Stu 7/29 PMPS 150, +2 179, +4 197

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=207557#p207557

Good Morning Everyone,

Today, thus far:
AMPS 342
+2.5 229
+5 92
+6.25 33 (!!) Fed some 9% Merrick Turducken
+7 63 Fed a mix of 9% and his usual LC (by Nature 95% turkey & turkey liver)
+8 70 a smidgen of 9% as a treat
+10 132 snack
PMPS 150 (1/2 hour late)
+2 179
+4 197

PINKO!!! Looks like a bounce. Or perhaps the insulin pooped out; or perhaps we need to go back up to skinny 1.25. In any event, I began a new cartridge this morning and shot the 1 unit. Yesterday was flat yellow until PMPS +4, when bg was 131. I suppose he could have gone low last night and this mid-PINK is a bounce. We'll see what happens today. Wet, humid weather after lots of rain last night. Stu showed no interest in going outside and instead went into the cellar, where he likes to sleep in an old litterbox (clean: no litter!!). He ate most of the food in his automat last night and has eaten the first installment of breakfast (EVO 95% venison, for a change: he liked it last night and cleaned up his dish this morning). That's about it for now. We plan to start scraping the front steps as soon as they dry out a bit. The back stoop came through the rain just fine, and even looks good!!

Everyone have a good day,

Ella & Stu

P.S. to Sienne: Thanks for the info. about the "cubes". I just ordered a set from Amazon. The customer reviews are all very favorable.
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342

What is with the pink Stu...not a very manly color. Maybe this is a bounce from a lower number last night.
I hope you have a good day......you are always so busy. :smile:
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342

Morning Stu & Ella!!! Looks like Stu came down to nice blue last nite--Yes he could have dropped last nite & this is a bounce, so watch him today & see where he goes...Moonie is up there today too maybe stress related...Hope they both have nicer numbers later.
When are you coming to NYC?? Maybe we could try to meet again?--We would love to see you. Send me a PM--
Hope you have a great Fursday! The kitties get a rest from parties for a bit--but OH the beginning of August party??? HMMMMMM :cool: :cool: :cool:
Giant Hugs from Us!!

Stu man, we have another bean here sleeping over!!! :o cat(2)_steam :o ---Dont these beans get it that we dont like it???
I'm thinking of a way to show them I dont like it, but this new bean actually scritched me for a long time last nite!!
Maybe I could use this?? :lol: :lol: -See ya buddy--Let's be blue today OK?--Hugs Moonie
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342

Stu and Tray are in the same pink zone. Very annoying.
Hope Stu shows some better #'s today.
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342

Morning Ella and Stu....shadow is up in the Pinks too but I KNOW that it isn't a bounce for him....
I bet it is for Stu though....hope you guys have a great day....
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +2.5 229

This must be a bouncy kitty morning! Mannie is way up there too, and what is up with that??? Nice on the back stoop! Good luck with the front. :-D

Stu - dude! Fear not!! I am pink too. :roll: bummer huh. I wish we had a cellar - it sounds way cool. Did you stay up for the storms last night? We have that stupid fog this morning - boring! See you later!! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +2.5 229

Nice drop for Stu! I guess he didn't like all the grief he was getting for being pink. :lol: Good luck with the steps when you can get to them.
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +2.5 229, +5 99, +6.25 33, +7 63

Hi again,

Dropping like a stone this morning. He wasn't very hungry early on, so the drop didn't get slowed much by food. The 99 at +5 was a surprise, however, and I figured (wrongly) that he was close to nadir. Well: 33 at 6.25. Fed 9% Merrick (since this really is nadir time and I didn't want to spike him too much). Up to 63 at +7. Fed a mixture of 9% and Low Carb. He really gobbles up that Merrick food! Appetite is certainly back in force. I'm wondering if I should take another reduction tonight to a skinny 1 unit. Anyone have thoughts about this. We started a new cartridge of Lantus this morning, so that may be a factor. This morning was the 4th cycle on 1 unit.
Thanks for advice and/or opinion!!

Ella

P.s. 70 at +8
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +2.5 229, +5 99, +6.25 33, +7 63

Scuba-Scuba-Stu Huh? He likes to lull you into a sense of security and then Wham! This settles the question of whether it was a bounce doesn't it. Just his way of telling you you are giving the steps way too much attention that by rights is his. Another <40 should earn a reduction, even with the stricter Till rules.
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +2.5 229, +5 99, +6.25 33, +7 63

Back on that roller coaster, eh? Such a thrill seeker, Stu.... :roll:
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +5 99, +6.25 33, +7 63, +8 70

Woo hoo Stu... where are ya' going? Did you forget to pack your parachute? That's quite a drop! Nice, but just a little slower wouldn't hurt either. :-D
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +5 99, +6.25 33, +7 63, +8 70 +10 132

Wow, quite a day for Stu! That is quite the nosedive from 342 to 33..yikes! Glad to see he's back up into the blues :)
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +5 99, +6.25 33, +7 63, +8 70 +10 132

I guess Stu didn't like the pink either! Good thing you caught that 33. Yikes! Stu sure likes the drama.

