? Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 4

Status
Not open for further replies.
Do you think that Smoky will drop any more today? He is still in the first half of cycle. I just gave him his lunch so that will raise his BG a little. I'm asking that question since he dropped a bit in 4 hours.Smoky has always been a little bit of a deep diver, at least he was on the vetsulin.:cool:
 
Last edited:
Do you think that Smoky will drop any more today? He is still in the first half of cycle. I just gave him his lunch so that will raise his BG a little. I'm asking that question since he dropped a bit in 4 hours.Smoky has always been a little bit of a deep diver, at least he was on the vetsulin.:cool:
I'd test again at +6. Lunch will help. Teasel has done the same thing to me today and he'll be getting another ear poke shortly.
 
I decided not to go up to 2.25 or 2.5 units today. I had one of those " gut" feelings to go a little lower. I hope I didn't mess things up too much.:rolleyes:
 
I decided not to go up to 2.25 or 2.5 units today. I had one of those " gut" feelings to go a little lower. I hope I didn't mess things up too much.:rolleyes:
You didn't mess up anything, Lisa. Always go with your gut - he's your kitty. :) He comes around very well, responds quite predictably and doesn't bounce - all really good things in your favour.
 
How can you tell when you need a new bottle of prozinc? Does the solution get cloudy looking? I'm asking because Smoky started on his vial on Nov 23 so about 6 and a half weeks ago.
 
Smoky PMPS was 252: Relion meter
300: AT2 meter
Again, just trying to establish a reference point. I'm not trying to compare meters. BG numbers are not too far off considering. Now, it's soon time for his pm shoot. I find myself looking at his SS and trying to figure out the right dose again.:facepalm:
 
Smoky PMPS was 252: Relion meter
300: AT2 meter
Again, just trying to establish a reference point. I'm not trying to compare meters. BG numbers are not too far off considering. Now, it's soon time for his pm shoot. I find myself looking at his SS and trying to figure out the right dose again.:facepalm:
PMPS is fairly close to AMPS and the AM dose of 2.1 u gave you two nice blues that weren't too low. You could try 2.25 u if you can test before bed.
 
I'm not sure if I can do a bedtime test tonight. Smoky is just finishing his dinner and I'm getting his shot around now. I have to go in to work extra early tomorrow so going to bed in two hours.
Maybe 2.1 since I can't test tonight.
 
Is it a good thing if BG's are similar between AMPS and PMPS in the same day? If so, does this require a change in dosing? Also, if giving a dose halfway between 2 and 2.25 units, how much would that be?
 
Last edited:
Is it a good thing if BG's are similar between AMPS and PMPS in the same day? If so, does this require a change in dosing? Also, if giving a dose halfway between 2 and 2.25 units, how much would that be?
Yes, Lisa, that's a really good thing. You don't have any mid cycle numbers for today so I suggest giving 2 u again tonight. Smoky might gone into some green but you have no way of knowing. If you can get a before bed test that will be good data. Are you at work tomorrow?
 
I am at work tomorrow, my normal schedule is Tues thru Sat. I'm home on Sunday and Monday. I gave Smoky 2.1 units tonight. I go in later on Saturdays so can get in a +3 test before bed.
 
How can you tell when you need a new bottle of prozinc? Does the solution get cloudy looking? I'm asking because Smoky started on his vial on Nov 23 so about 6 and a half weeks ago.
a bottle of ProZinc should last 6 months in the refrigerator. If it goes bad, it will become cloudy. Mine bottle was good for 6 months.
 
Just checked smoky at +3 after pm shot and his BG was 47! :( Do I give low carb food or some high carb food? Also, when shld I check him again?
 
Last edited:
Update for Smoky: AMPS 262, he definitely bounced this morning after dropping so low last night. See spreadsheet. I don't think it's a good idea to give him the 2 units again for am dose. Any suggestions?
 
