Suggestion From a Newie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe & Kushi

Member Since 2011
Since I am probably not the only "newbie" who doesn't understand everything there is to know about diabetic kitties perhaps it would be helpful to add a statement to the OTJ Trail Protocol that states that if the kitty is NOT on insulin it can't go hypoglycemic.

I read the OTJ trial protocol that Sienne sent me; however I decided to test Kushi on day three just to see what effect food has on the BG level. So I tested at +3 and got a BG of 47. That really puzzled me and having it in my head that going that low calls for a little preventative action I gave some HC gravy. Bottom line is that I was unaware that Kitties cannot go hypoglycemic if they are not on insulin. Thanks Nicole, for straightening me out. :-D

BTW I think all of you that give advice here should get together and write a book; here is my suggestion for the title: DIABETIC KITTIES FOR DUMMIES. :lol:
 
Great idea, Joe!! The super cool thing here is that Kushi's pancreas is definitely working :mrgreen:
You fed & 3 hours later got a lower # with no insulin.. very cool! Happy Caturday & have a great weekend!
 
Which begs me to ask the question, why does a cat have numbers so low, when they are not on insulin?
I've seen this brought up, several times, on the health forum.
 
I'll try to remember to edit that post, Joe. Thanks.

Barb -- just like with any value, what is "normal" for one cat is different for another. There are several people here who have tested their civvies. The BG values can vary from the 30s to a little over 100. All of those values are normal.
 
Thanks Sienne. Which reminds me of another point. I know it was brought up recently.
My DD doesn't understand why I don't try decreasing, or stopping, Check's insulin, since he is green so much lately.
My reasoning is, that he doesn't stay green consistently. But, says she....maybe his bg, when it's blue, is normal for him.
I can't really answer that question. Why do we insist on a consistent green, and not be satisfied with blue?
I would be happy if Checkers was consistently between 100 and 150. Why is that wrong, if ECID?

eta: that 150 includes food spikes.
 
Great idea Joe....I've seen several people whose cats went OTJ panic at a low number not realizing that it is a safe number in a cat not getting any juice.

Also love the book idea and title!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top