SPRATS POSSIBLE HYPO

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yeah :RAHCAT You shouldn't drop to low now. So Inhale and exhale and relax, ya did good. Give Sprats a couple of extra scritches tonight for putting up with all the ear pokies. Ya both did great!

Perfect timing on getting your newbie kit, sorry you had to have such a crash course on testing.

Mel
 
When you start the Lantus you are going to have to learn not to react to one high preshot number. Lantus works off a shed in other words it builds up under their skin. Dose changes with Lantus are based off the nadir or lowest point.

With the way Sprats is reacting to the N I would start the Lantus at no more than 1u.

MY Max was 485 when he was dxed and put on Lantus, we started him on 1u and even that was more than he needed and he went OTJ in a week.

Mel
 
It's above 150, what do you think? Is it ok for me to leave him? What I read on the Lantus, the only difference in giving is that you don't roll it or swirl it around?
 
Yay! You'll be fine now so I'm going to log off for a little bit, but I will check back in here before I actually go to bed which won't be for another couple hours, just encase something comes up...Then I'll check in on you in the morning again.

You don't roll it or shake it. Don't shot air back into the vial/cartridge, instead you draw up just a little extra, tap out any air bubbles and then get to do that dramatic squirt in the air to get the correct dosage. But the stickies explain it all and if in doubt come on and ask.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR ENDURING THIS WITH ME. YOU ALL ARE LIFESAVERS! My life could have been so different a week ago, if I hadn't found you all!!!
 
candjbeyer said:
What does that mean - the pancreatic action?

It means possibly the pancreas is is working a little bit and contributing some
insulin, too.

It that is the case, this is what needs to happen for your cat to go into diabetic
remission....it's a good thing.
 
ohmygod_smile
Jen just want to say You have come to the most awesome place for both you and your kitty. These angels know what its all about. I too was in your place about 9 months ago.After 2 months these people made me a hero to my Trey. You are doing an awesome job and sounds like Sprats will be off the juice in no time at all.Took Trey 2 months .Keep up the good work Hugsssssss to both of you. Lantus is a very good insulin lasting 12 hours and if you keep on your 12 hours it works the best. Trey is still 17lbs but he is so full of play and runs and his fur beautiful He is doing Wonderful..All thanks to FDMB Angels


One thing to remember (((((((((((Breath)))))))))))))))))) oh yes the rice sock is awesome could not have done it without it....


Kath & Trey OTJ 6 months today :lol: ~O) :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Thank you all. I just gave a test, after 3 tries and it was 366.
What do you think on the Lantus? this AM?
He is eating now, and his ear is a bloody mess.:( I don't know why I couldn't get it this morning after so many times last night!
 
good Morning, Jennifer. Glad things went well last night.

How long do you have before you have to give him a dose? I would like to see some Lantus users weigh in. Can you start a new thread and ask about Lantus?
 
Whatever feels best for you. It wouldn't hurt to wait, but if you start Lantus, you will need to be on a 12/12 schedule, so you will need to wait until the pm shot. That might be a good idea, since you are coming off such a low number yesterday. By tonight, you should be able to get some advice on a starting dose for Lantus. The problem with starting a new insulin at night is that you are not up to monitor.

If you want to wait until tomorrow morning to start Lantus, you could give a drop or two of N this morning, or skip completely.
 
In deference to your schedule, I would start Lantus tonight and skip this morning's shot, or as Sue suggested, waiting until tomorrow to start Lantus is you're around to test then. Lantus really likes consistency and it is a 12-hour insulin (i.e., a long-acting insulin vs. an intermediate-acting insulin such as N). You will want to decide on a shot time that works for your schedule and gives you room to monitor a bit after you shoot.

In addition to the development of a depot (we call it a "shed"), dosing is based on the lowest point of the cycle -- the nadir. As a result, in addition to tests at AMPS and PMPS, spot checks during the cycle are very important.

You indicated that you are using U40 syringes. Lantus is a U100 insulin. You need U100 syringes that have half unit markings since dosing is done in 0.25u increments.

I would also suggest that you venture over to the Lantus board and read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the "Topics" section of the board.

Are you still feeding dry W/D?
 
