Lisa and Smoky
Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-to-prozinc-part-3.169838/page-2#post-1855583
I'm on to part 4, last thread was getting a little wordy.
I'm on to part 4, last thread was getting a little wordy.
I'd test again at +6. Lunch will help. Teasel has done the same thing to me today and he'll be getting another ear poke shortly.Do you think that Smoky will drop any more today? He is still in the first half of cycle. I just gave him his lunch so that will raise his BG a little. I'm asking that question since he dropped a bit in 4 hours.Smoky has always been a little bit of a deep diver, at least he was on the vetsulin.![]()
Looks good.I tested him at +8, had some errands to run today. His BG was 179.
You didn't mess up anything, Lisa. Always go with your gut - he's your kitty.I decided not to go up to 2.25 or 2.5 units today. I had one of those " gut" feelings to go a little lower. I hope I didn't mess things up too much.![]()

Makes me happy to see that some kitties actually respond as they should to ProZinc!Maybe Smoky could send some of those vibes to Teasel.![]()

PMPS is fairly close to AMPS and the AM dose of 2.1 u gave you two nice blues that weren't too low. You could try 2.25 u if you can test before bed.Smoky PMPS was 252: Relion meter
300: AT2 meter
Again, just trying to establish a reference point. I'm not trying to compare meters. BG numbers are not too far off considering. Now, it's soon time for his pm shoot. I find myself looking at his SS and trying to figure out the right dose again.![]()
Safe choice, Lisa.I'm not sure if I can do a bedtime test tonight. Smoky is just finishing his dinner and I'm getting his shot around now. I have to go in to work extra early tomorrow so going to bed in two hours.
Maybe 2.1 since I can't test tonight.
I have about 30 minutes to figure it out.I'm a bit late checking in. What was your decision? I know you can get home earlier today.Smoky was 180 for am reading.
I'm deciding between 2.1 and 2.25u for am shot.I have about 30 minutes to figure it out.
![]()
That sounds good.I gave him the 2.1u for am. I'm running home for lunch later
Yes, Lisa, that's a really good thing. You don't have any mid cycle numbers for today so I suggest giving 2 u again tonight. Smoky might gone into some green but you have no way of knowing. If you can get a before bed test that will be good data. Are you at work tomorrow?Is it a good thing if BG's are similar between AMPS and PMPS in the same day? If so, does this require a change in dosing? Also, if giving a dose halfway between 2 and 2.25 units, how much would that be?
a bottle of ProZinc should last 6 months in the refrigerator. If it goes bad, it will become cloudy. Mine bottle was good for 6 months.How can you tell when you need a new bottle of prozinc? Does the solution get cloudy looking? I'm asking because Smoky started on his vial on Nov 23 so about 6 and a half weeks ago.
No, I think 2 u is too much after that low, Lisa. He'll be more insulin sensitive for a bit because he's used up some (a lot) of his liver reserves in bouncing. I'd be conservative and give him 1.5 u, no more. You can always raise it over the next few cycles. Poor you - overnight tests and you have to work today.Update for Smoky: AMPS 262, he definitely bounced this morning after dropping so low last night. See spreadsheet. I don't think it's a good idea to give him the 2 units again for am dose. Any suggestions?
The insulin will be fine. I've left mine out of the fridge a few hours before with no ill effect. I get 2 months + out of a vial of ProZinc with Teasel's dosing. It lasts longer than Vetsulin.Relion meter
Yep slept 4 hours.
I thought 1.5 units too. I'm so dumb that I left insulin out all night. put it back in fridge about 40 min ago hope it's still good
You're probably OK. If you find his numbers going up and staying higher that's a clue that the insulin might be less potent. The next several days will tell you.How long can the prozinc stay out? I left it out since 8 pm the night before so 11 hours.
I suggest keeping it at 1.5 u - 2 u again tonight just in case he's still insulin sensitive. You can always raise it tomorrow AM.Smoky at 228 BG for PMPS. I gave him a reduced dose for am due to his hypo last night and subsequent bounce this morning. I'm thinking about what dose I shld give him for tonight.
I think 1.5 u is a good dose in the aftermath of last night's excitement. I'm sure you'll want an uneventful evening/overnight.I'm so glad u said that Kris. My gut is telling me to give same dose of 1.5 units tonight. I was worried about him still recovering from last night
Yep I slept less than 4 hours last night so need a good nights sleep.I think 1.5 u is a good dose in the aftermath of last night's excitement. I'm sure you'll want an uneventful evening/overnight.![]()



Late to the party, Lisa. Trying to get my 2017 SS up. I see you gave him 1.6 u. I think he'll be OK with that. It's hard to know how much to drop the dose after a hypo number and then how much/how slowly to raise it. All you can do is try things - being cautious, of course - log the data for future reference.I think Smoky may still be in a bit of a bounce yet. I gave him 1.5u last night and he was 228. His BG was 274 for AMPS. I was thinking about giving him 1.75u for am shoot. I am home today to monitor and steer with food if necessary.
My question is if I give the higher dose will it cause him to continue bouncing? Should I just continue with the lower dose and wait a few cycles yet?