Super high numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

codyraja

Member
Hi All-
Cody's numbers have been a bit all over the place lately. Tonight his PMPS just said "Hi"...the manual says that it will read Hi if the BG is over 600! I increased his dose to 2 units and at +1.5 he's at 585. Any specific recommendation in this situation? I didn't want to increase his dose too much, we've had some weird scenarios lately - like his PMPS being lower than 6hrs prior. Behavior wise, he's fine. We've been really struggling with him peeing outside of the box and that has possibly been worse today than normal. Our vet had him on an anti-anxiety med, Reconcile, but it didn't seem to do anything. Thoughts?

As a side note, you may notice a big gap in data. We went back to our old vet who we love. She convinced me that we were doing great and that daily monitoring wasn't necessary. She recommended a couple of times/month. Against my better judgement, I listened, and was maybe secretly relieved. But then when I took his BG earlier this month, I got some weird numbers and have been trying to get back to more regular monitoring.

A couple of things I've been thinking of...we're getting close to the bottom of the bottle of insulin, not sure if that's an issue. Also, I've always given him his injection between his shoulder blades, I'm wondering if I should vary the location. Tonight I gave it to him on the side of his rear leg.

Thanks!

Tracy
 
Hi Tracy,

I think Cody is bouncing. For instance, on 10/14, he got 1.2 for a preshot of 286. He had a flat cycle that day, below the renal threshold. Not perfect, but not bad. Today on a 287, he got 1.5. With no midcycle data, it's a guess, but I think he may have dropped lower than he is used to and then bounced for that preshot of 600. On 10/12 no preshot but probably a little higher than 246, he went very low into the greens with 1.4.

What would you think about giving that 1.2 for the yellows and a little more for the pinks (1.4 ?) and see if he flattens out a little and quits bouncing?

I am glad you are back to regular testing. The best way to keep him in safe ranges is to monitor carefully.
 
Sue - thanks for the input! Despite everyone's best efforts to explain it to me, the concept of "bounce" is still a little fuzzy for me. But I appreciate the plan you laid out. What would you recommend for pre shot values in the red or black? Keep it at 1.4 or go a little higher?
 
Hi Tracy! For a super helpful explanation of a bounce, I'd scroll to near the bottom of this thread: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=126780 and view Mel's (MommaofMuse) response. It's a great way to explain what a bounce is and how it works.

I'd maybe go 1.6 for red or blacks. Can you get a few mid cycle numbers? I know it can be tough but when you can they'd help determine if the dose is too much or not. :smile:
 
I agree, I'd lower the dose and get him to level out a bit and get "out" of the bounce. Best way to go is to start low and go slow. :-D
 
Hi Tracy. I am so glad that you are back to testing. My first vet told me the same thing and asked me to shoot for one week without testing. At that time, we were testing a lower consistent dose so I went ahead and followed her suggestion. I still did a AMPS and PMPS test though even though she said I didn't have to. That week, Merlin's pre shot numbers were consistently in the 300's. After that week and at the next vet visit, I changed to a different vet within the office and am much happier now.

You mentioned that you give your shots between the shoulder blades. I would move it around so scar tissue doesn't build up. I think I read somewhere that you should not give injections above the spine. So I give my injections off the side and I go from anywhere from the scruff of the neck down towards the torso. I think there is a picture somewhere on this website on the best areas. I also shoot the left side in the am and the right side in the pm while also going up and down the body.

Regarding a new bottle, I used my last bottle for almost seven months and it was working just fine. When I bought a new one, I did reduce his doses by .2. I think it is probably different for each cat i.e. sensitivity, but with Merlin, I only had to decrease it .2 for a very short while, say about a month before I was back to my "old bottle" original sliding scale.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top