? Sprocket. Appetite back big time... stole food

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darnell & Sprocket (GA)

Member Since 2015
Hi. Ok after this past insane week I learned alot. Still cant handle a noshot. It screwed him up. Gave 2u yesterday and he came back to 200s but went back up last night & amps. I gave 2.25u this am instead to push him lower out of 300s. He went to 234 at +4.5 & 219 at +8.2.
But this am his appetite came back alot, he is now stealing her food. I have to watch them eat n hide her food to keep for her.

Since he had so many reductions in past week then a noshot his depot is a mess.
Should I stick to 2.25u now or go back to 2u?

Anyway to chill his huge wanting for food now?
 
Hi Darnell, since you shot 2.25u this morning, and his appy is back. And because of the back to back reductions.
I think I'd stick with the 2.25 u see if you can shoot that consistently.

Try not to get discouraged by his numbers, it will take a few days to settle down.

Sorry post is short I was just checking messages before hitting the sack.


Thanks alot!! Just in time!!
It was what I was thinking too. It helps to discuss it thats why i ask.

His appetite is back big time. He chowed today. He stole my girls food twice! He is up to 8oz already and I still got 11 hrs to go. Hope his appetite chills some.
I wish he would do a happy inbetween appetite. Not too little like last week but not stealing food.
Thanks
 
Thanks alot!! Just in time!!
It was what I was thinking too. It helps to discuss it thats why i ask.

His appetite is back big time. He chowed today. He stole my girls food twice! He is up to 8oz already and I still got 11 hrs to go. Hope his appetite chills some.
I wish he would do a happy inbetween appetite. Not too little like last week but not stealing food.
Thanks
Still here:rolleyes:
Fwiw I found bfg appetite would subside ignificantly when he was in a healthy range 50-80, but would come back when his numbers were high or if he dropped into the 40's
 
Still here:rolleyes:
Fwiw I found bfg appetite would subside ignificantly when he was in a healthy range 50-80, but would come back when his numbers were high or if he dropped into the 40's

Sorry forgot the abbreviations still.
I thought normal range was 50-120?
His appetite went down this past week but to an unsafe point. He didnt look good. He had no desire for food. It was scary. Thats not normal right??
 
I thought normal range was 50-120?
According to the sticky on Tight Regulation, the normal range is 50-80 on a human meter.

His appetite went down this past week but to an unsafe point. He didnt look good. He had no desire for food. It was scary. Thats not normal right??
Lots of things can make their appetite go off. A little intestinal virus, a stuffy nose, etc. As long as it didn't last long, I wouldn't worry about it. If it keeps happening, you need to start looking for a cause. Cats can't safely go very long without enough calories, unlike dogs.
 
According to the sticky on Tight Regulation, the normal range is 50-80 on a human meter.


Lots of things can make their appetite go off. A little intestinal virus, a stuffy nose, etc. As long as it didn't last long, I wouldn't worry about it. If it keeps happening, you need to start looking for a cause. Cats can't safely go very long without enough calories, unlike dogs.


I didnt choose Tight regulation.
I dont understand why normal range would depend upon which regulation someone follows. Wouldnt normal range be the same no matter protocol??

His appetite decrease started from tuesday morning (he was eating 6-7 oz down from 8-10oz) but as he kept going under 100 he lost his desire for food. By friday he even didnt want dry food. He loves dry food. The vet advised I skip dose friday night. I did that but he went to 473 that night n came down to 446 (i think) by amps. His appetite returned sunday morning but alot. He stole my girls food today.
So what does that sound like?
 
I dont understand why normal range would depend upon which regulation someone follows. Wouldnt normal range be the same no matter protocol??
It would. I just mentioned where I got it so you'd know I wasn't making it up.
His appetite decrease started from tuesday morning (he was eating 6-7 oz down from 8-10oz) but as he kept going under 100 he lost his desire for food. By friday he even didnt want dry food. He loves dry food. The vet advised I skip dose friday night. I did that but he went to 473 that night n came down to 446 (i think) by amps. His appetite returned sunday morning but alot. He stole my girls food today.
So what does that sound like?
I'm not a vet. It could be many things. It could be the fluctuation in his BG. I'm told having it change a lot in a short period of time, or being in unfamiliar numbers can make one feel crummy. He was in blues and greens mostly for several days, so it might have thrown him off. Or it could have been a little tummy virus. My kitties had one recently. It lasted several days, and when they got over it they ate like pigs.
 
It would. I just mentioned where I got it so you'd know I wasn't making it up.

I'm not a vet. It could be many things. It could be the fluctuation in his BG. I'm told having it change a lot in a short period of time, or being in unfamiliar numbers can make one feel crummy. He was in blues and greens mostly for several days, so it might have thrown him off. Or it could have been a little tummy virus. My kitties had one recently. It lasted several days, and when they got over it they ate like pigs.


Ok both make sense. I was thinking too much change too fast too.

I know I saw somewhere normal range was 50-120. I just dont rememeber where. Or maybe that was regulated range?

So let me try to understand this. 50-80 is normal range for a non diabetic? Or a cat in remission? Or is that regulated range?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top