Switch from Lantus to Levemir

I would then follow TR. If 3,5 is too much we can take him up every 6 cycles and sooner if you skip. Lantus likes consistency. If you had been shooting two hours eat,y and times and constantly changing the dose it explains why the numbers are wacky. What do you think?
 
I should also mention he gets a blood panel done tomorrow and suspect some dental issues which maybe pushing his numbers up randomly. We've been dealing with some loose stools and the vet did not want to put him under until this was worked out which we fixed with a diet change and some SB. Going to get the dental stuff resolved now that we are ok to address it.
 
I would then follow TR. If 3,5 is too much we can take him up every 6 cycles and sooner if you skip. Lantus likes consistency. If you had been shooting two hours eat,y and times and constantly changing the dose it explains why the numbers are wacky. What do you think?
Agree. I will start with 3.5 in the morning and hold for 6 cycles. I'll try not to panic when his numbers shoot up :nailbiting:
 
Yes, like I said, I know I've been doing it all wrong and wanted to start today with a set dose. Then this happens and I don't know what to do. Maybe call it a night and start with a lower dose in the morning, hold it for 6 cycles and see what it does? His baseline dose according to his weight would be around 2.5units. Should I basically start from scratch?
I agree you need to skip and start over tomorrow but don’t go down to 2.5. The starting dose is for first starting insulin. I would try 3.5. Then do your best to get a test between +4-7 each cycle or a before bed test at night. Hold for 6 cycles unless there is a drop under 50.

The dental could definitely make a difference. I would not shoot in the morning before the dental. Some cats go low from anesthesia or just being at the vet. My boy’s bg went up from stress though.
 
I agree you need to skip and start over tomorrow but don’t go down to 2.5. The starting dose is for first starting insulin. I would try 3.5. Then do your best to get a test between +4-7 each cycle or a before bed test at night. Hold for 6 cycles unless there is a drop under 50.

The dental could definitely make a difference. I would not shoot in the morning before the dental. Some cats go low from anesthesia or just being at the vet. My boy’s bg went up from stress though.

Just blood work tomorrow. Once results are ok'd by the vet we can schedule the procedure asap.
 
When he hit 42, he bounced from being too low. That’s expected. You then need to wait for the bounce to clear. If you want you could pick up the food for two hours and see if the bg goes up enough to shoot tonight. Then skip tomorrow because of the dental.
 
Just blood work tomorrow. Once results are ok'd by the vet we can schedule the procedure asap.
Oh. I misunderstood. Then do as I first said. Skip tonight and shoot 3.5 in the morning. You can then pick whatever time best works for you for his shot time.
 
It would be good if you start posting a condo every day. That way we can help with dosing. Also it sounds like you could follow TR. If so add it to your signature and spreadsheet.
 
When he hit 42, he bounced from being too low. That’s expected. You then need to wait for the bounce to clear. If you want you could pick up the food for two hours and see if the bg goes up enough to shoot tonight. Then skip tomorrow because of the dental.

Just tested again at +14 (9p). 91 so still dropping but leveling out. Has anyone ever seen this?
 
Yes. You can have carry over from one cycle to the next. You also have no idea how low his bg might have gone today.
 
Headed off to sleep. I'll post at 6A tomorrow when I test him. I'll start at 3.5u assuming he comes up :)
There's been a lot of prayer offered up for this sweet old boy.
 
When you post tomorrow on the lantus board you need to post like this
Date, then Peeps, then AMPS # and any test after that, then PMPS and so on. New post everyday. Then link this post to tomorrow's post


You will link the previous days post to the new one

Here are the 2 dosing methods for lantus, when you decide on one please add it to your signature and SS :cat:

Don't forget to put skip on your SS for tonight
 
Peep rode through the night like a champ. 142 this morning. Shooting 3.5u and will hold unless I see below 50.
Great job hey can you start a new thread title should read today's date/Peep/AMPS 142

start a new one each day in same format. You can then add his reading +2...+4...etc in title through day. It helps keep threads easily readable if you need help:)
 
Bloodwork done. Vet saw blood in Peep's urine. He didn't see overly concerned about it as in it was an emergency. This would cause his numbers to be wacky. UTI common in diabetic cats?
 
Bloodwork done. Vet saw blood in Peep's urine. He didn't see overly concerned about it as in it was an emergency. This would cause his numbers to be wacky. UTI common in diabetic cats?
UTI very common in diabetics. Did he run a culture and sensitivity?
 
UTI very common in diabetics. Did he run a culture and sensitivity?

Not sure what they are doing. They told me that the sample was going to the lab. They are pretty good so I assume so. I'll update when I hear anything back. Hoping it's just an infection. He is very cautious when laying down and walks funny. I understand now. Wish they could talk!
 
Good. I’m pretty sure that’s what will be done. Get a copy of the labs when they get them back. You can add them to your spreadsheet.
 
He’s anemic and likely was dehydrated. The usg is low but that could be a one off due to dehydration and infection. Once the infection is gone this all could resolve I would think. Nothing can be determined from one set of labs, especially when there’s infection. Is your vet running a culture and sensitivity so you get the best antibiotic to treat this infection?
 
He’s anemic and likely was dehydrated. The usg is low but that could be a one off due to dehydration and infection. Once the infection is gone this all could resolve I would think. Nothing can be determined from one set of labs, especially when there’s infection. Is your vet running a culture and sensitivity so you get the best antibiotic to treat this infection?

They put him on Veriflox for the UTI. I am not familiar with that one but looking into it, the side affects are scary. I don't know about the culture.
 
If sent to the lab they should be running a cultured. It will take about 5 days. They test for sensitivity to see the best antibiotic for this bug. It’s worth asking your vet if one was run. If tge wrong antibiotic it’s wasting time to get rid of the infection.
 
Back
Top