Starting over and need help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren & Red

Member Since 2021
Sorry this is so long but I don’t want to leave anything that might be important out.
First, I want to apologize to everyone for the drama. I did hear you when you told me I had to get over myself because it’s not about me. It’s about Red. You’re right. So here I am.

Starting fresh. If you’ll have me?


I finally found a way to test my cat! Yay! For the past week I have 4 tests daily. Some days even 6.

Since he was diagnosed 3 weeks ago I have slowly been increasing the dose from 0.5 to 1.5 units (lantus) based on nadir.

My numbers were looking good. I would test
+5, +6, +7 to find his lowest. There was never a drastic change from one of those times to the next. Then, it would begin to rise.

The +2 tests generally stay close to the same number as the AMPS and PMPS. Normal?

His highest numbers are always at PMPS.

I thought I was on the right track. After holding 1.25 for 3 days, I switched to 1.5u yesterday- both AM and PM. 1.5 again this morning. I have BG readings before and after but I won’t bother giving you the numbers or my spreadsheet because they are worthless.

Let me explain:

His symptoms of thirst, urination (in large amounts and frequently) have not improved. Always hungry. His pee is still SOOO sticky that it takes a lot of muscle and time to clean the litter box.

On top of testing BG, I have been testing his urine for ketones and glucose. The glucose is measured with both a glucose only strip and keto-diastix (ketones and glucose). The results always match each other. I test at different times throughout the day and never do less than 2-3 tests a day. He pees all the time so it’s not hard.

Literally EVERY single time the urine glucose results are 1,000mg or 2,000mg (the highest possible reading).

Also, for the past few days he has developed a new symptom. His nose is excessively dry and literally peeling. I remember reading that was a sign of unregulated or untreated diabetes.

I’ve been racking my brain all day trying to figure out how his diabetic symptoms have not improved, why he has a new symptom, and why the urine strips are always so terrifyingly high when his BG is improving.

Turns out the bottles of BG test strips I’ve been using expired 2 years ago. I wasn’t sure if that changed anything since they were sealed.

Today, I bought control solution and new strips. The control was supposed to have a result of 98 to 132. The new strips were in that range—good to go. The expired ones kept giving me a “Lo” message.

Then I tested Red at +7 today with both strips. The expired ones read 82. The new ones read 254. I tested myself and the numbers are that far apart as well.

So my spreadsheet, all the work I’ve done and the numbers I have are useless.

Now what? At this point the only rational conclusion I have is that he’s not getting enough insulin. It bothers me especially because I think he had diabetes for a year or even longer before I put it together and got him diagnosed.

Originally, I was doing the SLGS method. But now I just want to get his numbers in a healthy range as quickly as possible (while still being safe).

I have no data anymore. My BG numbers cannot be considered besides the one I just did at +7.

I feel like I’m right back at day one and so upset.

I think it would be a huge mistake to reduce and start over, given everything else that’s going on. But I’m torn without my BG readings. I was so proud of myself for getting those.

What should my next dose be? I will test prior regardless, but I’m expecting a high number (and higher than what I’ve been getting, unfortunately). It won’t be enough info anymore to base dose on.

If I was using the numbers from this week I would be pretty confident in saying that +7 is nadir or relatively close to it. But now I don’t even know if the pattern I’ve seen with his numbers rising and falling is right. It’s beyond frustrating. And I thought I was doing so well… *sigh*
 
Last edited:
I just wanted to drop you a line that I saw your message and commend you for the dedication you’re putting in. How frustrating that the strips were expired but a good lesson for us all to make sure we are using fresh supplies. I don’t have enough experience to tell you what next to do but I am sure the moderators will chime in with their expertise soon. DONT GIVE UP! You’re doing the best thing for your fur baby and they know it. Big hugs to you as you continue to get this straightened out. At least now you know and can make a plan once you get some sound advice.
 
Thank goodness you caught it when you saw his little nose! There is so much involved in this. I hate that you devoted all that time and effort only to find the strips had expired, but one plus in this is that now both of you are used to testing. I am a newbie and just wanted to say please don’t give up and don’t feel that you now have to rush. There are so many knowledgeable people on here. Did you also post in the Lantus forum? Bless you, Lauren, you and Red. Hugs and prayers for you both. Hoping someone comes along very soon with an answer for you.
 
