I've never tried Teasel's paw pads. He's really good with the ear pokes and my technique is vastly improved compared to to the beginningso far so good, but I test him with paw pads instead. Its time to check his BG again. BRB
I'd try that. Can you do one test before bed tonight?I'm thinking about giving him either 2.25 or 2.5 depending on what his PMPS is later
I don't know what to say about this, Lisa. He has allergies. Have you ever sensed there might be asthma involved? Does he seem to be in distress? How was he earlier today? Was this sudden in onset? Does your current vet have after hours at her clinic so you could call for advice?Smokys PMPS was 228 but I noticed he is breathing very hard. I can see his nostrils flaring and his sides go in. It is very noticeable since he is still underweight, about 8.7 lbs last time I checked him. I am worried about his breathing as I've never seem him do that before today. I check him for ketones every Monday and he has been negative for weeks now.
I wonder if it's a sensitivity reaction to something in the ProZinc. I read somewhere that it can cause a reaction in cats who are sensitive to fish or maybe it was salmon in particular. I've just been looking for that info but can't find it. The other thing that can be associated with rapid breathing is ketosis. Would you be able to grab a ketone test this evening just in case? His BGs have been good but you never know.There is only one vet in this area that is open and it is an emergency pet hospital.
I didn't notice him breathing hard earlier in the day, started about 6 hours after his am shot. His appetite is down a little, has eaten about 10 oz today compared to the 17 or 18 oz he has eaten daily in the last few days. I'm not sure about giving him his pm shot, feel I shld give him a much lower dose
Should be OK. If I was looking for the simplest explanation I'd say the very low BGs today might be behind it. He's been on ProZinc for almost a month so any sensitivity reaction would likely have shown up.I gave him 2.5 u minus one big drop.
I'd do that just to rule it out. Keep an eye on him to see if it subsides, stays the same or gets worse. You might want to do a BG at +2 and +3 or +4 to see what's going on.I cld put him in bedroom with me and test him. I have beads I got from the vet which makes it easy to test urine sample
His vet will holler at me for sure since I lowered the dose down from the 3.25u she had put him on two weeks ago. Not to mention the fact that she may not pay any attention to his BG numbers over that time frame since I used relion meter.
I think I still need to take him to the vet though and shld I still do a curve today?
Sometimes we have to be a bit "assertive". Hard to do but necessary.I did talk to one vet clinic near me already. They looked over smokys records except for those from cat clinic. I still have to get a copy of those records, they only ever give me a receipt for the bills.
I know they will give me a hard time about it but I paid for those services and I want his records
I am at the vet now waiting for Smoky to be seen.Sometimes we have to be a bit "assertive". Hard to do but necessary.
Worth waiting ... does he get really stressed at the vet's?They said they could squeeze him in today at 9:30 but still waiting. I did call on short notice though.
Good response to the dose. I'm glad you're going ahead with the routine of doing the curve. Standard advice but useful: try to find as many mindless tasks as you can to tackle today to keep your mind from running away with you.Smoky was 243 at +3 on AT2 meter.
It's odd that this was sudden in onset.He ate some lunch and is sleeping in his cat bed by the baseboard heater. He is still having trouble with his breathing. I guess the spot on his lung cld be causing that.
The vet said to try to restrict his movements as much as possible. He is sleeping a lot so that's easy to do.
I'm surprised they didn't try to give him oxygen
Good distraction.I actually have some errands to run in between curve times.
It's the worst thing seeing a kitty feeling unwell. I hope you get results ASAP.The vet and I both thought it was strange that it came on so suddenly. I hate to see him feeling so lousy.![]()
Poor kitty.Me too. I'm just doing a mini curve today.
Smoky is so lethargic he didn't even make a fuss or try to get up when I tested him at +3. I'll check him at +6, +9, and then PMPS. I'm trying to keep his stress levels at a minimum.
The near hypo could certainly make him feel unwell, lethargic, weak, etc. The breathing issue is odd.He has been feeling sick since his diabetes was diagnosed. It's hard to tell between that and his allergies. He has been feeling worse since yesterday afternoon.