Lisa and Smoky
Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-to-prozinc-part-6.171694/page-2#post-1883268
The journey continues on:
The journey continues on:
Just seeing this now, Lisa. I've been out. Lovely greens even if you're doing some nail biting. Did you do another test after the 58? You might want to for info gathering.Should I test him again at +6 or will he be fine until his +8 test?
Nice. Good thing you have those U100s around!I just updated Smokys SS, 93 at + 6.5
You're into "Advanced Dosing 101" now, Lisa.I'm off work today and tomorrow so I can watch him. Today is the first time I gave insulin on a lower number. If I had been working today I wld have skipped his shot this morning. I just have to wait and see what his PMPS is tonight now.



I know it's scary, Lisa. Look how far you've come though in knowing how to choose doses, steer numbers and give advice to others. Amazing!I know Kris but it's kind of a little scary
Thanks @Sue and Oliver (GA) for all your help today. I'd rather Smoky be an FD free kitty but I'm so glad to be a part of the FD family too.Hugs to all those who have helped me on my journey.
![]()
I like 1.5 u. Yes, that's an itty bitty teeny tiny bounce ... wish Teasel could see it.Could behis PMPS was 209. Is that a little bit of a bounce. I'm thinking about what dose to give him tonight. Maybe 1.6 units again? I decided to give him a little less with his early drop today, getting ready to give him 1.5U

I see you gave him 1.6 u this AM. That's fine I think. I agree with you about waiting until your days off to start a new vial of insulin. If you can get through this week until next Sunday, I'd keep using the vial you have now. It doesn't look to me that it's losing its potency.Smoky's AMPS was 234 so up a little bit this morning. I don't know if I shld open new vial of insulin or not. The old one is about 90% gone and will be 10 weeks old this Wednesday. I would rather open a new vial on Sat night or Sunday morning since I am off work those 2 days and can monitor BG and see how he feels on it.
I'm thinking about giving him either 1.6 or eyeballing 1.7 on a U100 for am dose. He is feeling a little better and I should be getting the budesonide today or tomorrow so I can start him on that. I have been giving him the same dose so I don't know if he needs a little more to get him into those nice green numbers.![]()
Did you decide about going back to using Lantus for him again?Yes, I thought his little bounce was cute compared to the Mount Everest types Teasel gives me. Teasel is fine. I'm still thinking about giving Lantus another try because it would satisfy my curiosity if nothing else. I knew nothing when he was on it at the beginning. It's very cheap here compared to the US and I can buy it over the counter - don't even need my vet's OK. I suspect he'd bounce like crazy on Lantus too. Like you, I like ProZinc's flexibility and "what you see is what you get" with a dose - no depot to think about.I thought I would check him at +4 and +8 today just to see how his BG does on the 1.6U dose after that tiny bounce he had. How are you and Teasel doing these days?Did you decide about going back to using Lantus for him again?
Beautiful number! Yes, I'd test at +6 and +8 to see where he goes. You can worry about what dose to give tonight later after you have more data.OK so Smoky dropped even more today than yesterday. AMPS: 234, +4: 102
I swear my boy is trying to send me into a panic attack.Big question is shld I test him again at +6 or +8 as I had planned to do today. He ate 2.75 oz for breakfast, he is eating his lunch now.
He probably won't go too much lower but a +8 test is a good idea. I hope you get the budesonide soon. Have you given cerenia and/or pain meds today?Just tested him at +6 and he was at 99.
He is eating a little bit of his FF chunky turkey. He doesn't look like he feels too well. Sleeping a lot and not eating too much. Maybe having a flare up of his pancreatitis.
Good that he's showing signs of wanting food.Smoky is laying on the bed with me again purring up a storm.OK he got up and wants his bowl, not happy that he has to wait. He is giving me the saddest look ever but he just finished eating 1 hour and 15 min ago.
That dose is fine. Such nice numbers ... sigh ... Has he received a dose of budesonide yet? Are there any side effects you need to watch for?Smoky PMPS was 190 so I don't think that's too bad. I thought to give him 1.5 units tonight. Think that will be OK. Plus I don't know what the budesonide may do yet to his BG if anything.
well, he didn't have any problem swallowing them so that's a relief.Do you have a pill gun?I picked up the budesonide but it will be hard to give him one of them. They are big clear capsules and you can see the loose powder like texture in them. I'm worried they will come apart in his mouth if he doesn't swallow one right away.
I see that you've already given him pill. Good boy!I was reading up on any side effects for the budesonide. I don't have a pill gun, he is very good about swallowing pills.

I think I read that the budesonide has to be given for a while to show a positive effect, right?The budesonide made Smoky a little sleepy so we both took a cat nap.
I didn't give him the cerenia yet, poor guy has had a bad day already. I've been giving it to him three days on, one day off.