Thank goodness you caught it when you saw his little nose! There is so much involved in this. I hate that you devoted all that time and effort only to find the strips had expired, but one plus in this is that now both of you are used to testing. I am a newbie and just wanted to say please don’t give up and don’t feel that you now have to rush. There are so many knowledgeable people on here. Did you also post in the Lantus forum? Bless you, Lauren, you and Red. Hugs and prayers for you both. Hoping someone comes along very soon with an answer for you.
Thank you! I didn’t post in the Lantus forum. I thought it might go against the rules to post the same thing more than once. I’ve repeated content before and ended up getting lost myself. I assumed that it would make it harder to follow. But I’m not positive on how it works here yet. So I might be wrong.
 
Welcome back :cat: I completely understand how intimidating and overwhelming it is when you first start out here. There is so much information, when you’re already worried and anxious about your cat, and it seems like too much to handle. I did the same thing as you when my girl was diagnosed the first time, I left for a while and then came back when I felt like I could handle it. But the knowledge and help you will receive here is truly invaluable and the people here will be able to help you get Red back on track :bighug:
 
Welcome back :cat: I completely understand how intimidating and overwhelming it is when you first start out here. There is so much information, when you’re already worried and anxious about your cat, and it seems like too much to handle. I did the same thing as you when my girl was diagnosed the first time, I left for a while and then came back when I felt like I could handle it. But the knowledge and help you will receive here is truly invaluable and the people here will be able to help you get Red back on track :bighug:
Any advice on dosing? His PMPS is in an hour. I think I will stay at 1.5units if I don’t hear from anyone before that time. Assuming his number is high, like I think it will be. I have a gut feeling that I shouldn’t go lower. Even though it would be nice to know his numbers at a smaller amount.

In all likelihood, he probably needs to go higher but I know increases should be gradual and held for at least 3 days. I’m just concerned by his nose and everything else.

I definitely won’t increase until I get some feedback. I’m sure people will want me to stay where I’m at for a couple more days. Since it’s only been 3 injections at 1.5u so far.

I don’t want him to suffer because I’m giving an inadequate amount of insulin. But at the same time, I would rather be safe than sorry — hence my dilemma.
 
Any advice on dosing? His PMPS is in an hour. I think I will stay at 1.5units if I don’t hear from anyone before that time. Assuming his number is high, like I think it will be. I have a gut feeling that I shouldn’t go lower. Even though it would be nice to know his numbers at a smaller amount.

In all likelihood, he probably needs to go higher but I know increases should be gradual and held for at least 3 days. I’m just concerned by his nose and everything else.

I definitely won’t increase until I get some feedback. I’m sure people will want me to stay where I’m at for a couple more days. Since it’s only been 3 injections at 1.5u so far.

I don’t want him to suffer because I’m giving an inadequate amount of insulin. But at the same time, I would rather be safe than sorry — hence my dilemma.
I’m not a lantus user so I don’t have any advice unfortunately. In any case, others will probably want to see some data before they advise on the dose as well. So I think the number one thing going forward now that you can test Red (congrats on that!) is to make sure you put any readings you get into your spreadsheet and link that here. I believe @Chris & China (GA) was helping you before, maybe she will be around soon to help

I know that it sucks to see our kitties not feeling well and we all want them better NOW, but keep in mind that diabetes is a marathon, not a sprint, as you will see said around here frequently :cat: It will take time for Red’s symptoms to improve, even as his BG becomes controlled. Do you think putting a little Vaseline on his nose might help the dryness and peeling?
 
Lauren you can leave all the BG data you have collected in the SS ,just put a line under them and say….using new indate strips.
I would stay with the same dose you have been giving and start collecting the data.
 
Hi Lauren and welcome back!:)
We can’t see your SS. Would you like to press share so we can see it?

Bron
Even though the numbers are meaningless after finding out I was getting false readings? I can if you want. Not sure how it could possibly help. I explained that in my initial post for this thread. Sorry, I’m sure it’s probably too long for most people to actually read through it all. I need to learn how to shorten my messages.
 
