Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 11

Status
Not open for further replies.
My last thread is getting a little long so it's on to part 11.:p
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...to-prozinc-part-10.174361/page-2#post-1925997

March 26: Smoky AMPS at 222. I didn't give him the steroid last night. I'm feeding him the Nature's Variety Instinct wet food today to see if it helps with his food allergies and IBD. :) I thought 1.8 units would be a good dose for am since I am home to monitor today.
Good idea to try 1.8 u since you're home. Is this new food continuing to keep the litter box smell under control?
 
It's hard to tell Kris, I gave him the NV and FF yesterday. I think it is helping so far though. I'm just happy to see that his appetite is coming back again. He's not crazy about the new food.
 
Last edited:
Hmm... Smoky seems to be surfing in the blue numbers today. I'm wondering if the 1.8 units was not enough insulin for today. I mentioned this because he didn't get into the dark green numbers. I did have a gap in between tests, wanted to get in a +6 but didn't get there today.
He was 131 for PMPS which is usually below the no shot number I use. I'm giving him the budesonide tonight so didn't want to skip his shot. Any ideas on a good dose to give, not sure what to give at this point.
 
Hmmmm...that's pretty low and it looks like he sat at that number all day. Any chance of stalling even for 15 min to see if he goes up at all?
 
Just a note to add: smoky ate about half of his usual amount today. He is not crazy about the new food. He wants his FF back again. :arghh:
 
I have about 20 minutes until his pm shot time. Is it just me or did he seem to be low and flat all day long? I did just feed him so that may raise his BG a little bit.
 
Hmm... Smoky seems to be surfing in the blue numbers today. I'm wondering if the 1.8 units was not enough insulin for today. I mentioned this because he didn't get into the dark green numbers. I did have a gap in between tests, wanted to get in a +6 but didn't get there today.
He was 131 for PMPS which is usually below the no shot number I use. I'm giving him the budesonide tonight so didn't want to skip his shot. Any ideas on a good dose to give, not sure what to give at this point.
You can try stalling, Lisa, or give a small dose like 0.5 u. A few times with Teasel I just fed him, waited about 45 minutes, retested and then gave very close to his usual dose.
 
I have about 20 minutes until his pm shot time. Is it just me or did he seem to be low and flat all day long? I did just feed him so that may raise his BG a little bit.
Yes he is low and flat - much better than high and flat. Hard to know what to do when a new situation arises.
 
He really did seem low and flat ALL day which is what is confounding me. I mean, he stayed right at the same number from +4 all the way to PMPS time. Could be the food thing, but hard to say.

Ah I see Kris posted! Yep, her suggestions are on point (as always). Either of those would work...and can you monitor? Just so we have the data when this situation pops up again. :)
 
Yep, I can monitor and get a before bed test in tonight, wld be a +3 or +4. I'm not sure which one would be better. He gets his steroid about 3 hours after his pm shot if that helps at all. Rachel, I was confused by him seeming to hold the same number all day long too.
 
Yep, I can monitor and get a before bed test in tonight, wld be a +3 or +4. I'm not sure which one would be better. He gets his steroid about 3 hours after his pm shot if that helps at all. Rachel, I was confused by him seeming to hold the same number all day long too.
Maybe he has a plan to show you some green. I know that in Lantus Land people are warned to expect a surprise if there's a lot flat run of yellow. I have no idea why - maybe it's just a pattern that pops up.
 
Some green would be lovely! I'd grab a +3...that will tell you if you need to get a +4 as well or not.
 
Smoky seemed to be in pain so I gave him some bupe. I decided on a no shot for tonight. He is sleeping all curled up in his chair. I think it would still be a good idea to get a before bed test even without having his shot tonight.
I'll give him the budesonide in about two hours from now.
 
March 27: Smoky 194 for AMPS.
I think that's pretty good considering his NS last night along with giving him a steroid. He had a similar number on 3/23 so am thinking 1.5 units for am shot.
I can grab a few tests today since I am home.
 
Last edited:
March 27: Smoky 194 for AMPS.
I think that's pretty good considering his NS last night along with giving him a steroid. He had a similar number on 3/23 so am thinking 1.5 units for am shot.
I can grab a few tests today since I am home.
Looks good. I think it's the overall positive anti inflammatory effect of the steroid on his IBD that's helping his BG levels.
 
Hahaha it always seems like so long ago when we remember how terrifying it was to start! You're a pro now!
 
Smoky was being a piggy yesterday. He ate 8 three oz cans of FF in about 18 hours.:eek: he is truly trying to eat me out of house and home. I'm still trying to find a food he likes and trying not to give him so much of the FF. This is his reaction to other foods. :banghead: wait... maybe it's mine too.
 
Smoky was being a piggy yesterday. He ate 8 three oz cans of FF in about 18 hours.:eek: he is truly trying to eat me out of house and home. I'm still trying to find a food he likes and trying not to give him so much of the FF. This is his reaction to other foods. :banghead: wait... maybe it's mine too.
Is the issue with FF that it causes stinky poo?
 
It seems to cause a worse smell than the higher end food does. Of course, those cans tend to run $3.00 for a 5 oz can vs 60 cents for a can of Friskies. On top of that, he won't usually eat more than a half can and the rest ends up getting thrown away
 
Smoky PMPS was 183 and I gave him just under 1.75U. I tested him at +3 and he had dropped down to 83. I gave him some Sheba turkey cuts in gravy which is 11% carbs. He also had 0.5 mL of budesonide for his IBD which usually raises his BG somewhat. I also leave out a can of FF in his feeder overnight. Shld I test him again or will he be OK until the early morning? Any thoughts?
 
Are you still up? It looks like Smoky's nadir is around +6? I would try to get one more test...and I usually advocate for going to bed. There is still room to drop safely, but three hours before nadir is kind of a long ways to go.
 
Hi Lisa,

I see you got past the nail biter last night. His numbers are really good. Any idea whether he's gained a little more weight?
 
Wow! Must be something in the air...all these kitties getting lower than normal numbers!
 
Hi Kris
Everything is going ok with us. Thanks for checking in on us. have just been so exhausted lately from lack of sleep. Smoky and I decided to take a break this morning so I could get some much needed rest. I'll be testing him tonight and we'll be back to our regular routine again.
 
I'm trying Smoky on 1.6 units for 6 cycles to see how he does. He ate 8 cans of FF yesterday so am wondering how much nutrition he is getting from his food.
His PMPS was 174 tonight.
 
H
I'm trying Smoky on 1.6 units for 6 cycles to see how he does. He ate 8 cans of FF yesterday so am wondering how much nutrition he is getting from his food.
His PMPS was 174 tonight.
Hi Lisa,
His numbers look good. I suspect his IBD impairs nutrient absorption and that's why he wants to eat so much. Have you weighed him at home? If he's at least maintaining that's a positive.
 
Last edited:
EIGHT cans of FF?!?!? Is there any chance that along with the IBD, he might be running low when you aren't testing, and that might contribute to why he's eating so much?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top