Thats a really nice number for coming off a hypo the night before, so fwiw If this was Max I would skip this morning's shot, wait until tonight for when you want to set up your 12-12 schedule, and the check, but unless it is sky high I think I would be fairly consevative and only give 1u and then try to stay up long enough to get a +3 & +6. Nadir on Lantus is usually around +6 to +7, but that is just me, I would like to see what others have for input as well, since Max and I didn't use Lantus that long before he went into remission.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
Yes I agree with Mel, the number is nice coming off a very low number plus all that gravy high carb.
if you did'nt shoot it will be VERY interesting to see how he look's at +6 which is really +18 since the last shot and she if he lingers in this number or even, god willing, bring himself down a little. Then we will really know you have a Mr. P who's eager to get back to work!
 
:oops: :sad: Oh my goodness! It feels like I am doing everything I can to harm my cat! So, I had to leave for church and didn't get the reply. I got the 366 AMPS, fed Friskies again and then gave .5 Lantas. I should have waited until tomorrow to start?? I was careful to only give .5 (because of last night's fiasco) I wanted to be conservative. +3 is 267. I can do the next Lantas dose at +12, but that would put me at 9:00 AM tomorrow morning, and I am gone all day to work. Is this hopeless since I won't be home to check through the day? I had planned on the 12 being 7 and 7 (times of the day). You all probably think I am the dumbest person on earth! I'm really not... Ok, please weigh in and give me your advise what to do the rest of today and tomorrow. Please! I'm so overwhelmed!
 
i think you could just start tonight at 8:30 tomorow at 8am (if that's possible?) and edge your way down 1/2 at a time.
IMHO but let's see how these #'s go.
and you are not dumb...we were all, each and everyone of us, a newbie once ourselves. you learn. no one expects you to KNOW. ;-)
 
I can do 8:30 tonight and 8:00 tomorrow. Does he still need to have eaten 30 minutes before? How many times should I prick him today? 3+ the .5 Lantas was 267
 
hi jennifer! nice to meet you. :-D

sue put out a call for help in the lantus support group, so i dropped in to see what's been going on. my, you've been through quite a lot and have come through with flying colors! you're doing great!

as far as adjusting the shot time... personally, i like to keep things simple. why make things harder than they have to be? :lol:

give yourself a break. my suggestion would be to skip tonight's shot and restart tomorrow morning at your desired time of 7am. easy-peasy. one skipped shot will not make a difference in the long run.

with lantus, you have a couple of hours to get food on board before the onset of the insulin. however, most of us test, feed, and shoot within a matter of minutes. i'm not one to discourage testing by any means, but i think you can comfortably give sprats a break by holding off testing until +5 or +6. if you're leaving the house before then, leave some food out for him to nibble on.

please post the next number after testing, k?

amps 366
+3 267


good luck and hope to see you posting often!
 
yes you definetly are not feeding 1/2 hour before testing right? and the food can go after the shot. now that you are off the N which acts so quickly you needed food digesting in the tummy proir to the shot, this will be different in that these are slower acting insulins and you can wait to feed after the shot...even by an hour or 2.
 
Thank you Jill. I am greatful for everyone's help. I will hold off tonight and do in the morning. I am pretty much an 8-5:30 worker. I should test how many times today?
 
I am glad to see you got some Lantus answers, Jennifer.

You might post on their support group as well as here. They all use Lantus and will have great dose advice for you. They will want you to read the stickies on the top of the page and they will like seeing your numbers on your spreadsheet. This is the link to the forum: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9

You are doing fine, dealing with hypos and old and new insulins. This is a steep learning curve and you are doing a great job, learning fast.
 
candjbeyer said:
Thank you Jill. I am greatful for everyone's help. I will hold off tonight and do in the morning. I am pretty much an 8-5:30 worker. I should test how many times today?
let's see what that +5 or +6 tells us before committing to a certain number of tests today, k?

just a suggestion...
it might not be a bad idea to start a new thread (this one's getting pretty long) with a subject line something like
1/30 - Sprats - AMPS 366; +3 267

then you can add your +5 or +6 test number to the subject line when you get it. that way, people who are helping you will know where sprats is at a glance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top