Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 7

Status
Not open for further replies.
It probably does take a while for effects to show up. Smoky has always been extremely sensitive to meds, especially steroids. He has taken them quite a bit in the past, most antibiotics don't work all that well on him. I gave him the cerenia, he gets the day off tomorrow except for the budesonide.
 
Last edited:
I gave Smoky the budesonide and his BG went up slightly for AMPS: 287
I plan to give him the 1.6U this morning to keep him safe while I am at work.
I don't know how fast the budesonide takes effect but that is a big bounce from last night. Any ideas or thoughts anyone?
 
I gave Smoky the budesonide and his BG went up slightly for AMPS: 287
I plan to give him the 1.6U this morning to keep him safe while I am at work.
I don't know how fast the budesonide takes effect but that is a big bounce from last night. Any ideas or thoughts anyone?
Yes, he's up a fair bit since PMPS but it's still a yellow. It might be the new meds but you'll need more data to know. Maybe it was a little bounce from his blue PMPS. How often is the budesonide given? Any after effects this AM from last night's dose?
 
It's given once a day preferably in the evenings as the med works the best at that time. I checked his BG before the budesonide was given. He was a bit more hungry today but that's to be expected from the new med. The vet suggested I check him for ketones again since his appetite has been down lately.
 
Smoky was 223 for PMPS. He gets his pm shot in about 15 minutes and his budesonide shortly after that. I'm trying to figure out if I shld give 1.6U again or maybe a 1.7? It wld appear the new med is raising his blood sugar and causing a little nausea.
 
Smoky was 223 for PMPS. He gets his pm shot in about 15 minutes and his budesonide shortly after that. I'm trying to figure out if I shld give 1.6U again or maybe a 1.7? It wld appear the new med is raising his blood sugar and causing a little nausea.
I'd try 1.7 u because you're home to check before bed. Fingers crossed the side effects diminish over time.
 
I thought the 1.7 units might be better especially if the steroid is raising his blood sugar somewhat. I considered giving him 1.8U but thought that might cause a big bounce.
 
I gave him the 1.7 units and the budesonide. He didn't look like he swallowed it so I checked in his mouth. The pill was sitting in the back of his throat. I gave it a little push back and checked again and didn't see it anymore.
I see what you mean about getting a pill gun now. He doesn't usually have any trouble taking pills.
How do I know when I do a before bed test that the BG is accurate and not a result of the med?
 
I gave him the 1.7 units and the budesonide. He didn't look like he swallowed it so I checked in his mouth. The pill was sitting in the back of his throat. I gave it a little push back and checked again and didn't see it anymore.
I see what you mean about getting a pill gun now. He doesn't usually have any trouble taking pills.
How do I know when I do a before bed test that the BG is accurate and not a result of the med?
You might want to order a pill gun. ;) Re meds effect: I think you'll have to collect a bunch of data going forward to see if there's a new pattern of higher BGs developing.
 
Poor Smoky is sleeping a lot plus a big decrease in appetite. Steroids usually make you want to eat more. I have to call his vet in the morning and see if it is safe to give him an appetite stimulant.
 
I did post on health about meds used for IBD. Smoky was 297 at +3 after pm shot.
I'm not even sure about how to figure out what dose I shld give him right now.
I don't know whether to go by his preshot BG or by how much the budesonide may raise it during the cycle.
 
I did post on health about meds used for IBD. Smoky was 297 at +3 after pm shot.
I'm not even sure about how to figure out what dose I shld give him right now.
I don't know whether to go by his preshot BG or by how much the budesonide may raise it during the cycle.
I see that he's into lower yellow this AM. I still think you need to gather some data over a few more days with the new med on board. You might find that it's a short-lived elevation of BG for the evening only and might end up giving more insulin for PM. Too early to tell. Meanwhile, do what you're doing and dose on the PSs.
 
I called my vet with an update on Smoky. She suggested skipping a dose of the budesonide for tonight. I told her his appetite dropped sharply since starting the new med. He also seems lethargic and has been vomiting up food.
 
I called my vet with an update on Smoky. She suggested skipping a dose of the budesonide for tonight. I told her his appetite dropped sharply since starting the new med. He also seems lethargic and has been vomiting up food.
Sounds like it doesn't agree with him. You'll know for sure if he perks up tomorrow.
 
Smoky's BG was 290 for PMPS.
He is almost into the pinks:nailbiting:
Trying to figure out what dose to give.
I'm guessing 1.6 units would be a good one to give again.
 
I picked up a can of Tiki cat gourmet carnivore Beef Liver and Lamb food for Smoky. He normally hates any healthy food I give him so was a little suspicious when he gobbled it down.
I looked at the label and the sixth ingredient is dextrose anhydrous which i think is sugar.:nailbiting:
 
I picked up a can of Tiki cat gourmet carnivore Beef Liver and Lamb food for Smoky. He normally hates any healthy food I give him so was a little suspicious when he gobbled it down.
I looked at the label and the sixth ingredient is dextrose anhydrous which i think is sugar.:nailbiting:
If it's in sixth place it might not be enough to affect his BG. You'll be able to tell when you test. If he likes it and needs to eat more you might have to dose around it. Yes, we aim for low carb food but sometimes other factors have to be attended to.
 
