Starting Senvelgo soon- process

Glassgoblin

Member Since 2018
Hello, I have not received much instruction from my vet yet, but the meds are supposed to be delivered today and I am trying to get everything ready to begin. I have the ketone strips and got a new glucose meter, and even started a spreadsheet just now with the test from the Vet office and a home test from today. I am just trying to work out a process to dosing and tracking progress. I know to watch for DKA, and stop meds and get to Vet asap if I see signs of ketones or DKA. I know to check ketones and get a current weight before first dose, and to keep checking regularly. But that is about all I know after reading the posts about Senvelgo. We have our first eval Vet appointment scheduled for next Thursday, and I was hoping to start giving Electra the med on Monday afternoon so it will be when I am home to watch for any reactions for the rest of the night.

I am familiar with the insulin process; fasting tests and curve tests, and determining if bg is too low for a shot. How does that work for these meds though? I want to track BG but how often do you test, and does timing change? Is there is a BG test that would make you skip a dose, or is that just determined by development of ketones? Is there any way to determine if your cat is going into remission? All questions to ask the Vet probably, but I was hoping to hear from others who are dealing with it day to day also. I guess I am hoping someone might be willing to share their routine for dose/testing?
 
Hi Glassgoblin!
Sadie is about 2 and 1/2 weeks in, so we're fairly new to Senvelgo ourselves.

I approach it similarly from the testing perspective. I test her in the morning before I leave for work, and also try to test her ketones in the morning (that is when they will be the highest.) If I am home, I will do a midday test. Then I will test at dinner, and in the evening before bed. At the very minimum, I'm testing before AM and PM feeding. But it's good to have at least a few tests through the day to see if the Senvelgo is regulating her BG. This does not include days I do a curve; I have done one, and I tested every two hours for that.

The leaflet in the box for Senvelgo is also very helpful, I must admit. There's a lot of info, but if you have time I would suggest reading through most of it. That is how I found out about the best time to test ketones, how to administer the dose, etc. (Sad, I read more about my pets medication than my own lol.)

The dosing is pretty straightforward - the syringe is marked by weight in lbs. They recommend you monitor your ctas weight weekly in case you need to adjust the amount. You can also admin any time of day that works best for you and your pet, but recommend you give it the same time every day. I give Sadie hers every day around 6pm. This way I can almost guarantee I'll be home to give it to her.

I wish you luck! I know it is not ideal for every pet, but I really hope it works out for your kitty.
 
The dosing is pretty straightforward - the syringe is marked by weight in lbs. They recommend you monitor your cats weight weekly in case you need to adjust the amount. You can also admin any time of day that works best for you and your pet, but recommend you give it the same time every day. I give Sadie hers every day around 6pm. This way I can almost guarantee I'll be home to give it to her.

I am thinking I will be giving it in the late afternoon/evening also. One of my torties has Feline Hyperesthesia Syndrome and she gets half her gabapentin and her clomicalm pill every day at 5 (or as close as possible), so it might be nice to group all the meds together and get it organized and taken care of at the same time. They get their second meal of the day around that time too.

*Have read the medication insert twice through, and I think I can see where her values were in the acceptable range to use this medication. Did a second ketone test (gotta catch her when she is going to pee) and negative again. I really hate how the negative and trace colors are so similar- negative more tan, trace turning pink on this test. I ordered another brand of strips to see if I can do a double check in case one gives a false reading. I have urine sample cups, test strips, my fitbit timer seems to be a great resource to watch the seconds, but of course when it comes her Electra's life I am still nervous about missing something.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20231214_171120993.jpg
    IMG_20231214_171120993.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 75
Last edited:
First dose was given tonight; she was drinking water before, ate some food just after, rested for about an hour and 20 minutes and now is drinking again. No vomiting so far and she is vocal and sassing me/grabbing my hand (which is normal behavior for her). Negative ketone test earlier in day, got her weight, and was going to get BG but poked her four times without getting enough blood to test, so decided to wait a couple hours after dose to see if it will be down compared to the last few days tests pre-meds. Have been adding notes as we go, ketone test in morning if I can catch her; this is my early week for work which gives us over an hour less time in the morning, but good for afternoon/being home all evening after the dose is given. If all goes well, she will have had three doses before seeing Vet on Thursday.

*keeping notes on everything I can, but day two dose given. She ate after I got home, but shortly before her meds she vomited a little food (it was next to her so I think it was her and not my pukey kitten). Did a ketone test when she used litter box immediately after dose, negative, and she had a soft stool- I know that is supposed to be most common side effect. I ordered some probiotics I can add to her wet food and will watch/talk to Vet on Thursday. No vomiting in the hour since dose, and she is resting. I worry about everything.
 
