Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting anythin

Status
Not open for further replies.

nam1026

Member Since 2013
Hi. I started 1 unit of Lantus yesterday. I have now given 3 shots and all 3 times I feel like the syringe is already depressed when I go to push it. 1 unit is so little-I'm honestly not sure if I'm getting the insulin in her or not. Is this normal?
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

Most syringes, the very first little mark is ZERO .

Most 3/10 ml U-100 syringes are marked as follows:

Zero,1,2,3,4,5 (first numbered mark), 6,7,8,9,10 (numbered mark).

Are you drawing up insulin to the "1" mark, not the "zero" ?
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

I just looked again-I am drawing it up to the 2nd line-not the first (zero) line. I guess I just expect to feel more than I do. I sure hope I'm going it right!
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

Are you home-testing? If so, it can take up to 5 days with Lantus when first starting out before you see the full impact of the dose.
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

I missed your original posting, but here's the catinfo.org food list I sorted first by carbs, then by protein:fat ratio, then by phosphorus that might be of help on finding foods.

I also wrote up these two guides for help on testing after trying to figure it all out with (at the time) a semi-feral, 6-month old kitten:
Ear testing psychology
Test time
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

I went slower today and watched the syringe and did see it move so I guess I'm doing it right just was going fast afraid se was going to flip out. I am not doing at home testing yet. That is going to be a whole other task I just can't deal with right now. My vet don't worry about it first week or 2 just get the shots down. I really don't see being able to poke her ear without getting bit. I've been touching her ear here and there to get her used to me touching it at least. Thanks everyone for providing this outlet. I know the CRF boards have been invaluable to me over the years. This board already has also.
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

Hello ;)

You've already got some valuable advice from KPassa. If you are not sure that you did injected insulin you may try to inspect the spot of an injection to see if your kitty's fur is dry. Everyone needs some time to learn the technique of injecting, however, it is just a matter of time ;)
The same applies to home testing. I'm quite new here too and can clearly remember those first days while trying to test Cupcake's BG. Four hands were needed for this "very complicated" task! :)
Now a routine blood check takes less time than to make a cup of tea! :)
Don't worry, the procedure is not as difficult as it might seem at first. Besides, it is very important to monitor BG at home in order to ensure your kitty's safety.
I also recommend to make your spreadsheet. Here is a link to help you: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=50130
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

I did it!! I actually checked her BG on the first try tonight! I'm ecstatic. Of course tomorrow she might know what I'm up to and run! It was 324 and that was about an hour after giving her 1 unit insulin. I'm just so happy it went as easily as it did!

Getting her to eat has been hard-she will only eat cat food if I put tuna juice and tuna over it. My other 2 cats have been difficult too-one has CRF and other IBD, possibly early stage CRF. I've been trying Merrick and Wellness mostly and its been a struggle. I'm trying to choose wet food that can be fed for both CRF and Diabetes.
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

Congratz!!! So happy to hear that! :) I told you it's not as difficult as it might seem ;)
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

Well 2nd time didn't go as easily-I pricked her about 6 times before I got blood poor thing. I could use some help with numbers.

In her blood draw numbers on 11/1, her BG was 397 and Fructosamine 595.

She started 1 unit Lantus Sat night.
Last night I got her first BG about 1 hour AFTER her 2nd shot and it was 324.
tonight I took her BG right BEFORE I gave her the 2nd shot and her BG was 168.

Is she doing good so far?
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

When my vet showed me how to do the insulin-she actually told me to roll it in my hands and when I draw it out, draw more than I need and push it back in to get rid of the air bubbles in the syringe. Now I see that isn't recommended here. I'm worried I messed up my insulin and I'm only a few days into using this pen. I can't afford to waste it. :sad:
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

Lantus (and Levimir) are clear liquids, no suspended particles, with the insulin evenly distributed in the liquid. There is nothing that has to be done to them to 'mix' the particles of the suspension together again. The cloudy insulins like Prozinc, Novolin/Humulin, have suspended particles in liquid. Those types of insulin do require a gentle mixing, by rolling to resuspend the particles evenly in the vial/pen.

Cloudy insulin = roll it to mix
clear insulin = no rolling needed to mix it

You have not ruined your pen/vial by rolling it. The pen will still be good to use.

Depressing the plunger on your insulin syringe and keeping it there before you insert it in the pen can help to minimize the air bubbles. S-L-O-W-L-Y draw the insulin out of the pen or vial to cut down on air bubbles. It's tricky and can take a bit of practice.

After you withdraw the syringe from the pen, turn the needle pointed up at the ceiling, and then give the barrel of the syringe a couple of hard "flicks" with index and middle finger, that will coax the bubbles to the top of your syringe, and then you can push out the bubbles with the tiny bit of excess insulin.

ETA: We don't normally suggest that new members shoot insulin if the BG is < 200. You don't have enough data yet to see how your cat will react to the insulin.

Best thing, is to stall, do not feed, and retest in 20 minutes to see if that pre-shot number is rising or falling before you decide to give the shot. Post here for help.

Do you have a hypo toolkit standing by just in case?
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

My vet wasn't even going to have me come in for 2 more weeks and then just do a fructosamine reading and adjust from there. She isn't counting on me doing at home testing-said most of her clients don't do that and we had no idea if would even be possible for my cat with her temperament.

I have honey in the kitchen that's about it.
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

Ok I just tried to check her BG again and it was a nightmare-after 8 pokes with only a little blood and her flinching every time and trying to run, I give up for night.
How did my first time go so easy and now its just getting worse with each time.
Those thin ears are so delicate-I feel terrible doing that to her.
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

Are you warming up the ear first, to get the blood flowing?