Even though the numbers are meaningless after finding out I was getting false readings? I can if you want. Not sure how it could possibly help. I explained that in my initial post for this thread. Sorry, I’m sure it’s probably too long for most people to actually read through it all. I need to learn how to shorten my messages.
Yes I read the first post. Yes please put the SS back up with all the data in it and put a thick line under the out of date strip BGs, so we can see where it is up to.

Fantastic you are able to test now! Well done!!:)
 
I agree with Bron 100%. If you just link the SS, I can add some lines on it to indicate the BGs are invalid. How did you get Red to let you test?

We are very glad you are back and I suggest we all do start fresh and put all the rest behind us. I also agree with Bron to hold the dose. Once we can see so,me BGs with the new test strips, we can help you with TR.

Did you also post in the Lantus forum?
Lauren and Red are fairly new here so we like them to stay on Main Health until they are really comfy with testing, shooting, and feeding as it’s more advanced on the Lantus forum. We will let Lauren know when it’s best to move there.:) Her instincts were correct.
 
Lauren you can leave all the BG data you have collected in the SS ,just put a line under them and say….using new indate strips.
I would stay with the same dose you have been giving and start collecting the data.
I’m just worried people won’t understand or miss the note about my test results with expired strips vs accurate ones. The numbers can’t be trusted with how dramatically different the readings are between the new and expired strips. Seems like that would lead to more confusion when I’m trying to get help with dosing. Or am I overthinking it?

I just tested PMPS it’s 410. Just out of curiosity I also tested with the expired strips 30 seconds afterwards. Those ones say 269. So it’s not a subtle difference.

Not sure if you read where I mentioned they wouldn’t even register any glucose with the control solution I purchased today. It was saying “Lo” which I guess is why the solution was made to begin with. It lets you know if your strips and meter are working correctly. I’m so glad it didn’t take me longer to figure it out. The results could’ve been catastrophic.



My first thought with my accurate PMPS is that the dose increase to 1.5 was more than ok. But I guess not knowing what his readings were at lower numbers could make that a dangerous assumption. I thought I knew. But now I know nothing.

I understand that too much insulin can cause high numbers as well. Right?

Can it also cause the diabetic symptoms he’s still having and the dry peeling nose? Or even consistently getting the highest reading on urine strips? Because if both too much and not enough insulin could potentially be the problem for everything…then maybe I should reevaluate the situation completely. And go back to 0.5, even though I really don’t think that’s the best move for my cat. I really can’t be sure though.

It’s so hard. I’ve been excited and thrilled. I finally thought I had the hang of things and was getting good data and lots of numbers. But to know it was all for nothing is devastating.
 
Last edited:
I agree with Bron 100%. If you just link the SS, I can add some lines on it to indicate the BGs are invalid. How did you get Red to let you test?

We are very glad you are back and I suggest we all do start fresh and put all the rest behind us. I also agree with Bron to hold the dose. Once we can see so,me BGs with the new test strips, we can help you with TR.


Lauren and Red are fairly new here so we like them to stay on Main Health until they are really comfy with testing, shooting, and feeding as it’s more advanced on the Lantus forum. We will let Lauren know when it’s best to move there.:) Her instincts were correct.
OK, thank you. I’m going to give him his insulin now and then I’ll be back to read through and answer the new questions. Since everyone thinks it’s important I post my spreadsheet, then that’s what I’ll do.

Yes, I would really love to tell you how I found a way to test. Maybe it will help somebody else. Just give me 5 to 10 minutes to feed and give him his insulin real quick
 
OK, thank you. I’m going to give him his insulin now and then I’ll be back to read through and answer the new questions. Since everyone thinks it’s important I post my spreadsheet, then that’s what I’ll do.

Yes, I would really love to tell you how I found a way to test. Maybe it will help somebody else. Just give me 5 to 10 minutes to feed and give him his insulin real quick
Excellent. Thank you.
 
Did I understand everyone that you think I should stay at 1.5?
Excellent. Thank you.
giving insulin was quite a challenge just now. Very unlike him. I think he’s probably annoyed with the extra pokes because I keep comparing the two test strips. Which means extra beeping.

so the trick for me with testing was to not let him know it was coming.

I have this little partially covered cat bed (picture below). This is where he spends most of his time during the day. At night, he goes back-and-forth between sleeping inside of it and sharing my pillow.