Last edited:
Because there is such a lack of information and experiences shared about cats on this med I might just keep adding updates here periodically. Anecdotal is not the best, and Every Cat is Different, but even after reading the drug sheets and the manufacturer website and talking to our Vet, I feel unsure of what to expect, what to look out for, etc. and I am sure others feel similar when starting this process. I have been adding daily notes to my spreadsheet and shared with my Vet also. I have been trying for one ketone test daily, and one bg test daily; she had one Vet evaluation on 12/11 and will have second on 12/15, third scheduled for 12/22. Everything seems okay so far- attitude and energy is like usual, eating and litter use is good, still drinking and peeing a little more than usual. I am hoping that it continues working for Electra but am watching for any signs of DKA. If nothing else, it will help me keep track of dates for any changes I see and note.

If anything the one is distress this week has been Calypso (tortie with FHS) as she seems to be having little episodes even when her meds should be in full effect, but the changes in weather can be one of her triggers and we had a big snow and now cold advisories this week.
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20250716_202847246.PORTRAIT.jpg
    PXL_20250716_202847246.PORTRAIT.jpg
    989.4 KB · Views: 83
I'm thinking along the same lines as you. This is such new territory for folks, I'm happy to post our experience (Sadie and me) here for others.

One thing I wanted to mention that was conveyed by my vet in our last phone conversation about how she's doing; the manufacturer will cover the cost to switch cats to ProZinc if Senvelgo does not work in regulating BG within 30 days. They will also cover adverse reactions (meaning they can no longer take Senvelgo) up to $5,000. But you have to have your testing documented (ketone testing whether urine or blood, and glucose even if you are testing at home.)
Not that anyone wants to go down that path, but I think it's helpful to know they stand behind their product and are willing to help patients if it doesn't work out.

Sadie is still doing well with it, no ketones, eating well, and certainly playing a lot more. One thing I have noticed is she is peeing a little less now, but that is a good thing. It warms my heart to see her happier and getting back to enjoying life.
I'll still update after her blood work on the 18th.
 
Hi, I am Dave, based in Manchester (UK).

We have just had our 11year old Main Coone (Vinny) diagnosed as diabetic after noticing rapid weight loss and an increase in water consumption.

He started Senvelgo on Friday.

He has a 85g wet pouch in the morning and one at night (Dry food is usually left out 24/7)

I have been mixing the dosage in his morning feed, which I beleieve is OK if he eats all of it. (He is leaving a tiny bit , so may have to resort to delivering the meds directly.)

We also have a 15 year old Tuxedo (Jack).

We already have a Petsure, chip controled feeder for our other cat, Jack, as he tends to graze in and out of his food all day and this has historically stopped Vinny eating Jacks food, but we have ust bought another to use for Vinnys food now we are medicating it, if he doesn't eat it all straight away, he can them come back to it later and Jack can't get to it.

I have been monitoring daily water intake on and off over a few months, both cats have access to the same water, so we do have to make some assumptions.

Vet did the urine test to make sure he wasn't in danger with respect to ketones, and I will periodically do them to keep an eye on progress.

(Again, both cats share the same litter box, so I have to wait and watch for him going and get in quick with a syringe before it all gets absorbed (We have flushable litter). I have 3d printed a guard for the end of the syringe so it's less likely to block with litter when trying to obtain a sample )


I have also bought some urine strips , so will periodically check ketones etc and make notes.

So looking to share experience of treatment and progress.

Hope it all works out well for out furballs!


Dave
 

Attachments

  • 20240923_224123.jpg
    20240923_224123.jpg
    694.4 KB · Views: 71
Electra had her second vet evaluation yesterday afternoon and had an official bg test with the Vet; good numbers still and tonight at +4.5 she was at 99. She is still eating/drinking, playing and alert every day though not happy about the ear poking, and weight has been steady since diagnosis also. I have been testing ketones as often as I can get a sample (I can hold a sample cup under her in the litter box to avoid contamination if I spot her headed that way). I just get frustrated with the negative and trace colors being so similar on the guides. We have our third vet visit next week; Vet told us that the first two weeks are the critical ones to see if she will have an adverse reaction or DKA, so I am trying to be extra vigilant.

*Just adding for Wed AM- she is getting a little resistant to the ear pokes and this morning got past me while I was brushing teeth and I missed her morning litter trip. She seems fine and ate as usual though.
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20251215_194006594.jpg
    PXL_20251215_194006594.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 77
Last edited:
Sadie just had her one month check on Thursday, and I was impressed. This is our vet's first cat with other health conditions utilizing Senvelgo, and it's going well. (Posted full update here Senvelgo has been wonderful for my kitty.)

I'm really glad to see some positive experiences, and happy to share our journey. Sadie is back to basking in her favorite places, being a diva (she really makes all the decisions in the house 😂) and feeling better overall.

Now that we're past the first month, we'll be following up in three months again to check her CBC for anemia and glucose again. I will start doing at home curves once a month to make sure we stay on point. Of course we will continue ketone testing as well.

Good luck everyone, I'll continue to post updates as we go!
 