Update for Smoky: AMPS 262, he definitely bounced this morning after dropping so low last night. See spreadsheet. I don't think it's a good idea to give him the 2 units again for am dose. Any suggestions?
No, I think 2 u is too much after that low, Lisa. He'll be more insulin sensitive for a bit because he's used up some (a lot) of his liver reserves in bouncing. I'd be conservative and give him 1.5 u, no more. You can always raise it over the next few cycles. Poor you - overnight tests and you have to work today.

Which meter did you measure those lows with?
 
Relion meter
Yep slept 4 hours.
I thought 1.5 units too. I'm so dumb that I left insulin out all night. put it back in fridge about 40 min ago hope it's still good
 
Here's what I think is going on. You're near/at a good range for Smoky and he's responding very well. He's overcome any residual glucose toxicity/insulin resistance he had from all the weeks of high numbers. This is tricky territory going forward and you have to be away at work all day.
  • Dosing has to be more conservative and if a dose looks good, hold it at least 2 days.
  • Any day that you can get a late afternoon test before his evening meal or at least one evening test, do so.
  • Full or mini curve on a day off
  • Keep a supply of high carb gravy style food on hand.
  • Remember that he'll be extra sensitive to insulin after a very low number.
 
Last edited:
Relion meter
Yep slept 4 hours.
I thought 1.5 units too. I'm so dumb that I left insulin out all night. put it back in fridge about 40 min ago hope it's still good
The insulin will be fine. I've left mine out of the fridge a few hours before with no ill effect. I get 2 months + out of a vial of ProZinc with Teasel's dosing. It lasts longer than Vetsulin.

Good call on the dose - you know what you're doing. :) I asked about which meter because I think in AT terms even though I use FS strips in my AT meter. That combo gives a higher number, like AT strips would. The hypo zone on a human meter is 50 and below.
 
Nice job last night, Lisa. He might be a little higher for a cycle or two if he bounces some. But how lovely that he is requiring less insulin.
 
Smoky at 228 BG for PMPS. I gave him a reduced dose for am due to his hypo last night and subsequent bounce this morning. I'm thinking about what dose I shld give him for tonight.
 
Smoky at 228 BG for PMPS. I gave him a reduced dose for am due to his hypo last night and subsequent bounce this morning. I'm thinking about what dose I shld give him for tonight.
I suggest keeping it at 1.5 u - 2 u again tonight just in case he's still insulin sensitive. You can always raise it tomorrow AM.
 
I'm so glad u said that Kris. My gut is telling me to give same dose of 1.5 units tonight. I was worried about him still recovering from last night
 
I'm so glad u said that Kris. My gut is telling me to give same dose of 1.5 units tonight. I was worried about him still recovering from last night
I think 1.5 u is a good dose in the aftermath of last night's excitement. I'm sure you'll want an uneventful evening/overnight. :)
 
I guess I will have to take it to petsmart tomorrow and let them open battery compartment. Duh! now I know I'm really exhausted. I didn't think to look on the inside of feeder to open battery compartment.:banghead:
 
Last edited:
I think Smoky may still be in a bit of a bounce yet. I gave him 1.5u last night and he was 228. His BG was 274 for AMPS. I was thinking about giving him 1.75u for am shoot. I am home today to monitor and steer with food if necessary.
My question is if I give the higher dose will it cause him to continue bouncing? Should I just continue with the lower dose and wait a few cycles yet?
 
I think Smoky may still be in a bit of a bounce yet. I gave him 1.5u last night and he was 228. His BG was 274 for AMPS. I was thinking about giving him 1.75u for am shoot. I am home today to monitor and steer with food if necessary.
My question is if I give the higher dose will it cause him to continue bouncing? Should I just continue with the lower dose and wait a few cycles yet?
Late to the party, Lisa. Trying to get my 2017 SS up. I see you gave him 1.6 u. I think he'll be OK with that. It's hard to know how much to drop the dose after a hypo number and then how much/how slowly to raise it. All you can do is try things - being cautious, of course - log the data for future reference.

I had to decide how much to lower Teasel's dose after his PM no shot. Still a bit of a guessing game for me ...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top