Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 7

Status
Not open for further replies.
How's Smoky feeling now? Hopefully the meds are helping him feel better, poor thing.
 
He is still a little nauseous but is doing better now. His AMPS was 144 and I gave him one unit this morning. I just tested him at +4 and he dropped down to 66! His appetite is coming back slowly.
I'm happy to see a BG number in the darker greens but it scares me that he went that much lower in 4 hours.
I'm wondering if I should check him again at +6 since he is still in the first half of the cycle yet.
 
I would check in 30 minutes. Did you give him some regular food? If he continues to drop and gets to 50 or below, give some gravy off HC food.

Very nice number, but a little early in the cycle.
 
Thanks Sue
I gave him some of his regular FF classics for lunch. I just picked up his bowl about 15 minutes ago. He ate two ounces of his food. Shouldn't I wait for the two hour window before testing again? Or test him in about 45 minutes? It would be a +5 hours.
 
You just want to be sure he is rising - whether it is from the food is fine. You don't want him below 50. Once you see he is rising, not falling, then you can relax and test whenever you want.
 
OK I will test again in 15 minutes. That will make it +5 since his am shot and 45 minutes after he ate his lunch. Is that enough time for the food to have an effect?
 
The gravy should bring him up. We don't want to see him below 50 so 58 is not bad. If he would just surf along for awhile in single digits (above50) that would be fine.
 
I'm off work today and tomorrow so I can watch him. Today is the first time I gave insulin on a lower number. If I had been working today I wld have skipped his shot this morning. I just have to wait and see what his PMPS is tonight now.
 
Again, not a deadly unsafe number, just one you want to be around to steer. It is good to push the envelope a little, shooting lower preshots - as long as you can test, will be there to monitor and steer and feel confident doing that. You have plenty of data to be a little more daring.
 
I'm off work today and tomorrow so I can watch him. Today is the first time I gave insulin on a lower number. If I had been working today I wld have skipped his shot this morning. I just have to wait and see what his PMPS is tonight now.
You're into "Advanced Dosing 101" now, Lisa. ;)
 
I know Kris but it's kind of a little scary:eek:
Thanks @Sue and Oliver (GA) for all your help today. I'd rather Smoky be an FD free kitty but I'm so glad to be a part of the FD family too.:) Hugs to all those who have helped me on my journey.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I know Kris but it's kind of a little scary:eek:
Thanks @Sue and Oliver (GA) for all your help today. I'd rather Smoky be an FD free kitty but I'm so glad to be a part of the FD family too.:) Hugs to all those who have helped me on my journey.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I know it's scary, Lisa. Look how far you've come though in knowing how to choose doses, steer numbers and give advice to others. Amazing!
 
Could be:p his PMPS was 209. Is that a little bit of a bounce. I'm thinking about what dose to give him tonight. Maybe 1.6 units again? I decided to give him a little less with his early drop today, getting ready to give him 1.5U
 
Last edited:
Could be:p his PMPS was 209. Is that a little bit of a bounce. I'm thinking about what dose to give him tonight. Maybe 1.6 units again? I decided to give him a little less with his early drop today, getting ready to give him 1.5U
I like 1.5 u. Yes, that's an itty bitty teeny tiny bounce ... wish Teasel could see it. :confused:;)
 
Smoky is hanging out with me again tonight.:) love this pic of him snuggling.
 

Attachments

  • IMAG0319.jpg
    IMAG0319.jpg
    62.1 KB · Views: 215
Last edited:
Smoky's AMPS was 234 so up a little bit this morning. I don't know if I shld open new vial of insulin or not. The old one is about 90% gone and will be 10 weeks old this Wednesday. I would rather open a new vial on Sat night or Sunday morning since I am off work those 2 days and can monitor BG and see how he feels on it.

I'm thinking about giving him either 1.6 or eyeballing 1.7 on a U100 for am dose. He is feeling a little better and I should be getting the budesonide today or tomorrow so I can start him on that. I have been giving him the same dose so I don't know if he needs a little more to get him into those nice green numbers.:facepalm:
 
Smoky's AMPS was 234 so up a little bit this morning. I don't know if I shld open new vial of insulin or not. The old one is about 90% gone and will be 10 weeks old this Wednesday. I would rather open a new vial on Sat night or Sunday morning since I am off work those 2 days and can monitor BG and see how he feels on it.