So what I would do is put everything I needed on the bed and I would lay down next to him which is what I do every night to sleep . Then, I would pet him and rub his ears to warm them up without letting him know I had an ulterior motive. The combination of that along with him being relaxed and half asleep is how I was finally able to do it. With his eyes closed and happily at rest I just quickly poke and get blood before he knows what’s happening.

For the most part it works great. We have had some hiccups and once I managed to split his ear so there is a small line from where I poked to the edge. I don’t know how it happened but I’ve been terrified of doing it again

Here is the test area.
upload_2021-8-5_23-41-42.jpeg


Despite having to be halfway laying down, it’s surprisingly easier than anything I’ve tried.

An added bonus is that he can’t run away in the other direction and I don’t have to restrain him for the most part. I bought the bed from chewy. The cushion is meant to be inside. But he’s too big to fit. So I pull out the cushion and he likes to lay inside with his head outside on the cushion. if that makes sense? So I can easily get to his ears.

Small problem— I forgot that I removed all of my test results by clearing the cells in my spreadsheet. I didn’t think I would need them. But I have been writing it all down and then typing it in from there. My notes are a little disorganized but I always write the date time and BG to enter the results later. I haven’t thrown anything away.

So I have all the information. It’s just a matter of re-entering it. Which I will do tonight or tomorrow. Is there a rush? What should I do for the readings today when I did both strips?
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-8-5_23-41-42.jpeg
    upload_2021-8-5_23-41-42.jpeg
    77.6 KB · Views: 471
I’m just worried people won’t understand or miss the note about my test results with expired strips vs accurate ones. The numbers can’t be trusted with how dramatically different the readings are between the new and expired strips. Seems like that would lead to more confusion when I’m trying to get help with dosing. Or am I overthinking it?

I just tested PMPS it’s 410. Just out of curiosity I also tested with the expired strips 30 seconds afterwards. Those ones say 269. So it’s not a subtle difference.

Not sure if you read where I mentioned they wouldn’t even register any glucose with the control solution I purchased today. It was saying “Lo” which I guess is why the solution was made to begin with. It lets you know if your strips and meter are working correctly. I’m so glad it didn’t take me longer to figure it out. The results could’ve been catastrophic.



My first thought with my accurate PMPS is that the dose increase to 1.5 was more than ok. But I guess not knowing what his readings were at lower numbers could make that a dangerous assumption. I thought I knew. But now I know nothing.

I understand that too much insulin can cause high numbers as well. Right?

Can it also cause the diabetic symptoms he’s still having and the dry peeling nose? Or even consistently getting the highest reading on urine strips? Because if both too much and not enough insulin could potentially be the problem for everything…then maybe I should reevaluate the situation completely. And go back to 0.5, even though I really don’t think that’s the best move for my cat. I really can’t be sure though.

It’s so hard. I’ve been excited and thrilled. I finally thought I had the hang of things and was getting good data and lots of numbers. But to know it was all for nothing is devastating.
Dropping the dose back once you’ve increased is called doing a rebound check. They often fail especially if you took the BG up slowly in 0.25u increments. No, you don’t have the testing but you’ve got some urine glucose data.

It’s better to leave the dose and get some random spot checks each cycle to put the puzzle together.

I’ve not seen other diabetic cats have a dry, peeling nose. That might be dehydration. Obviously the copious, sticky peeing is unregulated diabetes but we will get him in a better spot.

Too much insulin can cause high numbers but there would also be low ones. High and flat is not enough insulin.
 
Did I understand everyone that you think I should stay at 1.5?

giving insulin was quite a challenge just now. Very unlike him. I think he’s probably annoyed with the extra pokes because I keep comparing the two test strips. Which means extra beeping.

so the trick for me with testing was to not let him know it was coming.

I have this little partially covered cat bed (picture below). This is where he spends most of his time during the day. At night, he goes back-and-forth between sleeping inside of it and sharing my pillow.

So what I would do is put everything I needed on the bed and I would lay down next to him which is what I do every night to sleep . Then, I would pet him and rub his ears to warm them up without letting him know I had an ulterior motive. The combination of that along with him being relaxed and half asleep is how I was finally able to do it. With his eyes closed and happily at rest I just quickly poke and get blood before he knows what’s happening.

