Spreadsheet help!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Spreadsheet!

I am not quite sure what your ss would have to do with getting a dental done.
To me, if your cat needs the teeth cleaned and fixed, you will end up with a healthier and happier cat and very possibly less insulin needs. I think many people have found that bad teeth cause problems.
just wondering - what insulin are you using? I ask because the dose you are giving keeps changing frequently.
 
Re: Spreadsheet!

Im using caninsulin and the dose keeps changing because the vet wants Splodge on 3units, no matter what the bg reading and I dont. I stick to 2units atm, unless his bgl is borderline (10). Then I give the lowest dose I can to keep him ok.

The vets refused to do a dental until he was, in their eyes. fully regulated. I have now insisted on a dental and was just having a little meltdown and wanted some of the more experienced people on here to back me up and help me feel Im doing the right thing. The risk of losing Squidy is a major big deal for me and now and again I get scared I might not be doing right by him!
 
Re: Spreadsheet!

You may want to show your vet the warnings and say that you want the dental done and while you're at it, a decent insulin that will work to get your cat regulated!

Lawsuit against Vetsulin Manufacturer
Vetsulin FDAs Warning December 15, 2009

I first started using Caninsulin for my Shadoe and if you look at her ss, you will see that it was terrible in getting her even close to decent numbers.
Caninsulin / Vetsulin is not the greatest of insulin and I think they are not as long lasting as others, plus you can see from the warnings that they are not reliable.
Caninsulin is better for dogs I think but not for cats.

I am pretty sure that a dentist would not tell a human diabetic that their teeth could not be fixed until their diabetes was regulated!
 
Re: Spreadsheet!

Caninsulin is all they will prescibe at the vets round here (in the UK) and the fact that it worked so well for Splodge last time is not in our favor.
 
Re: Spreadsheet!

Hey. I would find a vet who will do the dental. It can be impossible to regulate a cat who has infection and teeth issues. Also, looking at your chart, i would recommend finding one dose and sticking with it for both shots. the 1.5 looked good, and you might find after 2 or 3 days he needs 1 or even .5 i would not take the advice of the vet here... i think your instinct is spot on!
 
Re: Spreadsheet!

Lulu's2Moms said:
Hey. I would find a vet who will do the dental. It can be impossible to regulate a cat who has infection and teeth issues. Also, looking at your chart, i would recommend finding one dose and sticking with it for both shots. the 1.5 looked good, and you might find after 2 or 3 days he needs 1 or even .5 i would not take the advice of the vet here... i think your instinct is spot on!

I am fully aware of how difficult it can be to regulate a db cat with dental problems. I have insisted on the dental and it will be done early next week. As I said before I was just having a little meltdown and looking for support!

As for finding a dose and sticking with it for both shots. His BG this morning was 10.7.So giving him a shot of 1.5 insulin, I think, would be too much!

I should just add that I have just done BGL and it was 3.2 and that was on 0.5 units. So just as well I didnt give 1.5
 
I think, if I were you, I would just give the lower dose until I get the dental (unless preshots are too low ). He may run a little high at preshots, but he won't dip down too low. After the dental, you can look at adjusting it down further. And if then, you are still getting the wild swings, come on and ask for advice from UK people. I do think we have a few people in the UK who are able to get insulin other than Canninsulin.

I think your instincts have been spot on since the first day you came back on. And certainly, more logical than your vet's dosing advice.

I can't see your spreadsheet. Did you "publish it"? The URL on your signature has key in the URL. (Keep that one in your favorites on your computer) That usually is the one you use to add numbers to. The one we can see but can't alter is the one with pub in the URL.

B. Publishing your SS, aka Attaching to signature

1) In a new browser tab, open up your google doc
2) Click on the tab on the upper right "Share"
3) click on "Publish as a webpage"
4) Click the box that says "automatically re-publish when changes are made" (see pic below)
5) Copy the http link generated for you in the box at the bottom (see pic below) (use control C or command C to copy the link from the circled part in the picture above)
 
Hi Sue

You should be able to see it now! I had it as 'private' for some strange reason.

Ive just done the BG again and its 8.4 now. I was worried about the 3.2 as I had to go out again for a few hours, so I gave him a few treats before I went.
 
Yes, now I can see it. That 58 early on is worrying. I am hoping he moved up? You might move your no shoot number down to 170 or so. I keep thinking the teeth may be the only thing keeping him above double digits. This is hard, keeping ahead of his rapid changes. You are doing a super job.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top