I'm thinking about giving him either 1.6 or eyeballing 1.7 on a U100 for am dose. He is feeling a little better and I should be getting the budesonide today or tomorrow so I can start him on that. I have been giving him the same dose so I don't know if he needs a little more to get him into those nice green numbers.:facepalm:
I see you gave him 1.6 u this AM. That's fine I think. I agree with you about waiting until your days off to start a new vial of insulin. If you can get through this week until next Sunday, I'd keep using the vial you have now. It doesn't look to me that it's losing its potency.
 
I thought I would check him at +4 and +8 today just to see how his BG does on the 1.6U dose after that tiny bounce he had. How are you and Teasel doing these days? :bighug:Did you decide about going back to using Lantus for him again?
 
I thought I would check him at +4 and +8 today just to see how his BG does on the 1.6U dose after that tiny bounce he had. How are you and Teasel doing these days? :bighug:Did you decide about going back to using Lantus for him again?
Yes, I thought his little bounce was cute compared to the Mount Everest types Teasel gives me. Teasel is fine. I'm still thinking about giving Lantus another try because it would satisfy my curiosity if nothing else. I knew nothing when he was on it at the beginning. It's very cheap here compared to the US and I can buy it over the counter - don't even need my vet's OK. I suspect he'd bounce like crazy on Lantus too. Like you, I like ProZinc's flexibility and "what you see is what you get" with a dose - no depot to think about.
 
OK so Smoky dropped even more today than yesterday. AMPS: 234, +4: 102
I swear my boy is trying to send me into a panic attack.:eek: Big question is shld I test him again at +6 or +8 as I had planned to do today. He ate 2.75 oz for breakfast, he is eating his lunch now.
 
OK so Smoky dropped even more today than yesterday. AMPS: 234, +4: 102
I swear my boy is trying to send me into a panic attack.:eek: Big question is shld I test him again at +6 or +8 as I had planned to do today. He ate 2.75 oz for breakfast, he is eating his lunch now.
Beautiful number! Yes, I'd test at +6 and +8 to see where he goes. You can worry about what dose to give tonight later after you have more data. :)
 
Just tested him at +6 and he was at 99.
He is eating a little bit of his FF chunky turkey. He doesn't look like he feels too well. Sleeping a lot and not eating too much. Maybe having a flare up of his pancreatitis.
 
Just tested him at +6 and he was at 99.
He is eating a little bit of his FF chunky turkey. He doesn't look like he feels too well. Sleeping a lot and not eating too much. Maybe having a flare up of his pancreatitis.
He probably won't go too much lower but a +8 test is a good idea. I hope you get the budesonide soon. Have you given cerenia and/or pain meds today?
 
I called the pharmacy and his prescription for the budesonide will be ready to pick up today. I wld rather give him that this afternoon so I can keep an eye on his BG today since I have to work tomorrow.
 
Smoky is laying on the bed with me again purring up a storm.:) OK he got up and wants his bowl, not happy that he has to wait. He is giving me the saddest look ever but he just finished eating 1 hour and 15 min ago.
 
Smoky PMPS was 190 so I don't think that's too bad. I thought to give him 1.5 units tonight. Think that will be OK. Plus I don't know what the budesonide may do yet to his BG if anything.
 
Smoky PMPS was 190 so I don't think that's too bad. I thought to give him 1.5 units tonight. Think that will be OK. Plus I don't know what the budesonide may do yet to his BG if anything.
That dose is fine. Such nice numbers ... sigh ... Has he received a dose of budesonide yet? Are there any side effects you need to watch for?
 
I picked up the budesonide but it will be hard to give him one of them. They are big clear capsules and you can see the loose powder like texture in them. I'm worried they will come apart in his mouth if he doesn't swallow one right away.
 
I'm going to go and give him his pm shot and then see about giving him the budesonide.:nailbiting: well, he didn't have any problem swallowing them so that's a relief.
 
Last edited:
I was reading up on any side effects for the budesonide. I don't have a pill gun, he is very good about swallowing pills.
 
The budesonide made Smoky a little sleepy so we both took a cat nap.:cat:
I didn't give him the cerenia yet, poor guy has had a bad day already. I've been giving it to him three days on, one day off.
 
The budesonide made Smoky a little sleepy so we both took a cat nap.:cat:
I didn't give him the cerenia yet, poor guy has had a bad day already. I've been giving it to him three days on, one day off.
I think I read that the budesonide has to be given for a while to show a positive effect, right?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top