Are you putting a dab of triple antibiotic ointment with pain relief to numb the ear and get the blood to bleed up?

Do you have larger lancets, 25-28 gauge? (often labeled For Alternate Site Testing)

Are you giving her plenty of low carb treats?

In an emergency, you can always aim directly for the vein instead of the sweet spot.
 

Attachments

  • sweet spot diagram.jpg
    sweet spot diagram.jpg
    42.8 KB · Views: 666
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

Hey don't worry, it gets easier on the BG testing! : ) The first few weeks are the most difficult and then for some reason the blood vessel in the ear seems to yield a nice droplet much more readily after it's been warmed. I guess from all of the repeated poking. It really helps to pre warm the ear with your fingers and to hold something soft (I use a cotton ball) on the inside of the ear to oppose the pressure from the lance while doing the test.
Hang in there you're doing great! It's nerve wracking at first and then both you and kitty get used to the routine and it's much easier!
Keep little treats on hand for rewards after every ear poke and kitty will actually be happy to be tested after a while!
I use the freeze dried meat treats by PureBites....chicken, turkey or shrimp...small and totally safe for diabetic kitties no dextrose, sucrose or glucose added.
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

Good job on the testing! What size lancets are you using ? they could be too fine. Also use the three strike rule - try three times and if you fail, try again later. But make sure she gets her treats every time!! here are more testing tips: https://docs.google.com/document/d/13c_CPZVKz27fD_6aVbsguadJKvjSrSAkD7flgPPhEag/pub

I would not , as a newbie, shoot if she is under 200 as you don't know how low she will go. So its important for that reason to try and always test before you shoot. I usually recommend 3-4 tests a day if possible..

- always before the shot - this is mandatory as you don't want to shoot when too low. As a newbie this too low number is 200 but is reduced over time once you have the data to know if its safe.
- mid cycle - 5-7 hours after morning shot depending on your schedule. This is to see how low she is going. The low point "nadir" is what you base dose changes on since you don't want him dropping too low (under 50).
- before bed (2-3hours after Pm shot) to get an idea of what her overnight plans are. If this number is less than the pre shot test number you may want to set the alarm for a test a few hours later as this implies an active cycle.

The 168 is pretty good so far - the lantus is still settling in for the first week too..

Wendy
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

Ok went a bit better today-I'm using the lancets that came with the Relion meter-I think they are 30G.
I tested her as soon as I got home it was 156. I waited 20 min and tested her again-243. Does it really go up that fast?!?
Took a few pokes and not enough blood on the first try-I hate that the meter beeps like it has enough but then gives you an error and I wasted a strip!

I really hate when she flinches! I feel so awful
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

No, that doesn't sound right. What I do when I get a weird number or a sudden rise/fall that doesn't make sense is I grab another test. If the second test is off, I grab a third test. Then, whichever two tests are closest together, I'll add and divide by two to get the average and use that as my "official" number. When in doubt, re-test! :lol:

And don't worry. It does get easier. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

We got our diagnosis on the 26th of October, and were switched to Lantus on the 9th. That 1u really does feel like you are pushing nothing. If only part goes in or some backs out, you'll smell it.

When we do BG, our mister will come to us now, but we still have to use what we call the kitty burrito. We wrap all but his head in a towel or a fleece blanket. The blanket works better for us. He purrs the entire time we are doing it, even if we have to stick his ear more than once. It's hard to get blood when his ears are cold. You have to get that circulation going by warming his ears up. We just rub. I think someone already mentioned a treat, but just to reinforce that, we got better results after we started offering treats. We stuck him over 22 times the other day, through the day and he still came to us for BG test.

Sometimes when they are sick, their sense of smell gets dull. The reason why he eats the tuna may be because it is more pungent than the food. To make the food stink more where he can smell it, you can warm it up by microwaving it for 20-30 seconds. Make sure you spread it out and test to make sure it is not too hot, though.

I was really discouraged when this all started. We are settling in now and I am glad that we stuck through that first few weeks. It may not seem like it now, but you'll get there. You just have to get past the "training". ;)
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

Oh, and you'll get to where you can tell how much blood is enough, so you'll waste less strips that way.
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

The blood glucose could go up that fast if she is bouncing. (bounces explained below).
How did testing go today?

Wendy

Bounces - what are they and is my cat doing them?
When a cat isnt regulated, the blood glucose has probably been high for a while. As the insulin starts to take effect and numbers start to come down, the liver has to learn to adjust to the lower numbers. We call this "liver training school". But before it relearns that low numbers are ok, when the BG drops to a number lower than the liver is accustomed, or if BGs drop low, or if the BG drops suddenly, the liver”panics” and reacts by releasing counterregulatory hormones and glucagon. This drives the BG back up. This is what we call a "bounce". Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear so we are generally careful about increasing doses during the bounce. Once the bounce clears, then you can see the "real" numbers and determine if the dose needs to go up or down.
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

I tested her once today in between shots-was 253. I bought 28 G lancets today so I think the 30G ones are harder to get blood that is for sure.
Doing better on the insulin shots now-I just hate wasting a little bit getting the air out.

Thanks everyone-plugging along!
 
Re: Started Lantus yesterday-feel like I'm not injecting any

hah... I don't like squirting that little bit out either. I keep reminding myself that losing that little bit is better than having the entire bottle go bad sooner. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top