For the most part it works great. We have had some hiccups and once I managed to split his ear so there is a small line from where I poked to the edge. I don’t know how it happened but I’ve been terrified of doing it again

Here is the test area.
View attachment 62072

Despite having to be halfway laying down, it’s surprisingly easier than anything I’ve tried.

An added bonus is that he can’t run away in the other direction and I don’t have to restrain him for the most part. I bought the bed from chewy. The cushion is meant to be inside. But he’s too big to fit. So I pull out the cushion and he likes to lay inside with his head outside on the cushion. if that makes sense? So I can easily get to his ears.

Small problem— I forgot that I removed all of my test results by clearing the cells in my spreadsheet. I didn’t think I would need them. But I have been writing it all down and then typing it in from there. My notes are a little disorganized but I always write the date time and BG to enter the results later. I haven’t thrown anything away.

So I have all the information. It’s just a matter of re-entering it. Which I will do tonight or tomorrow. Is there a rush? What should I do for the readings today when I did both strips?
Brilliant! Whatever works.

Just enter the valid info for today, please. Thanks!
 
Welcome back!
Yes.

Not useless. Let the pros look at them, they can find a pattern in ANY data, even if the numbers are incorrect. Just trust the process.
OK. I will definitely post the readings. I do have to re-enter them so just give me until tomorrow and I’ll have it all up. I have this file with scratch notes everywhere and it’s not even remotely organized.

Unless there’s a way to restore a previous version of the spreadsheet? That would save a lot of time. I never hit save— it always does so automatically. I don’t know if there’s a way to recover the numbers I cleared easily? If not, I’ll get them re-entered. No problem
 
Sorry. Ignore the first part about asking about the dose. I typed that before I got your reply and others telling me to hold. I thought I deleted that but apparently not. Can I go back and remove the first sentence?
It’s ok. Don’t worry about it. We all understand. It helps others with the same question learn :)

I won’t be up for the +2 but I believe @Bron and Sheba (GA) and @Bandit's Mom are around. I’m fact, I’m headed to bed now.

I’m so glad you are back and able to test.
 
Perfect cat trap, that's awesome you found a solution.

Don't know about restoring the spreadsheet. Can't be that much data to enter again, right?
 
Dropping the dose back once you’ve increased is called doing a rebound check. They often fail especially if you took the BG up slowly in 0.25u increments. No, you don’t have the testing but you’ve got some urine glucose data.

It’s better to leave the dose and get some random spot checks each cycle to put the puzzle together.

I’ve not seen other diabetic cats have a dry, peeling nose. That might be dehydration. Obviously the copious, sticky peeing is unregulated diabetes but we will get him in a better spot.

Too much insulin can cause high numbers but there would also be low ones. High and flat is not enough insulin.
That makes sense. Although I don’t actually know that I had any low numbers even though I thought I did. Up until today every single test strip I have used —even from the very beginning was expired. It’s possible some of them read accurately. But I tested many times with the control solution and cannot get anything other than “Lo” when it should be 98-132.

You know what, now that I think about it… It probably explains all the error messages on my 1st meter. I never once considered the strips were the problem. I probably didn’t need to buy the same meter a second time. At least I feel a little less dumb for getting so many error messages
 
It’s ok. Don’t worry about it. We all understand. It helps others with the same question learn :)

I won’t be up for the +2 but I believe @Bron and Sheba (GA) and @Bandit's Mom are around. I’m fact, I’m headed to bed now.

I’m so glad you are back and able to test.
What’s weird about the +2 for both day and night is that the number never seems to be very different from the preshot numbers. Is that what it supposed to be? Seems like there should be some movement
 
Hi Lauren, did you read Marie’s post. She also said to put up the SS and she will add some lines to indicate the
It’s ok. Don’t worry about it. We all understand. It helps others with the same question learn :)

I won’t be up for the +2 but I believe @Bron and Sheba (GA) and @Bandit's Mom are around. I’m fact, I’m headed to bed now.

I’m so glad you are back and able to test.
Yes, I will be around and will watch out for the +2:)
Can you tell me how long from now will the +2 be Lauren?
 
Perfect cat trap, that's awesome you found a solution.

