Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 7

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have to wonder how accurate that will be with the budesonide. The before bed test I mean, it wld have to be a +2 though.
I'll try the 1.8 unit dose tonight.
 
I have to wonder how accurate that will be with the budesonide. The before bed test I mean, it wld have to be a +2 though.
I'll try the 1.8 unit dose tonight.
It'll tell you what his BG is. Whether it's higher from the budesonide or not it'll give you an indication of what the 1.8 u will be able to do. All the insulin "cares" about is what amount of glucose is in the blood to act on if you get my meaning.
 
Checked Smoky at +2.5 after pm shot.
His BG was down a little from PMPS, 258 to 221. I'm a little suspicious and will have to check his chair where he gets his meds.:eek: in case he spit pill out but I don't think he did.
 
Checked Smoky at +2.5 after pm shot.
His BG was down a little from PMPS, 258 to 221. I'm a little suspicious and will have to check his chair where he gets his meds.:eek: in case he spit pill out but I don't think he did.
This number could be within meter variance. However, I've had kitties spit out pills after I thought I'd given them successfully. They're crafty little beasties!
 
Smoky BG at 206 for PMPS, was 300 for am today. I'm wondering if 1.75U dose wld be too much to give. I was thinking 1.6 units but have to compensate for the budesonide causing a rise in his BG.
 
Are you referring to the 1.75 unit dose?
I'm thinking the new med didn't raise his BG until after I checked him at +2.5 the other night
 
Smoky lost weight again so am getting panicky. He is down to 8 lbs, was 8.6 lbs at vet visit on 1/26/16. I really need to find him some high calorie food that is not too high in carbs.
 
I was referring to 1.75 u, Lisa. Your call though.
I was thinking the 1.75 unit dose as well. I just wish I cld get him to gain weight. He is not eating as much and what he eats seems to be going right thru him. I have about 10% of old vial left and was thinking of starting him on the new vial soon. The old vial of prozinc still seems to be viable yet though.
 
I was thinking the 1.75 unit dose as well. I just wish I cld get him to gain weight. He is not eating as much and what he eats seems to be going right thru him
The vet said 2 to 4 weeks for the budesonide to take effect? It might take many weeks longer after that for more gut healing to happen.
 
The vet told me at least 2 to 4 weeks to start working but as long as 60 to 90 days for full effects depending on severity of IBD. He has only had 10 doses so far. I will try the 1.75U and check him before bed.
 
Just tested Smoky at +2.5 hrs after pm shot. I gave him the same dose am and pm, 1.75 units. So... AMPS was 300, PMPS at 206, +2.5 was 181. I gave him the budesonide which is causing his BG to go up a bit. He is really stressed out for some reason tonight so skipped the cerenia and cyproheptadine today.
 
Just tested Smoky at +2.5 hrs after pm shot. I gave him the same dose am and pm, 1.75 units. So... AMPS was 300, PMPS at 206, +2.5 was 181. I gave him the budesonide which is causing his BG to go up a bit. He is really stressed out for some reason tonight so skipped the cerenia and cyproheptadine today.
I see you gave 1.75 u this AM. Re stressing: I wonder of budesonide can have mental effects on kitties like other steroids have on humans?
 
Actually Kris it was more of a 1.6 unit dose. I depressed too much insulin out of syringe, shld have left it alone.o_O
Smoky has been out of sorts for a few months which is about the time the IBD started. You may be right on about mental effects.
 
I know steroids always make me feel really weird, so I could definitely see them causing some stress for Smoky.
 
I just noticed that when Smoky is standing that his left foot is close to the floor. He doesn't walk on his hocks but the right foot is held higher up then the left when standing. I have to test him for ketones again, I do that once a week.
Anyone have any thoughts on that?
 
I had thought of that too since his appetite has dropped recently. He lost weight again but really want to check him for ketones with him standing that way.
Smoky BG at 203 for PMPS, that is before I give him the budesonide so need to dose accordingly. My idea is to give him the 1.75 unit dose tonight. Ideas or thoughts for that?
 
