Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 3

Status
Not open for further replies.
Roommate said he was nauseous this morning so going to give a 1/4 tab of cerenia. When is the best time to give that to him? On an empty stomach or how long after a meal? Smoky tends to get sick when given pills on a completely empty tummy.
I just checked a prescription bottle that had Cerenia in it for Teasel. There was no mention of food being needed or not. I'd give it with food if Smoky does better that way.
 
I can do a before bed test but usually only a +2 or maybe a +3 if I go to bed very late.
My concern he that he usually goes up a little bit in first two hours and then can drop down quite a bit from +4 to +5. I am sleeping then so it makes me worry and lose sleep.
 
I think the vet said something about it to me once. I'll give him the 2.5u for tonight and try to squeeze in at least a +2 or +2.5
 
I can do a before bed test but usually only a +2 or maybe a +3 if I go to bed very late.
My concern he that he usually goes up a little bit in first two hours and then can drop down quite a bit from +4 to +5. I am sleeping then so it makes me worry and lose sleep.
They often do go up a bit after eating. You could give 2 u or a hair over if you're more comfortable with that.
 
Quick check online says Cerenia shouldn't be given to dogs on an empty stomach - can cause vomiting. I doubt that cats are different.
 
AMPS was 198 so I think giving him a little over 2u wld be a good idea. I was too tired to stay up for a before bed test.:oops:
That sounds good, Lisa. And you're allowed to be too tired to get a before bed test. :) You've slipped right into sliding scale dosing with barely a blip ...
 
Does that really happen with our sugar babies?:)
It can but as we say, ECID. You're still tinkering with Smoky's dose range. You've learned quickly how to respond to different PSs so even if he's the type of kitty who needs variable dosing, you'll be able to take it in stride. Early days yet ...
 
Merry Christmas Kris, I gave him 2.25u for pm and am this morning. I thought it wld be OK since his BG was nearly the same in the morning as it was last night.
Should I be worried about him dropping too low with that dose?
 
Smoky was at 115: AMPS, He was extremely hungry so I fed him his breakfast. I think he earned a no shot for today. I will probably have to give a higher dose for pm so am hoping he doesn't get too high for PMPS.
The only other option is to give him a shot 2 hours after feeding. I actually tested him 11 hours after pm shot but didn't realize I was an hour early. I've been a zombie lately from lack of sleep. Any advice?
 
Last edited:
Smoky was at 115: AMPS, He was extremely hungry so I fed him his breakfast. I think he earned a no shot for today. I will probably have to give a higher dose for pm so am hoping he doesn't get too high for PMPS.
The only other option is to give him a shot 2 hours after feeding. I actually tested him 11 hours after pm shot but didn't realize I was an hour early. I've been a zombie lately from lack of sleep. Any advice?
Hi Lisa,

Wow! He really wants to give you good numbers! :) It's tricky finding a good dose if you wait 2 hours after feeding. You'd need one that was depleted by PM dose time or else you'd have to move that time as well. I say leave it as a no shot for today and deal with the higher PMPS. Are you home today to get some tests in?

Another thing you could do today: work out a plan for how to build some stall time in when he throws a lower number and think about a low dose range you can use when this happens. It looks like you'll be seeing more of these events. Good news but stressful.
 
I am home to get some tests in later. I need to get a few more hours sleep. I'll make sure all the food is picked up and check him a few hours after feeding today and see how he is.

It's very difficult to set time aside in the morning for stalling. I have more flexibility in the pm cycle for that. I have both work and school so it is hard.
I am so glad I am home testing as I don't want to think what cld happen if I just blindly gave him same dose without checking BG first.:facepalm:
 
I'm a little puzzled nowo_O I checked Smoky +5.5 hours after AMPS and his BG was 127. It was 115 for am reading and he didn't have his morning shot. I have to say this is a new situation for me to be in. I haven't a clue where to go from here.
 
I'm a little puzzled nowo_O I checked Smoky +5.5 hours after AMPS and his BG was 127. It was 115 for am reading and he didn't have his morning shot. I have to say this is a new situation for me to be in. I haven't a clue where to go from here.
Well son of a gun, Lisa! This could mean that his pancreas is working a bit. Great news. It could mean remission down the line but you have a way to go yet. The PMPS test will be an important one to help decide on a dose. You might be dropping down significantly in dose.
 