Don't know about restoring the spreadsheet. Can't be that much data to enter again, right?
I was putting in a lot of notes relating to the urine strips on top of the BG readings and ketones. But I guess no one really cares about that so it won’t be hard. I just have to get it all in order. I think I have the notes written down too. At least partially.
Are the urine glucose results relevant in anyway? If not I won’t bother putting those back in
 
What’s weird about the +2 for both day and night is that the number never seems to be very different from the preshot numbers. Is that what it supposed to be? Seems like there should be some movement
There doesn't have to be movement. It varies.
I get that it seems weird, but once you have more data, you'll for sure see it move. He might have an active cycle and your +2 will drop significantly. Good that you are asking questions about every single little thing!
 
I was putting in a lot of notes relating to the urine strips on top of the BG readings and ketones. But I guess no one really cares about that so it won’t be hard. I just have to get it all in order. I think I have the notes written down too. At least partially.
Are the urine glucose results relevant in anyway? If not I won’t bother putting those back in
Don't make it too tedious for yourself. Though you may find it interesting in the future to see how far you're come.
 
Hi Lauren, did you read Marie’s post. She also said to put up the SS and she will add some lines to indicate the

Yes, I will be around and will watch out for the +2:)
Can you tell me how long from now will the +2 be Lauren?
I did see that she said she would add the lines in. I didn’t think she meant tonight though. I know she just went to sleep. I’m sure I can figure out a way to do it. If not she can help at her convenience tomorrow..
 
Lauren, when is your +2?
+2 is 30 min from now.
Give or take.

Although I wonder how helpful the number will be. He just did something I’ve never seen him do before. Not sure what to make of it.

I always feed one of the big cans of wet food and he’ll eat a little bit before I give insulin.

I add water for both moisture and it seems to keep it fresh and doesn’t harden at the rate it normally would so it’s out overnight. Red is a grazer. I completely changed his diet after diagnosis. No more dry food for either cat. And took away the wet food he loved and replaced it with fancy feast and Friskies classic pates. What I didn’t do is force him to have a routine eating schedule.

With the exception of removing food two hours prior to the pre-shots, there is LC wet food out for whenever he wants.

I was cleaning in the other room and just came to check on him. He was at the food bowl and it is almost completely gone. The other cat was in the room with me.

That food usually lasts him all night and he’ll go to it many times. There’s a lot of mornings where I wake up and this much isn’t gone after the entire night. He’s been eating normally. And normally today. This ravenous appetite came out of nowhere. Insulin maybe? Coincidence? I know there are days where I eat a lot more than I should.

It’s way too much to eat all at once. And his numbers are going to be off since he’s been eating for the past hour. So strange. He’s in his favorite bed now. Maybe I should do a +3 or +4 instead? What do you think?
 
Last edited:
I still can’t believe he ate all of that. I hope he doesn’t get sick. I would’ve stopped him if I had known.

The insulin wouldn’t drop his numbers that fast. Right? So it’s probably not related and maybe he’s just extra hungry today and I shouldn’t overthink it…
As long as it doesn’t continue
 
With the exception of removing food two hours prior to the pre-shots, there is LC wet food out for whenever he wants.
That is fine.


still can’t believe he ate all of that. I hope he doesn’t get sick. I would’ve stopped him if I had known.
The insulin wouldn’t drop his numbers that fast. So maybe he’s just extra hungry today and I shouldn’t overthink it…
As long as it doesn’t continue
It won’t hurt him. The only thing it might do is make him sick…..he must have been hungry.

It’s way too much to eat all at once. And his numbers are going to be off since he’s been eating for the past hour. So strange. He’s in his favorite bed now. Maybe I should do a +3 or +4 instead? What do you think?
I would get the +2. It is always helpful and can sometimes tell us if it is going to be an active cycle…ie most likely to drop into lower numbers.
 
I’m having a really hard time trying to enter this information for the SS on my phone. It will take me forever at this rate. Please give me until tomorrow. I have work stuff to do in the morning and most of the afternoon. After, I will get it all entered from my computer.

If you want some of the numbers now I can easily type them into a message. But if there’s no rush, then I will get my SS up by tomorrow night. I promise. I’m curious to know if there’s anything useful.
 
That is fine.



It won’t hurt him. The only thing it might do is make him sick…..he must have been hungry.


