Kris & Teasel
Very Active Member
Sounds good!I'm thinking 1.8 unit dose for smoky tonight. His BG was nearly the same this past Sunday night and he had some nice green numbers then.
Sounds good!I'm thinking 1.8 unit dose for smoky tonight. His BG was nearly the same this past Sunday night and he had some nice green numbers then.
I hope this settles soon, Lisa. It's not surprising that Smoky would react to a new food given his sensitive gut and allergies. Aside from weight does he seem a little better over all?I was trying to switch Smoky to a food that is better for his allergies and IBD so trying Nulo right now. I think I should have eased him into the new food slowly. He has much looser stools than before and his poo smells so bad that we have to open windows and light candles. It's enough to gag us and we have to leave the room.
I may have to take him back to the vet again since he doesn't seem to be gaining any weight. I can't tell if he is having a flare up from the pancreatitis or his IBD or if it's something else.![]()
I wish I could say that I see an improvement in the IBD Kris but it seems to be getting worse. He just looks sick most of the time, there has to be a way to get him to feel better.
I don't know about steroid effects but they're potent drugs so it's not surprising.I have noticed that right after getting the budesonide Smoky gets tired and goes to sleep for an hour or so. He seems to feel crappy for a bit after getting the steroid.
Is this normal? It's also time for me to check him for ketones. I try to do that once a week but since the move I haven't checked him so about 3 weeks now.
That works.I forgot to update Smokys ss today.
His BG was 180 for AM and 210 for PM.
I'm thinking 1.8 unit dose for tonight.
Do the curve on the dose you're giving that day I think. If it's 1.8 u, fine, if something a bit different, that's OK too. The curve is just to see the action profile of the dose you're giving that AM.I'm doing a curve on Monday so should I do the curve on the 1.8U dose? Would I need to raise the dose a little bit first, which one is better?
Your doses recently are quite close so I think you'll be fine going ahead with the curve at whatever dose you want to give that morning.I was wondering about the dose because I'm not sure how long to keep him on a particular one. I've been using a sliding scale style of dosing instead of a steady dose for so many days.