Last edited:
Thanks Kris! I figured since he was an older cat when diagnosed he had far less of a chance for going into remission.
He certainly seems to feel better today.
Smoky had his lunch already and is snoozing by the heater again. :D
I am really surprised his BG is still low yet but he does still have about 5 hrs before PMPS test
 
Thanks Kris! I figured since he was an older cat when diagnosed he had far less of a chance for going into remission.
He certainly seems to feel better today.
Smoky had his lunch already and is snoozing by the heater again. :D
I am really surprised his BG is still low yet but he does still have about 5 hrs before PMPS test
All good news! He's giving you a Christmas present. :)
 
Yep I guess he is. I'm glad that he is feeling better. Are FD kitties usually really hungry when their BG is lower? Smoky has always been very vocal during feeding times. He was extra loud this morning and my poor roommate was getting annoyed. ;)
 
Smoky is hanging out on my bed with me again.:D
 

Attachments

  • IMAG0301.jpg
    IMAG0301.jpg
    26.3 KB · Views: 148
Yep I guess he is. I'm glad that he is feeling better. Are FD kitties usually really hungry when their BG is lower? Smoky has always been very vocal during feeding times. He was extra loud this morning and my poor roommate was getting annoyed. ;)
I think they can be hungry when it's higher or lower. Many of us have noticed various behaviours that seem to coincide with certain BG numbers. Mr. B.'s mom noticed that he was super thirsty when his BG nose dived and he wanted to drink from the toilet and shower. Good to make a mental note of these things.
 
He is part Maine coon and part Russian blue. The light colored hair on his sides is where he was shaved for the ultrasound.
Russian blue cats have a very light gray undercoat and a double layer of hair for topcoat which is a shiny dark blue-gray in color. I miss his luxurious shiny coat he had before his diagnosis occurred.
 
He is part Maine coon and part Russian blue. The light colored hair on his sides is where he was shaved for the ultrasound.
Russian blue cats have a very light gray undercoat and a double layer of hair for topcoat which is a shiny dark blue-gray in color. I miss his luxurious shiny coat he had before his diagnosis occurred.
It'll come back as he feels better, Lisa. He's been through a lot.
 
I know, I think we have both been put thru the wringer. I can see some improvement in his coat, his fur is softer than it was before. Also, most of his hair has grown back in now that he lost from his allergies.
 
I wonder what his PMPS is going to be tonight. Smoky has about an hour before his pm test. I expect his BG to be higher and think it would be good data to have on hand. I will be able to see how his numbers change after 24 hours without insulin.
 
OK so Smokys PMPS today was 233, it was 227 last night. I gave him 2.25u minus one big drop on Sunday night. My big question is shld I give same dose for pm tonight? He was too low to get an am shot (115) so his 233 doesn't seem too bad for not having any insulin for nearly 24 hours.
 
BTW, I can do a mid day test at lunchtime tomorrow if I need to. I usually end up with five minutes to eat my lunch before my lunch break is over. I have to take care of my fur baby though so guess I will have to do it.:smuggrin:
 
OK so Smokys PMPS today was 233, it was 227 last night. I gave him 2.25u minus one big drop on Sunday night. My big question is shld I give same dose for pm tonight? He was too low to get an am shot (115) so his 233 doesn't seem too bad for not having any insulin for nearly 24 hours.
Yes, a PS that was too low to shoot usually means a dose decrease is needed. What do you think of trying 2 u?
 
Interesting times when they get to better numbers.
I don't know which is more stressful, it seems easier in some ways to treat high BG numbers. Lower numbers you worry more about them going too low and high numbers about damage done to organs. I'm just rambling and these are just weird thoughts that I get from time to time. What can you do? We will do anything for our "fur" kids.:)
 
Last edited:
I don't know which is more stressful, it seems easier in some ways to treat high BG numbers. Lower numbers you worry more about them going too low and high numbers about damage done to organs. I'm just rambling and these are just weird thoughts that I get from time to time. What can you do? We will do anything for our "fur" kids.:)
Yes, we will! I try to keep sane by remembering that cats tolerate hyperglycemia fairly well but a bad hypo can be lethal.
 
Oh we all understand! We hope and long for those lower numbers...then we panic when they show up! I know I got a green preshot once and I completely panicked...got dizzy and scared even though I KNEW she was safe and I shouldn't dose...I had to get someone to tell me that it was okay!
 
Smoky was lower this morning than yesterday's AMPS. His BG was 104 for am so I'm not going to give him a shot. I am going to come home at lunchtime to check and feed him, wld be around +5 hours.
 
Last edited:
I am thinking he needs a lower dose for pm maybe so that he will be high enough in morning to get insulin. Any ideas or thoughts on that?
 
Wow! Yeah you might want to reduce some...2 shots are certainly preferable. I'd say a small reduction will hopefully keep him in good numbers and give you 2 shootable preshots.
 
I agree with Rachel. One non-shootable PS usually means a reduction is in order. Good you can test around +5. Your PMPS will help you decide on the next dose. He's doing great - so happy for you and Smoky! :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top