Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 11

Status
Not open for further replies.
I weigh him every Monday but it's hard to tell. The scale at the vet clinic always reads higher than my baby scale at home does. He was 8.5 lbs at home this past Monday. He was 8 lbs 15 oz at the vets office on March 6.
 
I was home all day the last time he ate that much. He went down to 80 before going back up again. The steroid he takes usually keeps him from going too low. My vet said he may have to go to a raw food diet for a while to get his weight back on again. It's time for his shot so I'll be back in a little bit. Right now he is trying to steal my piece of fried chicken off of my plate.:D
 
He has this look on his face right now:D
 

Attachments

  • IMAG0333.jpg
    IMAG0333.jpg
    92.4 KB · Views: 166
I have given Smoky 1.6 units for 5 days now. I thought about increasing dose a little bit to 1.75 or 1.8 units. I haven't done a curve on the 1.6 but I did one on the 1.5U. I am home to monitor for Sunday and Monday. Any thoughts?
 
I have given Smoky 1.6 units for 5 days now. I thought about increasing dose a little bit to 1.75 or 1.8 units. I haven't done a curve on the 1.6 but I did one on the 1.5U. I am home to monitor for Sunday and Monday. Any thoughts?
Yes, I think you could try an increase. I see you've entered 1.75 u on your SS. What's your take on how he's feeling over all?
 
Good Morning Kris. Oops, I just gave him 1.8U about 5 minutes ago. I didn't see your post right away. He is still having the very stinky poo problem, it wakes us up in the middle of the night sometimes.:eek:
He is still eating a lot of food and the vet wants to continue with another month with the budesonide. He isn't gaining any more weight but not losing either. He has been a lot more active lately, just wish I cld get his IBD under control. I think that he wld feel so much better. I see that Teasel has been on his trampoline again.:p how he is doing? How are you doing?:bighug:
 
Good Morning Kris. Oops, I just gave him 1.8U about 5 minutes ago. I didn't see your post right away. He is still having the very stinky poo problem, it wakes us up in the middle of the night sometimes.:eek:
He is still eating a lot of food and the vet wants to continue with another month with the budesonide. He isn't gaining any more weight but not losing either. He has been a lot more active lately, just wish I cld get his IBD under control. I think that he wld feel so much better. I see that Teasel has been on his trampoline again.:p how he is doing? How are you doing?:bighug:
Hi Lisa,
Don't worry - 1.8 u and 1.75 u aren't much different. I think Smoky's increased activity and maintaining his weight are positive signs.

Teasel is very high this AM because he missed his shot last night. I went out well before shot time and didn't get home until late. He still bounces a lot but he feels better on Lantus. All I can do is keep working on the dose. He'll never be an easy cat . I'm fine - still hanging on to my sanity because I don't let Teasel's numbers get me down. :)
 
Last edited:
Smoky was 96 BG at +4 today. We had unexpected company so didn't get any extra tests in today. His PMPS was 180 and I can check him later tonight. Is it better to get in a +4 or a +6 test in?
 
OK thanks for the advice. I thought a +5 test would be good. That would be at 1 am for me.

Ugh. I hate getting up to test! I think that's a really good idea though looking at the dose and the pre-shot. Sending you lots of love and empathy!
 
Yep, I usually just take a nap at 11 pm EST and get up about an hour later. I don't work tomorrow so may just stay up with him. The steroid he gets before bed always raises his BG somewhat.
 
I just checked Smoky 30 minutes ago and his BG was 76 at +3. I gave him two tablespoons of LC food, he ate about 1.5 tablespoons of that. I also gave him the budesonide, 1 mL right after his +3 test.
It's difficult for me to tell when his nadir is at night since bedtime is the time I give him the steroid. I'll check him again in a bit.
 
Smoky's BG is 93 at +5. I left him some LC food in his feeder for overnight. The feeder will close in four hours so no food 2 hrs prior to am test. The 93 was after no food for 90 minutes. I feel confident enough to go to bed now.
 
