerenia about 45 minutes ago. I'm getting ready to give him his pm shot and then the budesonide. Fingers crossed:joyful:
I'm thinking either 1.75 or 2 units tonight, have to figure dose to counteract the steroid which seems to last about 36 hours.
 
It's weird but the budesonide actually seems to either cause nausea or it kills his appetite. Either way, I may have to give him some cyproheptadine later.
 
Smoky- PMPS was 207. I'm giving him the budesonide tonight. I gave him cerenia about 45 minutes ago. I'm getting ready to give him his pm shot and then the budesonide. Fingers crossed:joyful:
I'm thinking either 1.75 or 2 units tonight, have to figure dose to counteract the steroid which seems to last about 36 hours.
You've given 1.75 u before on a BG like this and he was fine. Maybe time to try 2 u and get a +3 or so?
 
It seems the old vial is too far down to get any insulin in the syringe. I will have to start the new vial tonight. What dose shld I give him since it is fresh insulin?
 
I will have to set an alarm so I can get up and do a +3 test. I'm giving him the pm shot about 12.5 hrs since his am shot. I don't know if it makes much difference
 
OK so 368 in am to 188 in pm. Is this caused by the budesonide or is it a bounce? If I follow vets suggestion I wld skip the steroid for tonight. Now to figure out what dose to give for tonight.
 
OK so 368 in am to 188 in pm. Is this caused by the budesonide or is it a bounce? If I follow vets suggestion I wld skip the steroid for tonight. Now to figure out what dose to give for tonight.
You've given 1.5 u at numbers like this before. Try that? My opinion is that the highs in the AM are related to the budesonide. You never have a pink in the PM and the AM pinks began after you started this med.
 
I stayed up with him late last night to keep an eye on his BG. I might have slept about four and a half hours but my boy was in safe numbers. He is happy about skipping the budesonide but still has to get the cerenia and denamarin yet before bed.
 
I stayed up with him late last night to keep an eye on his BG. I might have slept about four and a half hours but my boy was in safe numbers. He is happy about skipping the budesonide but still has to get the cerenia and denamarin yet before bed.
Do you have ondansetron for nausea as well? I read a post here by @Marje and Gracie (I think) that said the two can be given at the same time because they act differently on nausea.

Did you decide to order a pill gun?
 
I did order a pill gun for Smoky.
I would have to ask the vet about the ondansetron. She will most likely tell me to bring him in for a recheck again first.:confused:
 
Do you have ondansetron for nausea as well? I read a post here by @Marje and Gracie (I think) that said the two can be given at the same time because they act differently on nausea.

Did you decide to order a pill gun?
Yes...you can give ondansetron and cerenia at the same time. They work well together to address nausea from different modalities. Your vet just needs to give you a script as it might be unlikely for her to carry ondansetron. If she's recently seen Smoky and prescribed cerenia, hopefully you can talk her out of another visit that you'd have to pay for.

OK didn't get back in time for more tests.
I left his food down for him when I left so I don't know when he ate last. He has less than two hours before his PMPS so I'll just wait until then. I asked my vet about giving him B12 shots or maybe zobaline. She wants me to bring him in again first. I was just there two and a half weeks ago.
The one thing that irritates me about this vet is she wants me to bring him in all the time for recheck. Does anyone have any ideas on OTC treatments I can try that have worked for your cat? I don't have the money to keep taking him in for every little thing.
B12 shots are usually cyanocobalamin which will not help with anemia. You need to give oral methylB12 and a MultiB like Jarrow B Right. The dosing on the methylB12 is 250 mcg bid and the Jarrows is 1/10 a capsule bid. If you don't give both, it won't address the anemia.
 
Yes...you can give ondansetron and cerenia at the same time. They work well together to address nausea from different modalities. Your vet just needs to give you a script as it might be unlikely for her to carry ondansetron. If she's recently seen Smoky and prescribed cerenia, hopefully you can talk her out of another visit that you'd have to pay for.


B12 shots are usually cyanocobalamin which will not help with anemia. You need to give oral methylB12 and a MultiB like Jarrow B Right. The dosing on the methylB12 is 250 mcg bid and the Jarrows is 1/10 a capsule bid. If you don't give both, it won't address the anemia.
Thanks for this, Marje. :)
 
Thank you very much for the info Marje.
Could you please explain what all that terminology means? :bookworm:
I'll take a stab at some of it:
methylB12 - methylcobalamin, another form of B12
multiB - multiple B vitamin supplement like the brand Jarrow B Right (from a health food store?)
250 mcg bid - 250 micrograms twice a day
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top