I had thought of that too since his appetite has dropped recently. He lost weight again but really want to check him for ketones with him standing that way.
Smoky BG at 203 for PMPS, that is before I give him the budesonide so need to dose accordingly. My idea is to give him the 1.75 unit dose tonight. Ideas or thoughts for that?
The odd stance might indicate neuropathy although I thought it was symmetrical. If it is, a form of B12 supplement is supposed to be very helpful. I think you should try 1.75 u tonight. He was OK last night with that dose.
 
I will give him the 1.75 units for tonight.
I think I will post on main health board too for advice on treating possible neuropathy. I don't know much about that at all. I need to find some higher calorie low carb food that he will eat. I don't get it Kris, his BG numbers are good but he is not gaining and even still losing weight.

I'm trying to be patient and wait for the steroids to kick in but I worry.:nailbiting: I have not had a chance to check in on how Teasel is doing on the Lantus. Are you seeing any more yellows or even a blue? :joyful:
 
I will give him the 1.75 units for tonight.
I think I will post on main health board too for advice on treating possible neuropathy. I don't know much about that at all. I need to find some higher calorie low carb food that he will eat. I don't get it Kris, his BG numbers are good but he is not gaining and even still losing weight.

I'm trying to be patient and wait for the steroids to kick in but I worry.:nailbiting: I have not had a chance to check in on how Teasel is doing on the Lantus. Are you seeing any more yellows or even a blue? :joyful:
I suspect the weight issue has to do with the IBD and the impaired absorption that causes. It's hard to know what's causing what when your kitty has several things going on at the same time.

Teasel had given me some yellow today and a very nice PMPS of 229. That's progress.
 
Wow Kris! That's a great BG number for Teasel to have. He is almost in the blue numbers. Yah Teasel:woot: Does the Lantus seem to be agreeing with him otherwise? Smoky seems a little better with the prozinc than with the vetsulin which made him depressed.
 
Wow Kris! That's a great BG number for Teasel to have. He is almost in the blue numbers. Yah Teasel:woot: Does the Lantus seem to be agreeing with him otherwise? Smoky seems a little better with the prozinc than with the vetsulin which made him depressed.
Yes, it was a nice PS. So far he seems OK with the Lantus but it's early days.
 
I don't get this whole dosing around the budesonide. The steroid is raising his BG a lot. PMPS was 240 and gave him 1.75U and now AMPS was 373. I had given Smoky the 1.75 units for several cycles now. It's hard for me to tell if I shld give a higher dose for am to cover the increase in BG. How do I know if it's the steroid or if it's a bounce and I need to lower the dose? I'm getting a bit confused here.:confused::nailbiting:
The insulin will be 3 months old on Wednesday but it seems to still be working. Whenever I do mid day checks his blood sugar does go down.
 
I don't get this whole dosing around the budesonide. The steroid is raising his BG a lot. PMPS was 240 and gave him 1.75U and now AMPS was 373. I had given Smoky the 1.75 units for several cycles now. It's hard for me to tell if I shld give a higher dose for am to cover the increase in BG. How do I know if it's the steroid or if it's a bounce and I need to lower the dose? I'm getting a bit confused here.:confused::nailbiting:
The insulin will be 3 months old on Wednesday but it seems to still be working. Whenever I do mid day checks his blood sugar does go down.
I agree that this is a tricky situation, Lisa, and I don't have any really good advice other than the usual, gather data. Smoky was a relatively easy to dose, non-bouncy kitty before the steroid and now he's more like Mr. Unpredictable who lives with me. I think the pinks are less about bouncing and more about elevation due to the steroid.

The pinks are always AM so that tells you it's the budesonide given in the PM. It's the mid cycle numbers that will carry more weight and on your workdays you'll have to rely on evening tests. If you're off today, I'd advise doing a curve so you can see what happens after this AM's high PS. I paid more attention to Teasel's middle BGs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top