I hope you've had a good day, Ella.
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +5 99, +6.25 33, +7 63, +8 70 +10 132

That's what you get for threatening to raise the dose ;).
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +5 99, +6.25 33, +7 63, +8 70 +10 132

Hi Ella -

So I am certainly no expert but thought I would throw out some observations and bump you in the process...

I remembering Six deciding he needed less insulin. He had 5 decreases in 10 days. There was no slowing him down....were you here for Max's (Randi) crazy ride?????? That was something. Maybe something has just recently clicked and he needs a lower dose.

I know you are trying to slow the drop with the food...are you feeding MC during his breakfasts or only when he drops? I'm not sure if that could be a recommendation, but throwing it out there.

Will be interested to see what other thoughts are...going to look at your ss again re: food.
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +6.25 33, PMPS 150

Good Evening All,

We got home 1/2 hour late for PMPS: some friends took us out to dinner and the service was slow. So we'll have to make it up tomorrow morning. I shot a slightly skinny 1 unit (I think), but just as I was shooting, Stu moved and jerked away from the syringe. I didn't smell Lantus and didn't feel a wet spot, so I hope it went in properly. I'm not quite sure what to do with Stu's dose now. The 33 at nadir merits a dose decrease, but we just took a decrease 5 cycles ago. He hasn't been able to hold them in the past, but maybe we're beyond that now. I'm going to skinny the dose again tomorrow morning and see what happens.
Stu had a good time this evening chasing grasshoppers.

Ella & Stu

P.S. to Amy: the 95% venison is EVO, not Merrick. I think it's about 3 or 4 % carbs, maybe as little as 2%. I only feed the 8 or 9% or 12% Merrick when it is clear Stu is dropping, not as a general thing. Usually he eats By Nature 95% Turkey and Turkey Liver. It would be nice if "it" is happening to Stu, but since he is a long-term diabetic (going on 5 years now), it's not too likely. Thanks for your observations!!
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +6.25 33, PMPS 150

Stu!!! Stay out of the basement, it's skeery in the basement!

I'm late responding, but I'm glad you skinnied the dose. Watch tonight in case he drops again. That *might* not have been enough of a reduction. Skinnying is what I would have done too, but sometimes when they are in a fast reduction phase their shed can get ahead of us if we do teeny reductions. The way we'll find out will be if he does it again.
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +6.25 33, PMPS 150

I mix foods to give Six about 5-6% carbs. I do it to lower the fat (sometimes he turns his nose up at pure Merrick) and keep carbs in check.

I wonder if aiming for slightly higher carbs could help with the drop?

If you are thinking of doing something like that...I wouldn't do it now if you are decreasing the dose. Maybe it could be something to try if he continues to nosedive even with a dosecrease?????

Hope you enjoyed dinner!!!!! Did Stu save any grasshoppers for dessert? :lol:
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +6.25 33, PMPS 150

Thanks Libby, Today has just been crazy! I fidgeted all through dinner because I knew we wouldn't get home in time for PMPS. If he does the deep dive again tonight or tomorrow, I think I'll take the full reduction to .75 (!!!). In any event, I don't think my "skinny" 1 unit was terribly skinny. It was to the low side of the line, but there was no space between the plunger and the line.

Ella

P>S to Amy (messages crossed). Thanks for the feeding advice. After Stu "settles" a bit, I'll try giving him slightly more carbs to prevent big drops.
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +6.25 33, PMPS 150

Stu,

Dude, I'd be happy with whatever you want to make...I'm honored to have you cater the "event." I'd say go for simple. Maybe a raw food platter of grasshoppers, chipmunks, flies, mice, ants...whatever you have on paw.

I've gotta tell you, it feels strange to write this.

Your buddy,

Six
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +6.25 33, PMPS 150

Stu! Not again! But hey - you get less juice... is that good? I missed hanging with you today - maybe we can Surf later, OK? I can bring my rainbow board! ~~ Mannie

Ella - oh can I ever relate to the fidgeting through anything because I'm worried about the cat... I read what Amy wrote about higher carbs when you think Stu is going to nose dive. I started to do this with Mannie too - we all know how much he likes diving - and it does seem to help with drastic drops. oh course Mannie isn't the scuba diver like Stu, but he can get down there. It does help. What I had was 8% FF - it did seem to help keep him on a more steady line.


Have a great night guys!
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +6.25 33, PMPS 150

Quite the day for Stu!!

Not only did the cubes get a favorable review on Amazon, they are Cyn and Libby approved.
 
Re: Stu 7/29 AMPS 342, +6.25 33, PMPS 150

Wow Stu that was quite the day you had. You sure like skydiving don't you? Will be interesting to see what you do tomorrow.
 
Stu - dude! You bouncing? We almost have the same number. Tess wants to surf- she's blue now too - so we will pick you up in a few for some night surfin'!! See you! ~~ Mannie

Bouncy Stu? Definitely going the wrong way... Better check that boy's GPS. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top