Attachments

  • IMG20250926190420.jpg
    IMG20250926190420.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 81
I think everything is still going well. So far all negative ketone tests and she is having lower blood glucose tests. She is eating, still drinking a lot, is coming out of the bedroom to be more active and social, and has even played with toys a bit more than she had been most of the summer. She is also starting to pull away when I try testing her blood though, and I don't want to stop doing that. The Vet visit on day 7 was good, and they shared an email from the drug manufacturer; they suggest not stopping the meds until after two (larger size) bottles of the drug have been used or at least five months of treatment before remission can be checked; the only way the check for remission is to stop the medication and check how blood glucose reacts... but once off the med it might not be possible to restart if not in remission. I asked about Zobaline but it doesn't look necessary at the moment. It should be safe to give while on Senvelgo, but if not needed right now I think I will wait on that.

Electra has her day 14 check up on Monday, and I want to ask about the underlying condition that brought us in months ago- her allergies. She is still having some skin issues with itching, but we stopped discussing changing her food when she was diagnosed diabetic, and she hacked up a hairball from over-grooming last night.
 
an email from the drug manufacturer; they suggest not stopping the meds until after two (larger size) bottles of the drug have been used or at least five months of treatment before remission can be checked; the only way the check for remission is to stop the medication and check how blood glucose reacts... but once off the med it might not be possible to restart if not in remission.
Very good information to know. It's a common question. Thanks for sharing.
 
Day 14 Vet visit was okay; neg ketone at appt and her bg was mid 200s. She got a prescription for gabapentin and cerenia for a couple days due to some possible bladder inflammation and we go back for our one month visit on Jan 8th. We are going to look into ways to address the skin allergy also, but it looks like diet will be the best way to try to figure it out. Nothing ordered yet since I am not sure which food to try, and I want something lower carb. I mentioned the alligator Blue Buffalo as something we could try. I might have been wanting to feed my cats alligator or kangaroo for a while though. Right now Electra is mad at me; car rides, Vet appt, then home where she got pilled and a fluid med. And she hasn't even had her Senvelgo yet today. Poor baby.
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20251222_210252331.jpg
    PXL_20251222_210252331.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 74
Something possibly worth trying are the rabbit pates. I started Luciole on RAWZ rabbit and Koha rabbit. They're both single protein, low in carbs, and for binders & gums, Koha has agar-agar, and Koha has no binders or gums. I suspect that gums were messing with her.
 
Something possibly worth trying are the rabbit pates. I started Luciole on RAWZ rabbit and Koha rabbit. They're both single protein, low in carbs, and for binders & gums, Koha has agar-agar, and Koha has no binders or gums. I suspect that gums were messing with her.
We have tried the Koha rabbit pate, plus their duck and venison, but none of my cats would touch it. Dog liked their kangaroo though. They have liked rabbit in a dry food variety (Evanger's Meat Lovers with rabbit), but not sure what the as fed carb content on that one is yet. I can try Rawz rabbit and if they eat it we could add that as a regular option.

One of my local pet stores has a some variety so we have worked our way through a lot of their options (they have way more for dogs than cats though). My younger cats are more willing to try different things, since I started them with a variety as kittens, but Electra was adopted at almost 5 and even though she has access to all of the options she rarely tries them. After one of my cats had pancreatitis I've been more focused on "fed is best" but the kittens eat wet, dry, freeze dried, and are generally less picky until they try something they hate and then will boycott the entire brand.
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20251126_024817354.jpg
    PXL_20251126_024817354.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 78
I have not done a full curve yet, but I have been trying to get more tests at different times and it does look like the trend is higher numbers in the am, as she passes 12 hrs from her dose of Senvelgo, and gets closer to the next dose. Higher at the Vet office, though the Vet also acknowledges that may be in part due to stress. Some of the higher numbers may be attributed to when she eats (and what... I caught her eating the dog's dry food yesterday and she often has access when the dog hasn't eaten the evening food, but it is put away for now). She had four days of cerenia, and she is on gabapentin for a few more days; when they took her urine sample at the last appointment they got some blood as the needle was coming out of her body, and then did a second collection which was clear so the meds were a precaution. I did ask to give half a capsule twice a day instead of a full one since she was very loopy and I was concerned that she would have trouble getting to the litter box, fall down the stairs and not eat as much as she should; she seems to be doing well now. It is almost two weeks until her next appointment, so I would like to do a curve before then, and keep home testing ketones.
 
Wanted to add a note because tonight I had something different happen- I was giving dose earlier each day since I had somewhere to go tonight. And tonight part of her dose sprayed outside of her mouth - she moved as I was syringing it into her mouth- but I couldn't tell how much, just several little drops on my glasses. I did not give anything else after that. Got home and just did a bg at what is about +4.5 and it was actually in the green at 98. I think I have read that the meds should have an effect for days after it is stopped, so that could be the reason. But I am also wondering- do they have bounces on this med? Usually she goes lower and then the next morning to afternoon it seems to come up again. I took a bg this morning and it was a pretty good number too. Was not able to test ketones today as she peed before I was up at 5am, and then again while I was at work. Would like to get one asap though.
 
