Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any
Lantus (and Levimir) are clear liquids, no suspended particles, with the insulin evenly distributed in the liquid. There is nothing that has to be done to them to 'mix' the particles of the suspension together again. The cloudy insulins like Prozinc, Novolin/Humulin, have suspended particles in liquid. Those types of insulin do require a gentle mixing, by rolling to resuspend the particles evenly in the vial/pen.
Cloudy insulin = roll it to mix
clear insulin = no rolling needed to mix it
You have not ruined your pen/vial by rolling it. The pen will still be good to use.
Depressing the plunger on your insulin syringe and keeping it there before you insert it in the pen can help to minimize the air bubbles. S-L-O-W-L-Y draw the insulin out of the pen or vial to cut down on air bubbles. It's tricky and can take a bit of practice.
After you withdraw the syringe from the pen, turn the needle pointed up at the ceiling, and then give the barrel of the syringe a couple of hard "flicks" with index and middle finger, that will coax the bubbles to the top of your syringe, and then you can push out the bubbles with the tiny bit of excess insulin.
ETA: We don't normally suggest that new members shoot insulin if the BG is < 200. You don't have enough data yet to see how your cat will react to the insulin.
Best thing, is to stall, do not feed, and retest in 20 minutes to see if that pre-shot number is rising or falling before you decide to give the shot. Post here for help.
Do you have a hypo toolkit standing by just in case?