Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 6

Status
Not open for further replies.
Smoky at BG 184 at +2 after pm shot.
I put 1/4 can of food in his feeder for 2 am and one for 4 am my time. He is eating a before bed snack now, another 1/4 can of food. So that would be a +3 snack now, and a +6 and +8 snack for overnight. :D
So no food after +9 hours after pm shot.
He'll be well fueled overnight. :)
 
I saw the 220 PS on yourSS. That's very good considering how little insulin he had yesterday. You now have data showing what happens when you dose normally 12 hours after a NS. Always learning here, aren't we?! :) The 1.6 u should be fine.
 
Just reading through and looked at Smoky's spreadsheet. I would kill for a sheet that looks like that! I'm sorry that Smoky has other health issues that must be affecting his diabetes. He is certainly a much more stable sugar kitty than Teasel or Zoey!
 
Just reading through and looked at Smoky's spreadsheet. I would kill for a sheet that looks like that! I'm sorry that Smoky has other health issues that must be affecting his diabetes. He is certainly a much more stable sugar kitty than Teasel or Zoey!
Yes, Smoky is an exemplary student of the feline diabetes rule book! Teasel just says, "Book? What Book?" :confused:
 
OK Smoky had a similar BG between morning and evening. ( 220 and 214) I have given him the 1.6 unit dose for a few cycles now. He is getting his pm shoot soon so is it better to stick with the 1.6 or try 1.7 to 1.8 units?
I eyeballed the dose and gave him a little less than 1.7 units as far as I cld tell.
 
Last edited:
OK Smoky had a similar BG between morning and evening. ( 220 and 214) I have given him the 1.6 unit dose for a few cycles now. He is getting his pm shoot soon so is it better to stick with the 1.6 or try 1.7 to 1.8 units?
I eyeballed the dose and gave him a little less than 1.7 units as far as I cld tell.
Hi Lisa. I think your "skinny" 1.7 u is fine.
 
Smoky didn't feel well last night at all.
He was nauseous and vomiting up some clear liquid and small pieces of food. We heard him after we went to bed last night.
He is sleeping right now so I will give him some cerenia before bed tonight.
I'm not sure if this is a flare up or not and if I shld give him bupe. He seems to be more nauseous than anything else.
 
Last edited:
Smoky was 144 for AMPS, have to give am shot in 30 minutes or could skip shot today. Any ideas for me? I'm not sure if I want to not give any insulin as it may set it back a little. Is it safe to give 1 unit for am?
 
Last edited:
Smoky was 144 for AMPS, have to give am shot in 30 minutes or could skip shot today. Any ideas for me? I'm not sure if I want to not give any insulin as it may set it back a little. Is it safe to give 1 unit for am?
Yes, I think you can give 1 u. You're home today to monitor, right?
 
You can always steer with a bit of food if he starts going lower than you'd like by +2 or +3. That boy wants to get off the juice! Wouldn't that be great?! :D
 
I think it's time to start part 7. My boy is still feeling a little under the weather. I'm giving him the cerenia again tonight. I decided to give the budesonide a chance so my vet is ordering it on Monday morning. She said I may have to increase his insulin a little as it may raise his BG.

I didn't like the side effects of the chlorambucil although my vet was miffed I didn't want to try that first. It can suppress his bone marrow which scares me a lot. I wld also have to have CBC done every month.
 
I think it's time to start part 7. My boy is still feeling a little under the weather. I'm giving him the cerenia again tonight. I decided to give the budesonide a chance so my vet is ordering it on Monday morning. She said I may have to increase his insulin a little as it may raise his BG.

I didn't like the side effects of the chlorambucil although my vet was miffed I didn't want to try that first. It can suppress his bone marrow which scares me a lot. I wld also have to have CBC done every month.
I would be leery of using chlorambucil based on those side effects too. I saw that Larry (&Kitties) gave you advice which is good because he knows much more about the medical side of things, being a vet tech (I think). I've also seen many references on here to using budesonide, not chlorambucil.
 
I didn't get too much sleep last night as I was up with Smoky. I just picked up his breakfast so going to set an alarm for three hours from now to get a test in.
First, going to start part 7.;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top