We have our one month Vet appt in a couple days and she seems to be doing well on the drug still; getting some numbers under 100 at +3-4 hrs, still getting negative ketone strip tests. She is eating, drinking a lot still, being social and coming out of the bedroom more (she likes the rugs in the hall, entry and the bathroom at the moment). She has even been spotted playing with toys after using the litter box. Our one issue this last week has been our schedules not aligning as well- I get up at 5am every day and it was great to get a ketone test for a while, but now she is peeing just a little earlier and I get home after work and she has just used the litter box (and may even be doing her post box groom in the entry.) So I have to try to catch her on the way whenever there is a chance and our test times are all over the place. Not sure if it matters since she eats in the middle of the night as well as the middle of the day. Allergies are becoming an issue again though and I really need to get her on a diet that might help address the itchy skin and over-grooming, extra dander and little bald spots.
 
First month Vet exam is done and everything is looking good. I brought in a UA for testing (she was good and peed right before we had to leave for the appointment. We are going to switch to a hydrolyzed protein cat food though because her allergies are flaring up and I know it will be higher carb, but she is licking bald spots and scratching her ears bloody. We also got a steroid spray for the belly- I can put her in one of her onsies to prevent licking there at least. We will start our second bottle of the med soon and already have it for that time. After that I might try the large sized bottle which would get us to five months when it is finished. Vet said that now we go to a three month cycle of appointments, which will make Electra happy, but we have a call back to check on allergies in 7 weeks also. She also suggested that we could cut down on some testing; I kinda want to keep a daily bg test to map progress, but may go to every other day for ketones. I just have to be careful since she is sneaky and I don't want to miss too many opportunities to test as there are so few indications of a problem before it is a big problem.
 
We have been getting some nice green numbers this last week. Vet suggested that testing was not necessary every single day so I thought I would try for bg every other day and ketone every other or when I can get it, so not as consistent. I got caught up in a bunch of stuff and the dose was late tonight, so her bg was almost +3 and a little higher than it had been the other days. Not sure if it is timing or being late. I really wish I knew the curve of the meds- and one day I will absolutely do a curve test. One of the hardest things with this med is not having a bunch of protocols like the insulins. If her numbers go down like a hypo, I don't know if the same things will work for it, or because it is a 24 hr med and takes days to leave her system if the process has to change. There is no protocol for skipping a dose. The determination of remission is different. It is hard to figure out how to prepare for things without the experience and guidance of (many, many) others who had gone through this with the same meds for years, since this is still so new.
 
I am in the same boat as you in that token; our vet said we don't need to test as often. I still find myself trying to test once a day though, because I'm curious! And yes, I agree that I don't know or think there is any protocol with hypo on this medication since it's so new. I'm sure I would probably feed her high carb food, but probably will ask the vet her thoughts during our next visit in February.
 
I feel like I don't have much to update, but want to keep track of progress anyway. Electra has had some numbers in the greens and blues and today I did a test about three hours before her dose which is the highest I have seen outside the vet office, but it was still under 200. I have been skipping some days if it isn't convenient to get a ketone test (i.e. I can't catch her peeing) or if I did get a ketone I have skipped a blood test every third day or so. She seems great- eating, drinking, social, active, playing with toys like she hadn't been doing a couple months ago. I took today off and was sitting in the living room when Electra ran into the room, jumped onto my lap and demanded attention. She has done that maybe twice before in the four years I've had her, and shortly after that she ran up the stairs after using the litter box, which is also uncommon (she moves quickly but almost never in an actual run). That was right before I tested her bg because I was curious what it would be if she was so active and energetic.
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20260122_122058468.jpg
    PXL_20260122_122058468.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 68
Short update, mostly to post that things remain steady. The Vet is having me transition Electra to hydrolyzed cat food, which is prescription and probably higher in carb, but we have been mixing it with current food and testing looks about the same. I just did a morning test because she was hungry enough to eat almost a full can of food (two sittings between 5am-7am) and she is playful, alert and busy grooming herself at the moment. With three cats I am never sure if one is hungrier than usual because one of the others ate all the "good" food from the last mealtime before they got much. Negative ketone test this morning also (again), and my main concern is that she has had at least three hairballs this last week. That is what the switch in food should help- she over-grooms because of an allergy; I hate switching food but feel like we should give it a fair chance since the meds did not help and have side effects that I want to avoid for her. We have our next appointment scheduled - I asked for the three month evaluation but they scheduled it at the four month mark.
 
If you find the new food impacts her blood sugars, there are lots of commercially available low carb novel protein foods you can try. Which brand are you trying?

Great report on Electra!
 
If you find the new food impacts her blood sugars, there are lots of commercially available low carb novel protein foods you can try. Which brand are you trying?