I would get the +2. It is always helpful and can sometimes tell us if it is going to be an active cycle…ie most likely to drop into lower numbers.
Sorry, I’m sure you’ve explained this before but doesn’t eating raise the numbers. So the reading isn’t as helpful or accurate? And that’s why we don’t feed two hours before testing pre-shots? I’m confused on what seems like contradictory info. But I’m probably missing something.

I did extra tests already today comparing the strips so I don’t want to do a +2 and a +3.

+2 would be in 10 minutes so if you think that’s a better reading, I’ll get it and let you know soon
 
Should I test now? Or maybe it would help to wait 30 minutes for +2.5 so it’s less food influenced. What do you think? Point is, unless I get a worrisome number I only want to test once more tonight
 
Sorry, I’m sure you’ve explained this before but doesn’t eating raise the numbers. So the reading isn’t as helpful or accurate? And that’s why we don’t feed two hours before testing pre-shots? I’m confused on what seems like contradictory info. But I’m probably missing something.
We ask that you don’t feed for the 2 hours before preshot as we don’t want the preshot BG food influenced. After you feed the main meal and give the insulin dose, there is usually a bit of a food bump……if you get a +1 you often see the BG has raised from the food…then if you test the +2 and it is the same or lower than the preshot, it often means that it will be an active cycle so it is always worthwhile getting that +2 and it is good data. And at the moment we need as much data as we can get from Red to work out his best dose. Does that all make sense?
 
We ask that you don’t feed for the 2 hours before preshot as we don’t want the preshot BG food influenced. After you feed the main meal and give the insulin dose, there is usually a bit of a food bump……if you get a +1 you often see the BG has raised from the food…then if you test the +2 and it is the same or lower than the preshot, it often means that it will be an active cycle so it is always worthwhile getting that +2 and it is good data. And at the moment we need as macin data as we can get form Red to work out his best dose. Does that all make sense?
It does. But since he ate an unusually large amount on top of what he eats before insulin, I thought it might be better to wait. But I will test now. No problem
 
I got it. But I don’t know how it could possibly be right. It’s 410. Which is the exact same number as pre-shot. Considering how much he ate and insulin, I don’t know how that would even be possible.

Usually the number is pretty close but never exactly the same. I thought maybe I was looking at the last reading but I’m scrolling through the history and both times have the same number.

ugh! Does that mean I have to retest?

I’ve been doing freehand but ripped his ear the night before last and I’ve been feeling so guilty that I went back to using the Lancet. It’s so hard to aim but at least it retracts.

He definitely felt the test I just did. He’s no longer sleeping and happy. It looks like I hit the vein but I didn’t get a lot of blood so maybe it’s just very close? Either way it hurt him and now he’s going to be less than cooperative until he lets his guard down again.

Is it possible the numbers are exactly the same? I really don’t want to re-test unless I ABSOLUTELY have to
 
got it. But I don’t know how it could possibly be right. It’s 410. Which is the exact same number as pre-shot. Considering how much he ate and insulin, I don’t know how that would even be possible.

Usually the number is pretty close but never exactly the same. I thought maybe I was looking at the last reading but I’m scrolling through the history and both times have the same number.

ugh! Does that mean I have to retest?
Well done getting the test!
No, you don’t have to retest now.
But I would get another test in about three hours? Is that possible?
 
It’s possible but not very likely. Waking up in the middle of the night and turning on the light tends to startle him and he runs away for whatever reason.

Something about lights from complete darkness has always freaked him out. He’s an odd cat. He’s also obsessed with licking tape. So I stopped trying to make sense of his behavior a long time ago.

The only way I can see it happening is if I sleep with the lights on which I’ve never been able to do. Tomorrow I will look into getting a small lamp I can put in the corner and leave on. That might work

There were 2 other times I attempted waking up in the middle the night to get some random numbers and I wasn’t successful either time. On top of running out of the room he gets this unusual burst of energy and I was way too tired to try to catch him.

But I will try.

Getting numbers during the day is a different story and much, much easier. I can pretty much test at any time during the day

Thanks for all of your help
 
so the trick for me with testing was to not let him know it was coming.

I have this little partially covered cat bed (picture below). This is where he spends most of his time during the day. At night, he goes back-and-forth between sleeping inside of it and sharing my pillow.

