codyraja
Member
Hi All-
Cody's numbers have been a bit all over the place lately. Tonight his PMPS just said "Hi"...the manual says that it will read Hi if the BG is over 600! I increased his dose to 2 units and at +1.5 he's at 585. Any specific recommendation in this situation? I didn't want to increase his dose too much, we've had some weird scenarios lately - like his PMPS being lower than 6hrs prior. Behavior wise, he's fine. We've been really struggling with him peeing outside of the box and that has possibly been worse today than normal. Our vet had him on an anti-anxiety med, Reconcile, but it didn't seem to do anything. Thoughts?
As a side note, you may notice a big gap in data. We went back to our old vet who we love. She convinced me that we were doing great and that daily monitoring wasn't necessary. She recommended a couple of times/month. Against my better judgement, I listened, and was maybe secretly relieved. But then when I took his BG earlier this month, I got some weird numbers and have been trying to get back to more regular monitoring.
A couple of things I've been thinking of...we're getting close to the bottom of the bottle of insulin, not sure if that's an issue. Also, I've always given him his injection between his shoulder blades, I'm wondering if I should vary the location. Tonight I gave it to him on the side of his rear leg.
Thanks!
Tracy
Cody's numbers have been a bit all over the place lately. Tonight his PMPS just said "Hi"...the manual says that it will read Hi if the BG is over 600! I increased his dose to 2 units and at +1.5 he's at 585. Any specific recommendation in this situation? I didn't want to increase his dose too much, we've had some weird scenarios lately - like his PMPS being lower than 6hrs prior. Behavior wise, he's fine. We've been really struggling with him peeing outside of the box and that has possibly been worse today than normal. Our vet had him on an anti-anxiety med, Reconcile, but it didn't seem to do anything. Thoughts?
As a side note, you may notice a big gap in data. We went back to our old vet who we love. She convinced me that we were doing great and that daily monitoring wasn't necessary. She recommended a couple of times/month. Against my better judgement, I listened, and was maybe secretly relieved. But then when I took his BG earlier this month, I got some weird numbers and have been trying to get back to more regular monitoring.
A couple of things I've been thinking of...we're getting close to the bottom of the bottle of insulin, not sure if that's an issue. Also, I've always given him his injection between his shoulder blades, I'm wondering if I should vary the location. Tonight I gave it to him on the side of his rear leg.
Thanks!
Tracy