Great report on Electra!
We have the prescription Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Diets HA Hydrolyzed Dry Cat Food but have barely started transitioning. We have tried novel proteins, and she likes duck and rabbit, but she has always been picky on her wet food and now we are cutting out the Fancy Feast. She refused Weruva, Tiki, Koha, and a bunch of others (though she ate Almo Naturals tuna and sardine this morning, which was weird). I want to try the trial that the Vet has suggested for the 8-12 weeks and then switch to a novel protein if she has improvement for her skin/allergies. I don't know how wet food will fit into her diet again at that point. If she turns out to be allergic to dust or an environmental source rather than food, it would change things. I am actually watching to see if the prescription food might impact Calypso also, since I have heard diet can affect Feline Hyperesthesia Syndrome too, at least anecdotally.
 
Good luck with the diet trial. Rabbit is one of the go-to options here too, and also the pickiness.
 
I'm thinking along the same lines as you. This is such new territory for folks, I'm happy to post our experience (Sadie and me) here for others.

One thing I wanted to mention that was conveyed by my vet in our last phone conversation about how she's doing; the manufacturer will cover the cost to switch cats to ProZinc if Senvelgo does not work in regulating BG within 30 days. They will also cover adverse reactions (meaning they can no longer take Senvelgo) up to $5,000. But you have to have your testing documented (ketone testing whether urine or blood, and glucose even if you are testing at home.)
Not that anyone wants to go down that path, but I think it's helpful to know they stand behind their product and are willing to help patients if it doesn't work out.

Sadie is still doing well with it, no ketones, eating well, and certainly playing a lot more. One thing I have noticed is she is peeing a little less now, but that is a good thing. It warms my heart to see her happier and getting back to enjoying life.
I'll still update after her blood work on the 18th.
Very interesting that the mfg. will cover these listed costs!!
 
Very interesting that the mfg. will cover these listed costs!!
I think it is in part because they are the manufacturer of both drugs, so it is a gesture that still supports their products. Whatever their reasons, it is a nice safety net for pet/owner with new diagnosis.

Electra continues to have good numbers +3 and +5. Still negative ketones. Our only problem is that as soon as the old dry food ran out she started having bowel issues in the litter box. I tried to mix the new in with the old, gradually increasing the new, to get her used to it, but I guess it didn't help. I am sure it is not because of the Senvelgo as she only has had it with food changes while taking the meds. I still want to bring it up to the Vet though. We are at 2.5 months of meds, still on the second bottle, and don't have an appointment for a while.

She has been more social lately and her new favorite spot to sleep is the back on my chair in the living room and the top of a fabric bin (also in living room). She is a little cookie face and tries to lick me or make biscuits on me constantly.
 
I think it is in part because they are the manufacturer of both drugs, so it is a gesture that still supports their products. Whatever their reasons, it is a nice safety net for pet/owner with new diagnosis.

Electra continues to have good numbers +3 and +5. Still negative ketones. Our only problem is that as soon as the old dry food ran out she started having bowel issues in the litter box. I tried to mix the new in with the old, gradually increasing the new, to get her used to it, but I guess it didn't help. I am sure it is not because of the Senvelgo as she only has had it with food changes while taking the meds. I still want to bring it up to the Vet though. We are at 2.5 months of meds, still on the second bottle, and don't have an appointment for a while.

She has been more social lately and her new favorite spot to sleep is the back on my chair in the living room and the top of a fabric bin (also in living room). She is a little cookie face and tries to lick me or make biscuits on me constantly.
So glad this is working well for Electra!
She is a beauty! Reminds me of Hazel, one of my civvies:
IMG_7692.jpeg
 
I am so glad to hear things are going well for Electra! I do think Senvelgo makes the GI tract a little more finicky. I noticed while Sadie was on it, too many foods in rotation would cause some loose movements. And she is a princess who despises a dirty bum. 🤣 We had to try and limit her diet a bit more, but the cru de gras was a bit of S. Boulardii when needed. That seemed to do the trick.
 
Electra is not liking the hydrolyzed protein dry food- I think she is eating less because she used to practically inhale her FF pate and now she can't have the wet foods (and doesn't want them) that the other kitties get. I am talking to her Vet about it because she lost some weight and continues to have litter box issues- I don't like doing anything that messes with her food while she is being treated for her blood sugars. She was at 63 +4 last night and 123 this morning at about +12.5; I think I can reduce her dose of Senvelgo slightly based on her 9.6lb weight and asked about that too.
 
We are still going on; she had a few days of higher tests (90-107 bgs) and then went down to 60's again. Just tested and it was 60 at +4, she ate some dry and wet food after and seems normal- drinking, eating, alert, affectionate. She is a little scared of the dog lately- the dog pushed her down and stepped on her today while I was at work. She wants to be in the living room, but then is scared of leaving because she has to pass the dog sometimes, so I go and pick her up to bring her to the bathroom sink for water and then food. Her weight did go back up to 9.9 but I am still giving a little less Senvelgo for her meds since I read that you should go down in dose and use lower weight when we were starting. She has had three whole months of meds and I just ordered our third bottle, but I am hoping for good news at our next vet visit.
 