So what I would do is put everything I needed on the bed and I would lay down next to him which is what I do every night to sleep . Then, I would pet him and rub his ears to warm them up without letting him know I had an ulterior motive. The combination of that along with him being relaxed and half asleep is how I was finally able to do it. With his eyes closed and happily at rest I just quickly poke and get blood before he knows what’s happening.

For the most part it works great. We have had some hiccups and once I managed to split his ear so there is a small line from where I poked to the edge. I don’t know how it happened but I’ve been terrified of doing it again

Here is the test area.
View attachment 62072

Despite having to be halfway laying down, it’s surprisingly easier than anything I’ve tried.

An added bonus is that he can’t run away in the other direction and I don’t have to restrain him for the most part. I bought the bed from chewy. The cushion is meant to be inside. But he’s too big to fit. So I pull out the cushion and he likes to lay inside with his head outside on the cushion. if that makes sense? So I can easily get to his ears.

Small problem— I forgot that I removed all of my test results by clearing the cells in my spreadsheet. I didn’t think I would need them. But I have been writing it all down and then typing it in from there. My notes are a little disorganized but I always write the date time and BG to enter the results later. I haven’t thrown anything away.

So I have all the information. It’s just a matter of re-entering it. Which I will do tonight or tomorrow. Is there a rush? What should I do for the readings today when I did both strips?
Thank you for this tip! Starburst and I are still struggling with testing as well and I've wondered about doing it this way (while also worried she will start not trusting me if I do, which could then make it harder). May try this next. Thanks
 
Thank you for this tip! Starburst and I are still struggling with testing as well and I've wondered about doing it this way (while also worried she will start not trusting me if I do, which could then make it harder). May try this next. Thanks
I’m curious about why you even want or need to test? You have more numbers than anyone I’ve seen.

I’ve been wondering about the freestyle libre because it would be nice to see numbers at all times without doing 24 BG tests a day. Is there a reason you want to switch methods? My biggest concern with the libre was that he would be too uncomfortable with it on and that it would require too many trips to the vet. I would love to hear your experience with it, if you don’t mind sharing?
 
Ok, try and get a test at some time, if you can’t, so be it. Good idea to get a lamp.
I’m sorry! I tried to get another test in the middle of the night but couldn’t. I ended up trying on the floor with him wide awake. I couldn’t get enough blood because his ears probably weren’t warm enough but I did get a partial sample. Wish I had strips that required less blood because that is a common problem for me.

Bright side is that last night was actually progress. I couldn’t even get that far in the past. He has to be halfway unconscious for me to get a reading. LOL.
Maybe he’s getting more comfortable and eventually I will be able to test from anywhere.
 
I’m curious about why you even want or need to test? You have more numbers than anyone I’ve seen.

I’ve been wondering about the freestyle libre because it would be nice to see numbers at all times without doing 24 BG tests a day. Is there a reason you want to switch methods? My biggest concern with the libre was that he would be too uncomfortable with it on and that it would require too many trips to the vet. I would love to hear your experience with it, if you don’t mind sharing?
I love it actually. It's way less stressful for us right now. When I do get an occasional ear reading she holds a grudge and becomes a lot more mistrusting of me for a while (growling, hissing, swiping if I get near....she is my sassy tortie after all).
I won't be able to keep one on her forever though, just too expensive and time consuming. But I'm trying to get her into remission asap so that I would just have to do occasional (2x day initially, then gradually less frequently to weekly or monthly) tests. (Crossing fingers)
Since I'm trying to keep her in the greens without going into lime green it is super helpful right now. However the current sensor is dying at day 10 (depending on how she sits, sometimes the sensor isn't connecting) so I will be getting a new one on later today. But she's had massive reductions this week.
To put it simply though, I'm not comfortable doing this without lots of data to base it on. But that's me. Each human is different too.
She tolerates it very well actually. She doesn't seem to pay it any mind at all. I do have vet wrap wrapped around her where the sensor is to help keep sensor movement minimized and as such she's in a dog pirate sweater to make sure she leaves the pet wrap alone but she's used to it.
Also it took until she started getting into blue numbers for a while before I started to see a difference in water intake and output (so the past 2 days).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top