Well I missed the PJ party! I'm up early though for work...does that count? What great numbers all round last night!
 
April 10- Smoky AMPS was 227 so he bounced a bit from the 96 at +5 last night.
I wanted to add a note: I bought him some Evo cat and kitten for a low carb snack. He won't eat any of the freeze dried snacks, even if I moisten them first.
I give him a few pieces after BG tests and meds. I did leave a little down at night for grazing this past weekend in his automatic feeder. He doesn't have any food for 2 hours prior to testing.

I'm not sure if the Evo is causing his BG to drop a bit. I think maybe the 1.8U was too much for him last night. Should I reduce 0.25 units which would be about 1.5U or go back to the 1.6U? Any ideas?
 
April 10- Smoky AMPS was 227 so he bounced a bit from the 96 at +5 last night.
I wanted to add a note: I bought him some Evo cat and kitten for a low carb snack. He won't eat any of the freeze dried snacks, even if I moisten them first.
I give him a few pieces after BG tests and meds. I did leave a little down at night for grazing this past weekend in his automatic feeder. He doesn't have any food for 2 hours prior to testing.

I'm not sure if the Evo is causing his BG to drop a bit. I think maybe the 1.8U was too much for him last night. Should I reduce 0.25 units which would be about 1.5U or go back to the 1.6U? Any ideas?
Putting your comfort level aside, Lisa, the 1.8 u gave you very nice dark greens last night. That 76 was safely away from the 50 cut off. What do you think? Your comfort level is important too.
 
I just wasn't sure due to the bounce this am Kris. I'm OK with the 1.8U for am since I am home to monitor today. I was thinking more about for when I go back to work tomorrow.
 
Smoky PMPS at 168 so not sure if I shld continue with the 1.8 unit dose tonight. He is always higher in the am due in part to the steroid he gets at bedtime. I have been doing sliding scale dosing so shld I give a lower dose for pm?
 
1.8 gave you some lovely numbers last night on basically the same preshot. I think you could do that again. Can you check to see where he's headed tonight?
 
I cld only get in a +3 test and then have to go to bed after that. I can't monitor him overnight so I wondered if a lower dose might be safer
 
Hmmm...could go with 1.6 in that case. Does that sound good or is your gut telling you lower?
 
Smoky's BG is 93 at +5. I left him some LC food in his feeder for overnight. The feeder will close in four hours so no food 2 hrs prior to am test. The 93 was after no food for 90 minutes. I feel confident enough to go to bed now.
Lisa, is this a single meal feeder or the popular 5 meal one?
 
Monday am Smoky BG at 156, nice blue number. I'm a little shocked since I gave a lower dose of 1.6 units last night. I gave him a steroid before bed which usually raises his BG. I'm giving him his am shot in 30 minutes so need to know if I shld give just 1 unit or 0.5 or something else? Any ideas or thoughts on that wld be appreciated.
 
Are you home to monitor today (I know, that's always my question :p). I would think 1 unit would be good. Can you get another test in like 15/20 min just to see where he's at and if he's rising?
 
I'm very surprised he was that low given the budesonide last night. I've been giving him Nulo wet food over the weekend to see how he does with that. So far so good. It's a better food for his allergies if I can get him to eat it on a consistent basis.
 
Safety is most important...and you have to be comfortable with the dose! I think that's a fine dose. We'll see what kind of PMPS that gives him! :)
 
Smoky PMPS was at 209 so I guess I could have given him 1 unit this morning after all.:oops: I'm thinking he will be OK with the 1.8 unit dose again. What do you guys think?
 
I agree. He's done well on it at similar numbers before, so it should be fine tonight.

Hey live and learn! It's better that you gave a lower number and were comfortable and KNEW he would be okay than worrying all day and it maybe being too much. Now you have some data if it happens again to fall back on. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top