We are still going on; she had a few days of higher tests (90-107 bgs) and then went down to 60's again. Just tested and it was 60 at +4, she ate some dry and wet food after and seems normal- drinking, eating, alert, affectionate. She is a little scared of the dog lately- the dog pushed her down and stepped on her today while I was at work. She wants to be in the living room, but then is scared of leaving because she has to pass the dog sometimes, so I go and pick her up to bring her to the bathroom sink for water and then food. Her weight did go back up to 9.9 but I am still giving a little less Senvelgo for her meds since I read that you should go down in dose and use lower weight when we were starting. She has had three whole months of meds and I just ordered our third bottle, but I am hoping for good news at our next vet visit.
I am eagerly watching this thread- I hope so much for you to get good news. My Bootsie is little more than month behind you in starting senvelgo. He is doing well but not showing signs of remission. We heard a lot of horror stories with senvelgo--
would be great to hear some victories!
 
I am eagerly watching this thread- I hope so much for you to get good news. My Bootsie is little more than month behind you in starting senvelgo. He is doing well but not showing signs of remission. We heard a lot of horror stories with senvelgo--
would be great to hear some victories!
I think there needs to be more protocols on how to deal with blood sugars and what the effect of a dose looks like over the 24 hr period. If giving insulin I would have a better idea of how to react to a low bg test before nadir, but with this I have no clue if it is even a bad thing since nadir would be at +12 hrs and when i do multiple tests it is pretty steady. I know I should do a good curve test a couple times to track on a 3-6-9-12 hr period, but I hate poking her so often when it is more for curiosity.
 
Still going strong; still getting good numbers at home and negative urine ketone tests. We are trying a different brand of strips and I am not sure about them- doesn't change color, but doesn't match any of the colors on the bottle exactly either. But she is eating, and has started jumping up into the cat tree, or sleeping on the sewing table. Circe has been squishing her as often as she can get away with it, and Electra has been allowing it for a while before moving to a different perch. I am just glad she feels good enough to jump up and down from the levels and be in the more public rooms. Vet appointment on Thursday, and Calypso has an appointment at the same time for her FHS, so that will be fun for me to juggle both cats.
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20260404_153058541.jpg
    PXL_20260404_153058541.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 51
I must need to do more day time bg tests- when she was at the vet on the 8th it was still just over 200, but today I tested an hour before dose and she was at 121. It would be good to get a clear picture of how she is 20-24 hours after the dose. Her next appointment is in July for vaccinations and check-in. She has been on the new compounded allergy cyclosporine med (chicken/marshmallow flavor) for a week and seems to feel good- playing, active, vocal, social, and litterbox issues are better too. I am not sure about the med though- I am storing it out of light at room temp as it instructs, but sometimes it doesn't want to come out of the bottle and it looks like a thick lotion. We've never tried a compounded med before so I am not sure if that is normal or not.
 
I gave half of her usual dose tonight. I have been trying to get some morning numbers and some pre-dose tests, and so far the day tests (+12-23 hrs from dose) have all been under 125 in the last two months. This morning she was at 102, and only at 104 when I tested an hour before dose time this afternoon (almost 11 hrs later). Tonight I want to test at +3-5 which is our usual test range in the evenings to get a third test for the day. There is no protocol to follow, so I worry about a hypo if her numbers are staying in the normal or close to normal. If she were on insulin and got those test results I could skip a shot or lower the dose and not worry too much, but this is a 24 hr med, and I'm not sure if a quick fix for a hypo would work or if blood glucose would fall again even without more meds. I emailed the Vet this morning but didn't get much guidance (Electra has vomited twice in the last two days also, but that might be the cyclosporine effects).
 
I've been reducing her dose and we are getting numbers in the 70s at +3-4, but her day time numbers have been higher. Not unexpected, but I am not sure how to keep those from going high when I don't want her to go too low right after the dose... and then this morning she tested +2 after eating and she is 88. She was up at 2am, ate a bunch of dry food and barfed it up within 15 minutes. Ate the fresh wet and dry food at 5am and has kept it down, plus drank at the bathroom faucet twice, seems to be okay from energy and behavior. Have not gotten a ketone in the last couple days again, so looking for an opportunity for that next. Definitely need to test before dose this afternoon, but how low is too low for a dose on this? Should I just reduce the amount again? So confusing not to have any kind of protocol.
 
