Madm4444
Member Since 2024
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Wendy&Neko
We had decided to wait on switching to Lantus based on discussions with the IM doc a few days ago. Buster's numbers had been so much better & we wanted to change as few things as possible before the SRT (10 days away).
However, although we have had some good runs with lower numbers, it appears he is still riding in the highs a lot at night & his hind legs have suddenly gotten a lot weaker in the last 2 days.
He has been on methylcobalamin since 2/12/25. We thought we saw improvement from it early on but maybe it was the increase in his insulin dose around that time. We did not include the folic acid b/c I read here that many kitties don't need it. Should we add that now?
Thoughts on increasing dose to 15?
Thoughts on how to support him with the weakness in his hind legs? He just wants to lie down all the time now. It's breaking my heart.
@Wendy&Neko
We had decided to wait on switching to Lantus based on discussions with the IM doc a few days ago. Buster's numbers had been so much better & we wanted to change as few things as possible before the SRT (10 days away).
However, although we have had some good runs with lower numbers, it appears he is still riding in the highs a lot at night & his hind legs have suddenly gotten a lot weaker in the last 2 days.
He has been on methylcobalamin since 2/12/25. We thought we saw improvement from it early on but maybe it was the increase in his insulin dose around that time. We did not include the folic acid b/c I read here that many kitties don't need it. Should we add that now?
Thoughts on increasing dose to 15?
Thoughts on how to support him with the weakness in his hind legs? He just wants to lie down all the time now. It's breaking my heart.

His numbers were up near 300 by bedtime so everything seemed okay. Until Buster woke us up this morning for breakfast & we saw the Libre sensor stopped working! Yikes. AT3 check showed AMPS 399 so another high night. I almost reduced last night but he never went below 68 on the AT3 meter & I was concerned about being in the mid-400s again & about ketones, of course.