Smoky PMPS was 151, it's been almost 24 hours without budesonide. Not sure what to do now about dosing.
You gave 1 u on a 144 on 01/29 and it proved to be a bit too exciting afterward. You have options: 0.5, 0.6, 0.75, 0.8 using either U40s or U100s. You're at home so maybe try 0.75 u?
 
I'm trying him on some new low carb canned foods. He seems to like the Wellness Core Beef, Venison, and Lamb formula so far...
It's hard to find food he likes that doesn't contain ingredients he is allergic to. He loves the FF but nearly very flavor there is has poultry by products in it
 
You gave 1 u on a 144 on 01/29 and it proved to be a bit too exciting afterward. You have options: 0.5, 0.6, 0.75, 0.8 using either U40s or U100s. You're at home so maybe try 0.75 u?
You're right although I'm trying to factor in the budesonide possibly raising his BG again. The vet said it wld take about two weeks for new med to affect his BG. I've already noticed that it seems to be higher while on the budesonide. The 0.75 sounds good to me, is a u100 better to use for that?
 
You're right although I'm trying to factor in the budesonide possibly raising his BG again. The vet said it wld take about two weeks for new med to affect his BG. I've already noticed that it seems to be higher while on the budesonide
ARe you planning on giving the budesonide again tonight? If so then you're still in the data gathering stage for how it affects his BG. It's hard to make any definite dosing decisions because of that. If you just look at the PMPS then one of those doses I suggested would work. If you're trying to guesstimate the effect of budesonide, I don't know what to suggest. Maybe dose based on PS for a little longer as you gather data?
 
I was actually thinking along the same lines that you are, drew up 0.6 units for him tonight. Yes I am planning on giving him the budesonide tonight.
 
You're right although I'm trying to factor in the budesonide possibly raising his BG again. The vet said it wld take about two weeks for new med to affect his BG. I've already noticed that it seems to be higher while on the budesonide. The 0.75 sounds good to me, is a u100 better to use for that?
It's tricky to measure 0.75 u on a U100 syringe. It would amount to a skinny 0.8 u. Estimating it on a U40 with half unit marks is probably easier.
 
I gave him the 0.6 units for tonight.
I'll get in a before bed test yet.
I gave him cyproheptadine and cerenia last night. I gave him the budesonide and will give him the denamarin in the morning.
 
Last edited:
That pink this AM is so atypical for him that it must be from the budesonide. You might need to just dose around it if it proves to be a helpful med for his IBD. How's he feeling this AM?
 
He is feeling a little bit better but need to give him the cerenia daily I think. I skipped a dose and he felt lousy.
 
Lisa, I think the meds can be as puzzling as the insulin dose. You are doing the perfect thing: keep data on when and what med is given and what reaction he has, both in terms of behavior, eating and levels. It is a big job on top of the diabetes, but I think it is paying you benefits in figuring out how best to work with the puzzle that is Smoky.

Remember to take time for yourself as you go through this additional stress. :bighug:
 
Smoky PMPS was 240, thinking about 1.6U for tonight? The budesonide seemed to raise his BG last night by his before bed test at +3.
 
Last edited:
He didn't feel too great but he didn't get the cerenia last night. I'm giving it to him tonight and maybe the cyproheptadine for his appetite.I gave him 1.5U for tonight. He was somewhat lethargic last night but seems to be better 12 hours after the pill is given.
 
He didn't feel too great but he didn't get the cerenia last night. I'm giving it to him tonight and maybe the cyproheptadine for his appetite.I gave him 1.5U for tonight. He was somewhat lethargic last night but seems to be better 12 hours after the pill is given.
Hopeful signs that he might tolerate the budesonide after he's on it a little longer.
 
Smoky was 275 for AMPS. I'm wondering if I shld give him more insulin in the morning but am working all weekend.
I am thinking either 1.6U or 1.75 units for am?
 
I gave him the 1.75U for am.
He lost weight again:arghh: I'm really worried about that. He went down to 7.5 lbs back in mid August of 2016. His highest weight since then was 8.6 lbs. He is now at 8.2 lbs and should be at least 12 to 13 lbs.
It's been about five months since his diagnosis and 6 months since he lost all that weight. It's so frustrating:banghead:.
I have tried everything to try to get him to lose weight. I've not really taken any time for myself. I'm the only one taking care of him. Sorry, guess I just needed to vent.
 
I gave him the 1.75U for am.
He lost weight again:arghh: I'm really worried about that. He went down to 7.5 lbs back in mid August of 2016. His highest weight since then was 8.6 lbs. He is now at 8.2 lbs and should be at least 12 to 13 lbs.
It's been about five months since his diagnosis and 6 months since he lost all that weight. It's so frustrating:banghead:.
I have tried everything to try to get him to lose weight. I've not really taken any time for myself. I'm the only one taking care of him. Sorry, guess I just needed to vent.
You're allowed to vent, Lisa. This is a very tough road and yours is tougher than most. Did the vet give you any idea how long before the budesonide should have a positive effect? If his IBD can calm down and his appetite improve that should help with his weight.
 
I can give him the bupe according to my vet while he is taking the budesonide.
He was standing all hunched up last night. Poor Smoky.:(
 
He seems very hungry today compared to last night. He ate a 3 oz can for breakfast, a 3 oz can for lunch, my roommate gave him another 3 oz can late afternoon, he was still pretty hungry it would seem.
I gave him about 3 oz of a 5.5 oz can about an hour after that. He finally decided he was full and is now sitting on my lap.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top