I've been reducing her dose and we are getting numbers in the 70s at +3-4, but her day time numbers have been higher. Not unexpected, but I am not sure how to keep those from going high when I don't want her to go too low right after the dose... and then this morning she tested +2 after eating and she is 88. She was up at 2am, ate a bunch of dry food and barfed it up within 15 minutes. Ate the fresh wet and dry food at 5am and has kept it down, plus drank at the bathroom faucet twice, seems to be okay from energy and behavior. Have not gotten a ketone in the last couple days again, so looking for an opportunity for that next. Definitely need to test before dose this afternoon, but how low is too low for a dose on this? Should I just reduce the amount again? So confusing not to have any kind of protocol.
I dont know that I am doing it right but I feed small meals every 4 hours...with a larger meal at medicine time. I don't do blood test often but his urine shows trace glucose and neg ketones pretty much all day. Bootsie does not seem as ravenous but has vomited his medicine once (and I think it was because he ate so fast)- I did not repeat it but literature looks like I was suppose to. My vet suggested I just pay attention to his behavior and test ketones and weight loss. If after she eats she is 88-- does she need it at all? What are her high numbers? I have not seen a taper protocol , what vet and I talked about was if the time came he was getting pre diabetes numbers(vet checks him periodically) we would stop it and see if bootsie could maintain. I don't know if that is the right way-- he's a really good vet but not much experience with senvelgo.
 
I dont know that I am doing it right but I feed small meals every 4 hours...with a larger meal at medicine time. I don't do blood test often but his urine shows trace glucose and neg ketones pretty much all day. Bootsie does not seem as ravenous but has vomited his medicine once (and I think it was because he ate so fast)- I did not repeat it but literature looks like I was suppose to. My vet suggested I just pay attention to his behavior and test ketones and weight loss. If after she eats she is 88-- does she need it at all? What are her high numbers? I have not seen a taper protocol , what vet and I talked about was if the time came he was getting pre diabetes numbers(vet checks him periodically) we would stop it and see if bootsie could maintain. I don't know if that is the right way-- he's a really good vet but not much experience with senvelgo.
I put out three half servings of food at 5am, and again between 330-5pm, and all three cats eat what they want. It is all safe for Electra's dietary needs and they usually don't eat every scrap (I toss anything left of wet food at the next meal). Electra has a long history of hairballs, and she and Circe sometimes scarf and barf, but it is rare so that is why I tested her this morning. She was 101 at her normal dose time, so I skipped it today. I want to test her again tonight and in the morning to see what happens, but that number would be a skip if she were getting insulin. I sent an email to the Vet, but didn't hear back today. The manufacturer told us that the meds should be given for five months before testing for remission, and we are just past that time, but I would like to see what her fructosamine would show also. I hope she doesn't go high tonight/tomorrow, but I was away this evening and didn't want to chance her bg going too low. Electra is the first cat on Senvelgo for my Vet, and only one other Vet at the clinic has a cat currently taking it, so they are learning too.
*edited to add- bg at +4/no dose is 92, she drank, ate and is moving with energy; she keeps peeing when I am not around though so no ketone today; and am tested at 194 at 510am (about 30min past food) and used two different ketone tests both negative at 515am. Will test again this afternoon, but thinking maybe give 3-4lb dose if I don't hear back from Vet with something different.
 
Last edited:
I put out three half servings of food at 5am, and again between 330-5pm, and all three cats eat what they want. It is all safe for Electra's dietary needs and they usually don't eat every scrap (I toss anything left of wet food at the next meal). Electra has a long history of hairballs, and she and Circe sometimes scarf and barf, but it is rare so that is why I tested her this morning. She was 101 at her normal dose time, so I skipped it today. I want to test her again tonight and in the morning to see what happens, but that number would be a skip if she were getting insulin. I sent an email to the Vet, but didn't hear back today. The manufacturer told us that the meds should be given for five months before testing for remission, and we are just past that time, but I would like to see what her fructosamine would show also. I hope she doesn't go high tonight/tomorrow, but I was away this evening and didn't want to chance her bg going too low. Electra is the first cat on Senvelgo for my Vet, and only one other Vet at the clinic has a cat currently taking it, so they are learning too.
*edited to add- bg at +4/no dose is 92, she drank, ate and is moving with energy; she keeps peeing when I am not around though so no ketone today; and am tested at 194 at 510am (about 30min past food) and used two different ketone tests both negative at 515am. Will test again this afternoon, but thinking maybe give 3-4lb dose if I don't hear back from Vet with something different.
Great--sounds like we are doing about the same thing food wise. ..it's hard to know what to do. I think you are getting in remission and I can't tell you how excited I am to hear about it. Bootsie started Senvelgo in January and has a fructosamine level on the 18th. I have never dealt with a diabetic cat before and am learning from you...hoping my time of adjusting is coming soon. I worry about ketones all the time! Thank you for sharing your story.
 
Hello, I have not received much instruction from my vet yet, but the meds are supposed to be delivered today and I am trying to get everything ready to begin. I have the ketone strips and got a new glucose meter, and even started a spreadsheet just now with the test from the Vet office and a home test from today. I am just trying to work out a process to dosing and tracking progress. I know to watch for DKA, and stop meds and get to Vet asap if I see signs of ketones or DKA. I know to check ketones and get a current weight before first dose, and to keep checking regularly. But that is about all I know after reading the posts about Senvelgo. We have our first eval Vet appointment scheduled for next Thursday, and I was hoping to start giving Electra the med on Monday afternoon so it will be when I am home to watch for any reactions for the rest of the night.

I am familiar with the insulin process; fasting tests and curve tests, and determining if bg is too low for a shot. How does that work for these meds though? I want to track BG but how often do you test, and does timing change? Is there is a BG test that would make you skip a dose, or is that just determined by development of ketones? Is there any way to determine if your cat is going into remission? All questions to ask the Vet probably, but I was hoping to hear from others who are dealing with it day to day also. I guess I am hoping someone might be willing to share their routine for dose/testing?
Hi Im in the same situation as you. My cat Blossom started Senvelgo yesterday after recent diagnosis and I feel so worried. She would nt take it tonight initially but has since taken most of it 2 hours later enveloped in some lick-i-liks. I think Im going to have a problem with her taking this.
 
Hi Im in the same situation as you. My cat Blossom started Senvelgo yesterday after recent diagnosis and I feel so worried. She would nt take it tonight initially but has since taken most of it 2 hours later enveloped in some lick-i-liks. I think Im going to have a problem with her taking this.
The first two weeks are the critical time for finding out if your cat will be okay on this medication- which is why it is important to test at home for blood glucose and ketones. It is also very important to get the 3 day, 7 day and 14 day vet visits so they can do testing with better equipment to be sure nothing is missed and to see if your home results are matching what they can see. I highly recommend getting a spreadsheet started; I altered the one offered on one of the other parts of the forum to reflect that it is for Senvelgo, and I don't do curve tests, but I try to test almost every night, and now every afternoon to keep track of progress. I think it helps me feel like I have a little more control, which makes it easier to stop stressing out about it. My cat doesn't like more treats, and my other two cats share the food, so I just squirt the med into her mouth with the syringe provided and she forgives me. I think gradually, sharing information like this might help develop a protocol for future cats and their humans. I hope it helps others feel more secure and document their own cat's reactions and progress.

Skipped tonight's dose, and told the Vet about it, as she was only at 89 for her blood glucose test. If it were insulin it would have been a skipped shot, so I didn't want to take any chances. I've asked if we should come in before her next appt in July for a blood panel.
 
It is interesting to me that Electra was lower yesterday after no dose, than today with a 4lb dose. So 6lb keeps her under 120 12+ hrs after the dose, but 4lb isn't enough to get under 120 tonight at +3.5hrs. Will have to test tomorrow before dose, and then maybe try 5lb? Will depend on test results.
 
Continuing on and trying to find that sweet spot for dose amount and staying in good numbers. She has been in pretty good/near normal numbers preshot, and often is at a normal number preshot too, and then down to 60-70s 4+ hrs (at half life of medication). I don't want to give her a full dose on a lower number but I am trying to give at least a small dose and she hits good numbers after the dosing, but is sometimes a little higher (still in 100-200 range) the next afternoon. I don't know if this med would cause a bounce, but I haven't done a long curve to track numbers more fully. Today is her fourth anniversary of adoption, and she didn't get out of meds or testing, poor little potato.
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20260601_130101050.jpg
    PXL_20260601_130101050.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 20
Vet visit today; Electra had her vaccination vet visit today, and they ran a fructosamine test also. She had her tooth fall out last month, and we scheduled a dental cleaning and x-ray for next month (8-5). Fructosamine today was actually lower than normal (149). So we discussed stopping the Senvelgo treatment for a trial to see what her numbers do, but not until after the dental appointment. There have been no symptoms or any signs of hypoglycemia and I have been testing her daily, so will continue to watch and adjust as needed and then hopefully after the dental she can go off Senvelgo (if lucky it will be permanent). I know dental cleanings and extractions can affect diabetic cats, so I want to be careful. Right now she is hiding from me and is mad about the car trips, but her blood glucose was tested when we got home, the number was in the typical range for her recently and she got a small dose. I just have to try to catch her for another test later.
 
Super hot weather here the last few days, which has affected eating. Got the lowest number I've seen in a while (56 on one ear, tested the other and got 61) and this should be when she has already hit the lowest numbers and is going up again, but I also got her to eat some of her dry food right after. The wet food is out also, but I have to add water because it dries out near the fans (no AC in our older house). So a little worried about how this heat is affecting her bg numbers. *addign that she was checked again two hrs later and was up to 77, acting normally.
 
Last edited:
Super hot weather here the last few days, which has affected eating. Got the lowest number I've seen in a while (56 on one ear, tested the other and got 61) and this should be when she has already hit the lowest numbers and is going up again, but I also got her to eat some of her dry food right after. The wet food is out also, but I have to add water because it dries out near the fans (no AC in our older house). So a little worried about how this heat is affecting her bg numbers. *addign that she was checked again two hrs later and was up to 77, acting normally.
Sounds like she is pretty low- I don't check bootsies sugars-- do you hold the senvelgo when it is low. I am excited she may be getting back to normal. I so want to think normal happens-lol.
 
Back
Top